We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection - the ideal place to stay in Te Anau”
Review of Lakefront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakefront Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We researched many places in Te Anau and ended up chosing Lakefront Lodge. It could not have been more perfect for us. Location is lovely on the edge of the lake however rooms do not have a lake view. Dont let this put you off though as it was an ideal base for us.The rooms were lovely and immaculate and had everything you could possibly need.
The lady on reception - I think it may have been Adrienne was extremely helpful and booked various trips for us too. Glow-worms and Milford Sound were the two we did and well worthwhile.

If we ever come back to Te Anau we would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2009

You really need to look behind the façade of the name to appreciate what’s on offer at Lakefront Lodge. I chose this motel from a quick search of the internet and the ever present accommodation guides, available wherever you go in New Zealand. I made the mistake of looking at the many names and the many pictures and then assuming that they all had similar positions facing Lake Te Anau.

Lakefront Lodge may have the owner’s accommodation directly facing the lake, but none of the accommodation does. It all faces directly on to the street – there’s no view for you, but there’s a great view for everyone else walking past as they look directly through your window into your lounge or bedroom.

So if you want the view of the lake, which is amazingly spectacular, from your room, then don’t stay here. There are many others which do offer that amazing sight. In fairness, the Lodge’s publicity doesn’t claim lake views, and its photos are genuine, which on very close examination do hint at the lack of view. It’s really all in that name.

Enough about that name. The units have all recently been constructed and are still in excellent condition. They are immaculately clean and have everything you need for a good night’s sleep. The quality of the furniture and fittings is of an appropriate standard; the bed is supremely comfortable; and our unit had a very large, easy to use bathroom with big, fluffy towels.

Reception was efficient, friendly and helpful. Going into Autumn we had to rely on a very inadequate heater – shame the night storage heaters had not yet been switched on. The wireless internet was very efficient with good performance – but so expensive NZD10.00 for 2 hours. Why does the mark-up on this type of service have to be so high??

In summary. Good standard for a motel if all you want is a place for a restful night and a good scrub up, in the shower, in the morning. If you want that view of Lake Te Anau – then try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter_R_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Excellent apartments close to the main area of Te Anau, restaurants shops etc, just a couple of minutes walk away.
Loveley clean and comfortable apartment with all appropriate facilities, would love to return

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank searsrp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

THis is a fantastic hotel. The rooms are large with sitting area, comphy bed, heating, electric beds, toaster, kettle, bar fridge, kitchen sink etc.
The bathrooms are larger and extremely clean with a fantastic shower.
The staff are fantastic - very helpful and friendly. On arrival I was given a selection of discount vouchers for restauraunts and sights.
It is technically not on the lake front as it is up a side street. From out the front of the rooms (where there is outdoor furniture you can look down to the lake.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emcde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

We had a one bedroom unit which had quality furniture etc. This included an excellent large lounge area which had very comfortable seating. The kitchen area was well equipped, including, for example, a really sharp vegetable knife (how rare is that). Each room has an outside bench with an integral table looking out onto a side road, but if you look left you can see the lake. This outside area gets the evening sun, and could do with some shade, but we were told umbrellas are about to be provided. Helpful reception.

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

Basic, clean motel accomodation, circa 1980's. Nothing flash. Calling it "Lakefront" is something of a misnomer -no lake views. We drove into town without a booking so it was a case of beggers can't be choosers. Staff helpful with arranging tour of Milford Sound. Would have rated it better if not for the price. It was definitely not worth the $160 NZ a night we paid. A warning: the AA accomodation guides ratings (I think 4 star for this motel) are completely deceptive. This was just your low-end standard motel.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank Adelaidian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We were in New Zealand on our honeymoon, and stayed our first night in Te Anau in the Garden Court, which was nice but very basic. The second night we stayed at the Lakefront, and couldn't have been happier. The proprietor was extremely friendly and had good suggestions for where to eat in town (though if you're looking for gourmet, it isn't easily found in Te Anau, we had a good basic meal at The Ranch).

The room was large, spotless, and everything seemed brand new. We had a nice big spa bath in the bathroom, and the heated towel rack was a nice touch. The king-sized bed had a new mattress and was very comfortable. Though we didn't use it since we were just there for the night, there was a nice large wardrobe, and attractive dressers, in the bedroom.

During the night we experienced a rare 6.7 magnitude earthquake which made our sleep a little restless afterward, but that hardly had anything to do with the hotel.

We would definitely stay at the Lakefront again. I think we got an off-season rate of about $150 NZ, which was much less than we paid for worse hotels later in the trip. Hopefully we get a chance to go back to Te Anau, whose surrounding area and Milford Sound were the highlight of our two-week North and South Island trip.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hhhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakefront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakefront Lodge

Address: 58 Lakefront Drive | Southland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £117 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lakefront Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Units with a show of Luxury. Partial Lake and Mountain views. All units have kitchens. One Bedroom Double Spa Bath and Studio Units. Free Wireless Internet throughout.Continental Breakfast available. Only a 2min walk to town centre and restaurants.Tour Booking Desk. Luggage storeage for trampers. Free car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lakefront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing