We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed here in January as a couple. The service was awful. Really rude lady at front desk. Only stayed here to charge our cameras for Milford Sounds the next morning, but there were only 3 working plugs in the whole dorm which I think was sleeping 6 people, so they were all full. I asked if we could sleep in our van and pay less to use facilities as we had done in many other hostels and they were very rude about that. The doors were left open all night with people coming in and out, didn't feel safe. The bunk beds had no ladders so had to stand on a strangers mattress below to get into bed. Room outdated and shabby, didn't seem clean. Rips in bedding. Every other BBH we stayed in was amazing and this let them down. So bad. It's clearly only open because it's the nearest town to Milford Sounds.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhiannon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

We are disappointed that you received less than friendly and helpful service on your visit and apologise for this.
Customers receive a communal area key on check in and are able to use the kitchen facilities and computers as they wish during their stay. This can create a lot of "coming and going" often in to the night . All other doors are locked and the area patrolled.
Many of the Bunk beds have been removed from rooms since your stay in January and replaced with new single beds. The few bunks that do remain are steel with ladders attached.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

I spent a few nights here, seeing Fiordland. It's a great place to stay if you're doing the Kepler. I walked less than 10 min away to get on a boat that takes you across Lake Te Anau.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for your comments, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

It was fine. It was a great location but not very nice. Luckily we were in a private ensuite room in the back, but it felt more like a trailer. If it wasnt separate and private it would have bothered me more. Just dark and old.

Great location though.. but really bad internet, even on their own computers

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you for yur feedback.
Internet speeds at the property are affected by ADSL1 technology. Signs in the computer room and at Reception indicate this. This is because of the remote location of Te Anau and so we are not yet wired like larger cities.
The room you stayed in appears to be the stand alone cottage in the garden which is timber lined with a large glass sliding door with ensuite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a night in March. It was a clean room with 4 beds and an ok bathroom. It looked like it used to be an old motel room so wasn't very homely. It was clean though and good for a night's stay. Had a balcony overlooking the lake too which was cool.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unknown_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Unknown_7
Thankyou for your review.
We are pleased that you had a good stay with us in March and enjoyed the View from the Balcony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Accommodation itself is okay - not very cosy but average. Washing machine costs 3 Dollars, dryer costs 3 Dollars, Washing powder costs 1 NZD (usually it's for free or not more than 50 cents, that was really the maximum I ever experienced!!).

But what surprised me most: Luggage storage costs 5 NZD!!!! In 90 % of the Backpacker's I was in, luggage storage was for free and otherwise you'd have to pay 2 NZD for a locker but 5 dollars for putting your bags into a dirty shed, how do they justify that? I'm pretty sure they wouldn't even be liable for a loss...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klothilde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear KlothildeM
Thankyou for your review.
Extra services e.g. washing /drying and purchase of washing powder do unfortunately come at a cost .Guests are provided with some free internet time on check in along with condiments in the Kitchens tea / sugar / Herbs etc.
Luggage storage is available (for those who wish to use this) for as long as they like in a secure garage with locked doors . Some Backpacker properties charge by the item and by the day, so we feel this is a reasonable cost should guests wish to use the service whilst they are away Hiking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This humble backpackers' lodge has a wonderful staff and is a perfect place to start your Milford Track adventure. Located right on the lake, its a 2 minute walk to the Department of Conservation office, where the bus to the track picks up. Large shared kitchen. Free 20 minutes of wi-fi if you book online, otherwise its $2nz for every 20 minutes. Laundry room, coin operated. We stayed in the 1 double ensuite room. It was quite cozy, like staying in a little cabin. Nothing fancy, but a good bed, and amazing hot water pressure. The room is off by itself in their 'garden' - again, not fancy, but private and lovely. For the price - perfect! Also and easy walk to downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanLinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Susanlinley,
Thankyou for your review .
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Okay, I will try to start this positive.
If you look for a simple, clean room for the night, you might be alright here.

But - I've stayed at this place almost 10 years ago, and it looked oldfashioned at that time - and obviously there has nothing changed! Let's face it - when you compare the cost for a shared double to other backpacker's in New Zealand - this is probably the worst you can get for the most money.

There is one girl at the front desk, who is absolutely not interested in anything else then sticking to here computer if possible. After two mumbled "Haw'cn'hel" without the slightest sign of looking up from her monitor we finally realised she was talking to us.
AND the Lakefront was the only backpackers that charged the cost for the first night to my credit card in advance.

The rooms look so incredible old - if you are not so lucky you have a matress that's probably older than yourself. The linen looked like old dark green army linen and was about to burst.
I didn't dare to touch the curtains as they looked so old they might have fallen apart.

What a shame. This is not New Zealand's standard for Backpacker's.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear AnneW2012
We are disappointed that you found your stay at the property less than satisfactory . If you had stayed here ten years ago I would have thought that you would have noticed that there have been many changes !!
We have owned this property for 5 years and have re newed carpets / kitchens / beds / installed computers / Flat screen TV / DVD / painted and decreased the number of beds in Dorms to make these more comfortable for guests.
I apologise for the reception you received at the Front Desk, and this has been discussed with Staff.
Your feed back is helpful , and we will continue to re furbish rooms this Winter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.4 mi away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#5 of 27 in Te Anau
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
4.7 mi away
Barnyard Backpackers
Barnyard Backpackers
#12 of 27 in Te Anau
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

Address: 48 - 50 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: £27 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is the only backpackers located on the lakefront, a stones throw from Lake Te Anau. Located just 300 metres walk from the Glowworm Caves and the top of the Te Anau town Centre.At Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers you will find a well maintained, clean and warm backpackers accommodation lodge to base yourself whilst you explore the Fiords, Tracks, Caves, Lakes and Scenery of Fiordland National Park.We provide ensuites, double, single, twin, quad and share rooms all with fresh linen and duvets on the beds. Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is only a few minutes walk to the Te Anau village centre where you will find a good selection of supermarkets, cafes, bars, Restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing