We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Relaxation”
Review of Lakefront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakefront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The accommodation was extremely clean and a good size room. The spa was luxurious and it was nice that they provided bath salts. The bed was very comfy with a gorgeous throw that just made you want to snuggle. Staff were friendly and would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeJayGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Lakefront Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Wonderful location with an 5 min. walk to town, restaurants and next to the lake. It was very clean with all necessary amenities. Unfortunately one cannot see the lake from the room, but being across the road makes an evening walk a pleasure. Diane is a very accommodating & friendly manager, plus being very efficient and professional.

We highly recommend Lakefront Lodge as place to explore Milford Sound.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Olli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey through NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I was drawn to this place because of the beautiful flowers and location. It is on a side street with views of the lake from the picnic tables outside each unit. This keeps the motel quieter, but if I were staying longer, I would have liked to have a chair on a deck looking right out on the lake. With that being said, we really enjoyed our stay. Spa tub was awesome after a day of exploring. The chocolate on the pillow was a nice touch. I ate them before my husband found them. The one thing I would have liked is a sheer curtain across the sliding doors. This would let in the light but still offer some privacy as people do walk along this street. We had opened our luggage in the living room, so it was in plain view and this made me uncomfortable. Other than that, the property is very comfortable and clean and appreciated the free wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101PrincessP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review, we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your journey in NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Lakefront lodge is located on Lakefront Drive, hence the name. It doesn't have lakefront views from the rooms although picnic style tables are to the side of each room and the Lake can be seen from there. The room is an older building but has been renovated to a very modern look and spotlessly clean. It had a spa which was nice after a long day. The rooms are quite sound proof and very quiet inside and written bed was very comfortable. It had free wifi with good reception and the standard 200mb. The shower pressure isn't strong and taps for the spa are a bit awkwardly located if you have two in the bath at once but I am being super critical here. Very nice accommodation, I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 73Ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thanks for your review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night after visiting Milford Sound. Thought the room was lovely with some nice extra touches including chocolates, spa treatment and exfoilant for the spa, and hot chocolate sachets (I don't drink coffee and most places only have coffee and tea). There was also free wifi, basic kitchenette and it looked very modern. The spa was awesome though a tiny criticism is the shower pressure was not the best but a minor issue. You don't have a room facing over the lake but you are very close as it is just across the road and can see it if you sit outside on the chairs and tables. I was worried about noise as you are right next to the road but the sound proofing is great as I couldn't hear a thing with the door shut. The woman who runs it was super friendly and helpful including organising a late check out for us (we'd gotten up at 4am the day before to get to our Milford Sound cruise). My only suggestion would be a fan (even a small portable one) in the room would be great as it was very hot the day we were there and we had to open up the doors for a bit in the evening to cool it down. I imagine heat is not usually a problem though given the location. Would definitely be a very warm and comfortable place in winter to stay. Thanks for the great stay!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review, we hope you had great stay in NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Spotlessly clean and well appointed. Very convenient location with a well maintained property. Lovely gardens. Quiet. Picnic tables outside each unit. It should be noted that the property does not front on Lake Te Anau, but on a side street from which there is a limited view of the southern part of the lake. The side street does join the Lafefront Road, however. About 5-7 minutes walk from the Intercity Bus stop in the center of town. Two grocery stores are also located here. Excellent pizzeria in town as well as Miles Better Meat Pie shop.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Itivdleq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review, we hope you enjoyed your stay in NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was the most friendly places that we stopped in during our New Zealand holiday, the couple who ran the place were welcoming, plesant and extremley helpful, to the point of loaning us their own 'sandfly' spray! The room was very clean, everything worked! and the spa bath was a bonus. Another bonus was being able to park right outside the room. We loved the little seating area, with views over the lake, it proved to be the perfect place to rest with a glass of wine in the evening. If I ever go to the west cost of NZ again I will certainly have the Lakefront on my list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fraser P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review with us, we hope you had a great stay in NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.0 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakefront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakefront Lodge

Address: 58 Lakefront Drive | Southland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £95 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lakefront Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Units with a show of Luxury. Partial Lake and Mountain views. All units have kitchens. One Bedroom Double Spa Bath and Studio Units. Free Wireless Internet throughout.Continental Breakfast available. Only a 2min walk to town centre and restaurants.Tour Booking Desk. Luggage storeage for trampers. Free car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakefront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing