We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - excellent rooms.”
Review of Lakefront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lakefront Lodge
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay - excellent rooms.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and found this motel to be excellent. The beds were very comfortable, great pillows and bedding, the kitchen was well equipped, nice fluffy towels and rooms were serviced to a high standard daily. We were walking distance to town, and the lake was only a 1 minute walk down the road, we only had to step out our front door to see it. The chocolate on the pillow each evening was an added treat. We would definitely stay here again when we return to Te Anau.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineluvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is nice to have confirmation that we do offer a very clean, comfortable and relaxing space for our guest to stay.

Kind Regards
David & Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    119
    32
    4
    3
See reviews for
84
199
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The photos on the internet are deceiving. It is in front of the lake but the rooms have view to a side street. If you open your curtains anyboby walking by can see you, if you close them you have to turn the lights on. Really expensive for what they offer. You have to order breakfast before 7:00 PM and there is no restaurant. Reception is closed from 7:00 PM to 7:00 AM. If you want to see the lake you have to step outside to the curb. Also the picnic tables are next to the curb. You have to walk to your room passing the garbage bins. We stayed one day and we moved to the Distinction that is next to this "hotel" and there we had a room with view to the lake and much cheaper including the breakfast. The rooms are dated and unpleasant. If you want to wash your hands you either freeze them or burn them, as they are separate and don't mix the water. The TV inside the room didn't work and the kitchen lo oled old and not in good shape. The worst hotel we've ever been if you can call that hotel but they charge as. 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Go to the Distinction next door. That is a really hotel with lakeview rooms and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank rocioarmengol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
One would like to say thanks for your comments, but we feel your statements and description of us are not quite factual. As your booking was via booking.com I am at a loss to just what photos you were viewing on their site as all our outside photos listed with them clearly show the way we are situated towards the footpath (curb) and the street. It states that all units are not direct lake facing, I also do not see an on site restaurant listed under our facilities. I would also like to correct you in that we are a 4+ star Motel not a 5 star Hotel as you quoted which do offer 24 hour reception service and on site restaurants. Your TV issue was simply that during cleaning the aerial plug most of become dislodged from the back, but at least the 42inch within the lounge was still able to be viewed. Like a lot of other households within NZ our water system works on a hot and a cold tap so I do guess if you held yours hands under one of these for long enough their would be a hot or cold problem. I am unsure as to where you were going if you had to walk past rubbish bins to get to your unit as no guest has to pass our recycle bins to reach their unit. I do cense that as a guest you require all amenities to be on site and at your call, for this reason I suggest you stick to booking hotels and leave us poor moteliers alone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights and had a great time. Everything was perfect organized, very friendly owner and flexible as we forgot to order breakfast the day before and next morning after asking it was deliverd very flexible and quickly to our room. We had a "Executive One Bedroom Spa Bath" which was very good, especially the bathroom was excellent. As we travelled with a motorbike we enjoyed the whirlpool in the bathroom very much.
We highly recommend a stay there.
Nora&Gunter Baumgartner

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gunter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
HI Guys, Thanks for your comments. As you were travelling by motorbike I I do hope the weather treated you kindly for the rest of your journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have just returned from New Zealand, part of our stay was at Lakefront Lodge, we found it very clean and neat, everyone was very helpful, We highly recommend a stay there.

Cheers Mary and Tony Thoonen

Room Tip: Any room would be great to stay in.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a nice stay, hope the rest of your journey went well :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here a night in March before doing the Milford Track. The staff were very obliging with storing our gear early in the day. The rooms are a very good size, with modern fittings and a well- appointed litle kitchenette... not to mention a nifty little 'portal' for the staff to put your breakfast in if you order it, without having to come in and disturb you. Didn't see any Air Con, so not sure how it would be in middle of summer.... So far as 'lakefront' goes, the reception and ?owners area is lakefront, but the units are up a street running perpendicular to the lake - so no views of the lake out your front window. But there are picnic tables outside each room, with a great view down the street to the lake.

Room Tip: Don't expect a direct view of the lake from the unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnKnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope you had a great time on the track :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Overpriced for a nights stay..

Location is nice but the room was really stuffy no ventilation until u want to open the sliding door.

Clean and close to things.

We spent much of the time watching television and had a hard time opening and closing the door to let some fresh air into the room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ParikshitBasrur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your review. Our units do get plenty of sun, which is nice at this time of year as it is getting colder. Yes the rooms do get warm, and we advise our guests that you can open the door and pull the drapes to block out a bit of heat but still get some air flowing, because a small room can get very warm. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey in New Zealand, thank you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The accommodation was extremely clean and a good size room. The spa was luxurious and it was nice that they provided bath salts. The bed was very comfy with a gorgeous throw that just made you want to snuggle. Staff were friendly and would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeJayGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakefront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakefront Lodge

Property: Lakefront Lodge
Address: 58 Lakefront Drive | Southland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lakefront Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Units with a show of Luxury. Partial Lake and Mountain views. All units have kitchens. One Bedroom Double Spa Bath and Studio Units. Free Wireless Internet throughout.Continental Breakfast available. Only a 2min walk to town centre and restaurants.Tour Booking Desk. Luggage storeage for trampers. Free car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lakefront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing