We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor example of backpackers in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

This backpackers is old and dingy; we stayed in the building next to the reception. The pathway leading to the entrance is slippery and mossy; the rail is partially overgrown by scrubs and plants. The kitchen had 2 sets if plates not working, 2 of the pans were disgusting; layers of burned food coagulated on it - totalky unfit for use! The. couches have not been vacuumed in corners of cushions; I think ever as aray of snacks have collected there. 1 shower / toilet for 9 people and wait for it. ; long hair of previous " female" sleeper on my pillow & bottom sheet and many, not just 1 / 2 yuck!!! Upon reading other reviews it seems as if owners are not paying any attention to these comments - BBH should do something to ensure acceptable quality is provided or delist this hostel!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

We are disapoointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you did not convey to the Staff on duty your problems so that we could offer assistance at your time of stay
Further to this the following remedies have been applied -
Fry Pan left by a previous guest has been removed from the Kitchen. The cupboard remains stocked with amples pots and frypans. More are available on request from the office should stocks run low. Stocking the kitchens is a daily ongoing duty becuase of theft and swapping , but we do our best to keep up
Housekeeping has vacuumed crumbs from offending lounge suite
Pathway has been swept of debris after 4 days of torrential rain
There are three seperate bathrooms in the area you occupied. Extra signage has been added to indicate this
Linen is removed and washed daily. Staff have been advised to check linen thouroughly as beds are re made. Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is a poor choice to stay in terms of room quality and value but fantastic for location. We stayed in room 15 which is fitted out with a kitchenette you share with the neighboring room. Our room itself had a bed and small table and that was it. The mattress sinks badly in the middle and is terribly soft. The linen is threadbare and feels dirty. The room is blistering lay hot as well as it gets blasted by sun during the afternoon. The kitchen was decently equipped but was taken over by the people next door. The shared toilets were appealing with human waste filling the bowl in the few occasions I used them. The room cost $74 and is terribly value but apparently that is what the market for accomidation in Tr Anau allows for as everything in town was booked solid. Avoid this place if you can

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markgarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Your concerns have been discussed with Staff and we shall address the points you raised in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed here in January as a couple. The service was awful. Really rude lady at front desk. Only stayed here to charge our cameras for Milford Sounds the next morning, but there were only 3 working plugs in the whole dorm which I think was sleeping 6 people, so they were all full. I asked if we could sleep in our van and pay less to use facilities as we had done in many other hostels and they were very rude about that. The doors were left open all night with people coming in and out, didn't feel safe. The bunk beds had no ladders so had to stand on a strangers mattress below to get into bed. Room outdated and shabby, didn't seem clean. Rips in bedding. Every other BBH we stayed in was amazing and this let them down. So bad. It's clearly only open because it's the nearest town to Milford Sounds.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhiannon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

We are disappointed that you received less than friendly and helpful service on your visit and apologise for this.
Customers receive a communal area key on check in and are able to use the kitchen facilities and computers as they wish during their stay. This can create a lot of "coming and going" often in to the night . All other doors are locked and the area patrolled.
Many of the Bunk beds have been removed from rooms since your stay in January and replaced with new single beds. The few bunks that do remain are steel with ladders attached.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I spent a few nights here, seeing Fiordland. It's a great place to stay if you're doing the Kepler. I walked less than 10 min away to get on a boat that takes you across Lake Te Anau.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for your comments, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

It was fine. It was a great location but not very nice. Luckily we were in a private ensuite room in the back, but it felt more like a trailer. If it wasnt separate and private it would have bothered me more. Just dark and old.

Great location though.. but really bad internet, even on their own computers

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you for yur feedback.
Internet speeds at the property are affected by ADSL1 technology. Signs in the computer room and at Reception indicate this. This is because of the remote location of Te Anau and so we are not yet wired like larger cities.
The room you stayed in appears to be the stand alone cottage in the garden which is timber lined with a large glass sliding door with ensuite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a night in March. It was a clean room with 4 beds and an ok bathroom. It looked like it used to be an old motel room so wasn't very homely. It was clean though and good for a night's stay. Had a balcony overlooking the lake too which was cool.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unknown_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Unknown_7
Thankyou for your review.
We are pleased that you had a good stay with us in March and enjoyed the View from the Balcony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Accommodation itself is okay - not very cosy but average. Washing machine costs 3 Dollars, dryer costs 3 Dollars, Washing powder costs 1 NZD (usually it's for free or not more than 50 cents, that was really the maximum I ever experienced!!).

But what surprised me most: Luggage storage costs 5 NZD!!!! In 90 % of the Backpacker's I was in, luggage storage was for free and otherwise you'd have to pay 2 NZD for a locker but 5 dollars for putting your bags into a dirty shed, how do they justify that? I'm pretty sure they wouldn't even be liable for a loss...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klothilde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear KlothildeM
Thankyou for your review.
Extra services e.g. washing /drying and purchase of washing powder do unfortunately come at a cost .Guests are provided with some free internet time on check in along with condiments in the Kitchens tea / sugar / Herbs etc.
Luggage storage is available (for those who wish to use this) for as long as they like in a secure garage with locked doors . Some Backpacker properties charge by the item and by the day, so we feel this is a reasonable cost should guests wish to use the service whilst they are away Hiking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
#22 of 22 in Te Anau
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 22 in Te Anau
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#4 of 27 in Te Anau
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

Address: 48 - 50 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: £27 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is the only backpackers located on the lakefront, a stones throw from Lake Te Anau. Located just 300 metres walk from the Glowworm Caves and the top of the Te Anau town Centre.At Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers you will find a well maintained, clean and warm backpackers accommodation lodge to base yourself whilst you explore the Fiords, Tracks, Caves, Lakes and Scenery of Fiordland National Park.We provide ensuites, double, single, twin, quad and share rooms all with fresh linen and duvets on the beds. Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is only a few minutes walk to the Te Anau village centre where you will find a good selection of supermarkets, cafes, bars, Restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing