We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to rest and regroup”
Review of Lakefront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lakefront Lodge
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to rest and regroup”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Great value for the money - quiet, clean, serene, and cozy. After a long drive, it was nice to stay here. I'd come back again, and would recommend the place to friends. While the outside might look like a motel, the inside was as nice as any lodge/hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dcbolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Kind Regards
David & Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    119
    32
    4
    3
See reviews for
84
199
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The lodge is big and have a great kitchen. It is near the info center of Te Anau. Moreover, the room has free unlimited wifi access. The rooms are quite clean that I can sleep in a quite and comfortable way. The balcony is cool that my family can have a dinner!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VitusLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time during your travels to place your review. It is great when guests place a picture as it helps us put a face to the person who placed their comment. I do hope the rest of your journey was enjoyable.

Kind Regards
David & Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had everything we could possibly want. Very comfortable and all the special touches that make your stay very special. Best motel and excellent value for money.
Walking distance to shopping centre and places to eat. Very handy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
A big thank you for your lovely comments.

Kind Regards
David & Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Really lovely place to stay, right opposite the lake with friendly staff. Very clean nice rooms, very well appointed. Really comfortable beds with good heating and well appointed and decorated. Great lpcation

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments.

Kind Regards
David & Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Overall it was a very good stay staff were wonderful and friendly room was well laid out and bed was very comfy. If we were to pick on anything it would be the shower pressure was a little on the weak side

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Jodi, Thanks for your review. I know there is nothing better than great pressure to shower under. We are working on this, just need the plumber to come up with smart ideas on how we can do this without pulling the place apart.

Kind Regards
Dianne & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I selected this lodge on-line because of its location, appearance and facilities. Lakefront Lodge exceeded expectations when staying for 2 nights prior to the Routeburn Classic on 26 April.

GOOD FEATURES INCLUDED:
1. convenient location near the lake but guest units do not overlook the lake,
2. close proximity to restaurants, shops and tourist facilities one block away in the main street,
3. carparking adjacent to each unit, (I did not want a place with stairs),
4. cosy, homely, sunny, north facing units,
5. kitchen bench and small dining table which were good for sorting papers and gear,
6. well presented breakfast delivered the night before (pleased to cook the eggs and toast ourselves) and I became an instant convert and fan of the system which facilitated optional eating times,
7. decorative breakfast jars and pillow features,
8. helpful staff (owners or managers).

CHALLENGING FEATURE:
On-line investigation could not adequately determine the number of bedrooms in each unit. I selected a 4 bed unit believing it would have two bedrooms but it had one bedroom and a permanent full size single bed and trundle bed in the living room. (Our 3 adults were a bit cramped when using the living room by day.)

Room Tip: All rooms have a similar northerly aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your detailed comments which I am sure will be very helpful to future guests. Please do not hesitate to book direct with us if there are future planes to return and do the Routeburn Classic or maybe even the Kepler Challenge.

Kind Regards
David & Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and found this motel to be excellent. The beds were very comfortable, great pillows and bedding, the kitchen was well equipped, nice fluffy towels and rooms were serviced to a high standard daily. We were walking distance to town, and the lake was only a 1 minute walk down the road, we only had to step out our front door to see it. The chocolate on the pillow each evening was an added treat. We would definitely stay here again when we return to Te Anau.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineluvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is nice to have confirmation that we do offer a very clean, comfortable and relaxing space for our guest to stay.

Kind Regards
David & Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakefront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakefront Lodge

Property: Lakefront Lodge
Address: 58 Lakefront Drive | Southland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lakefront Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Units with a show of Luxury. Partial Lake and Mountain views. All units have kitchens. One Bedroom Double Spa Bath and Studio Units. Free Wireless Internet throughout.Continental Breakfast available. Only a 2min walk to town centre and restaurants.Tour Booking Desk. Luggage storeage for trampers. Free car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lakefront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing