We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Best part of this hostel was the view from our room. We stayed in the Greenstone room which has two bunk beds. The room was perfectly clean and warm, and had a table and some chairs. No problems at all with noise at night. The staff was friendly and polite. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gohabs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

basic back packers, not flash, not run down either, dated interior,
close to shops, and transport to hiking tracks and scenic tours....
nice quiet place , owners have an off beat sense of humour,
get your own self service unit or cook communally.. some rooms have a lake view with stunning views.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waynowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the great views from the Backpackers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Luckily I only stayed one night in a 6 bed dorm upstairs in the building behind the front building which was quite expensive for such a poor room. The beds were reasonably alright but the interior design, old couches, smell puts me off. My key didn't work after a while so I couldn't get inside anymore and had to wait until other room member came and opened the door. The kitchen is a total chaos a design which doesn't really work even if there is quite a lot space. People are always in the way as everything is put into cupboards either under the sink, next to the oven, so that we steped on each others feet frequently. It is actually a great location if you are planning to do one of the great walks as one of them is just 5 mins walk away from the hostel. You could organise a pick up at the end of the hike or walk the rest back to Te Anau as well. There are quite a few activities to be able to organise at the hostel.

Happy travels :)

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Milford Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggiboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

We value your comments and feedback.
The Kitchen usually works very well with lots of seating space , labelled cupboards and drawers to help guests find equipment and utensils with preparation areas between sinks and cooking hobs. We take on board your comments, and will look at the areas you point out and see if we can do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This was a nice place- spacious kitchen with fully labeled draws and cabinets! A good atmosphere overall. The room was fine- nothing too special. I enjoyed my stay here and a clean hot shower was most welcome. No problems- a fine place to stay as a stop off to Milford or Doubtful and it certainly lives up to the name- directly on the lake.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Delighted to receive your feedback and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

17th Feb 13 157Km to Te anau. Booked a double was told it would be a shared bathroom across the landing when we checked in we were given a shared area consisting of three bedrooms 1 b/room and a kitchen/dining area no landing to cross as it happened we had it to our self the staff as always were great only there for one night walked along the lake had a coffee, went to local cinema silent film documentary on the Fiord land interesting that evening had dinner at Le Dolce Vita the a little expensive but fantastic food staff attentive with out being intrusive the desert was top off with the owner putting some good opera on. Tomorrow of to Queenstown

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beenaroundgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed the Te Anau / Fiordland area. Safe Travels .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I was surprised when I read other reviewers' comments that this place was poorly rated. My experience with Lakefront Backpackers was excellent. We arrived Te Anau From Milford Sounds very late in the evening and was a little worried that The reception might have closed but it was still opened at 7pm. The Lady at the reception was extremely pleasant and Helpful with Tips on getting around Town and pointed me clearly to the nearest and alternative garage. We even got a little map from her to enable us to navigate to our room which is in the House just next to the reception building(the whole Compound was Huge). The Compound was located just beside the lake with full Lake View from our common living area veranda in our House. There were only 3 or 4 rooms in the whole entire House and a shared Bathroom, a toilet, a Living Room, a Kitchen, a Laundry Room and a Nice Veranda. The whole house was very clean and comfortable. There is a little porch for private parking and a nice garden just outside the House compound. The room pleasantly surprised me with space! There was a queen size Bed which I shared with my Girlfriend and another single for my other friend. The is even room for an arm couch and a little sink and wardrobe in the room itself. Plenty of power points in the room such that 3 of us do not need to fight over charging of devices. All of us agreed that this was one of our favorite stay amongst all accommodation experience we had in South Island. I didn't pay a hefty sum for this room

Room Tip: Choose the triple share room in the House next to the Reception Building facing the Lake for a pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyatt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that you took the time to write a favorable review. We try very hard to provide clean,well equipped accommodation at a reasonable tariff and provide up to date, helpful information. Safe Travels !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed 2 nights here and had to change rooms mid stay as they didnt have a twin room for 2 nights. As I was doing a trip the 1st full day I was there we couldnt be bothered to find another hostel just for one night, so we agreed to bunk up in a double just for that one night. The first night in the twin room was ok, the room was a good size but we were right next to the shared toilet which was used by a dorm room too and so the toilet noise was quite regular all night. However the room was OK. The next day I went on my trip and my companion moved our gear from one room to the new one. Well Room 15A - just a double bed and barely enough room round it to put your feet down! Ok it has a private kitchen but that is shared with the people in room 15B. If you are a family using both rooms it would be ok but not rented out seperately. The room was all glass on 2 sides so no privacy unless you shut the curtains and who wants to do that all day? Also the only bathroom we could find which was atoilet and shower combined seemed to serve all the rooms at the back of reception so there were always queues waiting to use the facilities. At least they were clean but we did have to outside and along a windy outside deck to get to it. They had the cheek to charge the same rate for this little box as for the much larger twin room with a sink and an indoor toilet.
As others have said the service was dour and not very helpful - my companion, who moved our gear, was told she had to check out of the first room before she could go into the new one. Ok understand that but then she was told the next room wouldnt be ready till 12. She went back at 12 and was told that she'd been forgotten (great) and no one had made our new room a priority on the cleaning rota. Finally she got into the room but it was a real mission just to change rooms. It would have been easier to move locations!!!Not impressed - this is just a money making operation with no thought or care for the customer.

Room Tip: just get a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzycut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for your review.
We have noted your comments and are more than happy to take these on board.
We are pleased that you found the room clean and the location to your liking.
We have more than one communal area for toilets / showers for the couple of rooms that are not self contained. These have signage to indicate where alternate facilities are located.
Changing rooms when the Backpackers is full can cause delays as the cleaning has to be completed quickly but cannot begin until previous occupants have vacated the room. We apologise that you were held up in this instance whilst trying to meet your request for a two night stay , and have bought this to the attention of the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 22 in Te Anau
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#4 of 27 in Te Anau
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

Address: 48 - 50 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: £17 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is the only backpackers located on the lakefront, a stones throw from Lake Te Anau. Located just 300 metres walk from the Glowworm Caves and the top of the Te Anau town Centre.At Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers you will find a well maintained, clean and warm backpackers accommodation lodge to base yourself whilst you explore the Fiords, Tracks, Caves, Lakes and Scenery of Fiordland National Park.We provide ensuites, double, single, twin, quad and share rooms all with fresh linen and duvets on the beds. Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is only a few minutes walk to the Te Anau village centre where you will find a good selection of supermarkets, cafes, bars, Restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing