We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely rude woman at the reception!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extremely rude woman at the reception!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

There are soooo many nice places and nice people in NZ, avoid this backpacker where the lady at the reception has been extremely rude when we stayed there in February this year.
We were 6 of us traveling together in a van and had booked for one night for only 4 of us (the 2 others were sleeping in the van). We all came to the check in together and she first asked us who were these 2 other people with us. Fair enough (although she really asked it a rude way!). I friendly replied that they were friends but they won't be staying in the backpacker with us. We went out, took our luggages out of the van and then she asked again in a very unfriendly way what they were doing, when they were just helping us to carry our luggages in the room. So again I told her reassuringly "don't worry they are just helping us to carry our luggages but we are all gone after that". The suspicious way she was talking and looking at us really started to annoy me at that point. But it got even worst 2 minutes after! She literally shouted at us, something like "I understand perfectly what you are trying to do but I am watching you, don't fool me". She suspected us from trying to sneak our 2 friends in when we absolutely had zéro attention at all to do so, I already told her twice! Who does she think she is to suspect and talk to customers like that and whatsoever within the 10 min of our arrival? I perfectly understand that she might have had some issues with other people before but it is not at all a reason to talk that rude to new customers. If she really wanted to say something, which I would have perfectly understood, she could have explained it nicely like "sorry guys but I just need to be sure that only 4 of you will be staying here, we had trouble before...blablabla". I would definitely not recommend to stay at this place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank CHJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I am not entirely sure of the circumstances surrounding this situation you describe after discussing your review with Staff.
Staff do have a duty to insure that all guests on the property are valid customers and that the information required on check in is given honestly by guests.
If you were offended by this request , it was definitely not the intention by Staff to be rude or inconsiderate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    72
    43
    13
    8
See reviews for
11
59
49
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Anau, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hostel is definitely worth visiting. The beds are comfortable and you have your own fridge and bathroom ensuite. The hostel is looking out on the lake and everybody staying here is friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eefni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank for your review and we are pleased everything was to your satisfaction during your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Despite the good reviews we have seen from TripAdvisor we were disappointed to find out our booking through the phone was not confirmed.

We called the office and were promised a room for three nights and we were waiting for an email which never came through. We called to get a confirmation of the booking and the lady said the booking is done. We were deeply disappointed when we arrived to find no records of our bookings at all.

I hope nobody ever has to go through such an experience. The management should see to it that every booking is taken seriously and handled efficiently.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We apologise that there was an error with your reservation. On investigation it appears that your booking request was taken, but inexplicably the computer did not assign a room to the booking as it should have.
The Manager apologised several times for the error which was most unfortunate and disappointing as you say . She promptly arranged alternate accommodation for your group.
We hope that this accommodation met with your approval and that you enjoyed your time in Te Anau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed only one night. Wouldn't return to this lodge. The dorms are ok. But the place lacks atmosphere and is very messy. The kitchen is smelly and to small for the number of guests. The place looks outdated. Still if you just want to spend one night you will be fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Welcomed most warmly. Had a double cabin and it was lush. Clean, lovely, all facilities fab. We were going on the Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise and because we stayed there the night before, they allowed us to leave our hire car there whilst we went on cruise. Beautiful scenery and one of our favourite places to visit and to stay . We will be back .

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BlackCharlie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We just wanted to stay for two nights but we had to extend because we liked that place so much. Our four bed room had an own bathroom, kitchen and normal beds (no bunks, which is quite luxurious as a backpacker^^). The hostel was clean and safe and the managers offered many activities to do in Fiordland. Not to mention the stunning view on the lake when you just take a look out of the window!
You will definitely enjoy staying at this hostel!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank crieche94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that all was to your satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Te Anau lakefront backpackers was a pretty average experience. It wasn't bad. We had a private double room with shared ensuite and kitchenette. It was decent value but nothing special. Tiny room. To get to the main kitchen you had a 100-200m walk outside to get there. Staff were quite nice and accommodating though.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suissegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Many of the rooms have their own kitchenette (as you have described ) and for the others there is a short walk to one of the two communal kitchens. We are pleased the staff were accommodating to your needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#4 of 27 in Te Anau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

Property: Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Address: 48 - 50 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is the only backpackers located on the lakefront, a stones throw from Lake Te Anau. Located just 300 metres walk from the Glowworm Caves and the top of the Te Anau town Centre.At Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers you will find a well maintained, clean and warm backpackers accommodation lodge to base yourself whilst you explore the Fiords, Tracks, Caves, Lakes and Scenery of Fiordland National Park.We provide ensuites, double, single, twin, quad and share rooms all with fresh linen and duvets on the beds. Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is only a few minutes walk to the Te Anau village centre where you will find a good selection of supermarkets, cafes, bars, Restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing