We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arran Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Motel Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakefront Lodge(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Motel & Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
54
86
46
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
86
46
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormthe kitchentent areabalcony overlooking the lakesuper closeown bathroomfridge spacelady on receptioncommon areasnice loungeenjoyed my staycouple nightsmins walk awayvery nice place to staypoor wifimilford soundkepler track
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is a poor choice to stay in terms of room quality and value but fantastic for location. We stayed in room 15 which is fitted out with a kitchenette you share with the neighboring room. Our room itself had a bed and small table and that was it. The mattress sinks badly in the middle and is terribly soft. The linen is threadbare and feels dirty. The room is blistering lay hot as well as it gets blasted by sun during the afternoon. The kitchen was decently equipped but was taken over by the people next door. The shared toilets were appealing with human waste filling the bowl in the few occasions I used them. The room cost $74 and is terribly value but apparently that is what the market for accomidation in Tr Anau allows for as everything in town was booked solid. Avoid this place if you can

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markgarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Your concerns have been discussed with Staff and we shall address the points you raised in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed here in January as a couple. The service was awful. Really rude lady at front desk. Only stayed here to charge our cameras for Milford Sounds the next morning, but there were only 3 working plugs in the whole dorm which I think was sleeping 6 people, so they were all full. I asked if we could sleep in our van and pay less to use facilities as we had done in many other hostels and they were very rude about that. The doors were left open all night with people coming in and out, didn't feel safe. The bunk beds had no ladders so had to stand on a strangers mattress below to get into bed. Room outdated and shabby, didn't seem clean. Rips in bedding. Every other BBH we stayed in was amazing and this let them down. So bad. It's clearly only open because it's the nearest town to Milford Sounds.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhiannon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

We are disappointed that you received less than friendly and helpful service on your visit and apologise for this.
Customers receive a communal area key on check in and are able to use the kitchen facilities and computers as they wish during their stay. This can create a lot of "coming and going" often in to the night . All other doors are locked and the area patrolled.
Many of the Bunk beds have been removed from rooms since your stay in January and replaced with new single beds. The few bunks that do remain are steel with ladders attached.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I spent a few nights here, seeing Fiordland. It's a great place to stay if you're doing the Kepler. I walked less than 10 min away to get on a boat that takes you across Lake Te Anau.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for your comments, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

It was fine. It was a great location but not very nice. Luckily we were in a private ensuite room in the back, but it felt more like a trailer. If it wasnt separate and private it would have bothered me more. Just dark and old.

Great location though.. but really bad internet, even on their own computers

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you for yur feedback.
Internet speeds at the property are affected by ADSL1 technology. Signs in the computer room and at Reception indicate this. This is because of the remote location of Te Anau and so we are not yet wired like larger cities.
The room you stayed in appears to be the stand alone cottage in the garden which is timber lined with a large glass sliding door with ensuite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a night in March. It was a clean room with 4 beds and an ok bathroom. It looked like it used to be an old motel room so wasn't very homely. It was clean though and good for a night's stay. Had a balcony overlooking the lake too which was cool.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unknown_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Unknown_7
Thankyou for your review.
We are pleased that you had a good stay with us in March and enjoyed the View from the Balcony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews