We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great owner, Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2012

In all honesty, I booked this place because I love cats. My husband made fun of me up until the very moment when we arrived. We were so pleasantly surprised! We were greeted by Lucy the cat, a cute white dog and the owner Lindsay. Lindsay is very friendly and he makes an excellent breakfast in the morning. Our room overlooked the back patio, which was a great place to read a book on a sunny afternoon. Our room was very comfortable and the bed was huge. We slept so well in our room that we nearly missed breakfast the next morning. Lindsay allows visitors to use the washing machine and dryer which was a treasure after traveling for weeks. Lindsay recommended eating at "The Moose" down the street, which we did and enjoyed. We loved the Cats Whiskers and hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is a great, homely B&B and excellent value.

We stayed in one of the rooms at the back. All perfectly good. Very comfortable bed.

All the usual B&B options for breakfast come with a friendly style and helpful offers of info about Milford and Doubtful Sounds. (By the way, whether you do Milford Sound or not, do not miss Doubtful Sound - totally worth the effort and if you have to choose between the two, choose the full Doubtful Sound tour).

We thought this was the best value place we have stayed at in a couple of weeks of NZ B&Bs. The room price is good (includes free internet) and Lindsay is a natural B&B host - staying here is like staying at your friend's place!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We really enjoyed coming home to a "home" with a very comfortable bed, a room with all the comforts of home and a wonderful cooked breakfast the following day. We would throughly reccommend Cats Whiskers B&B to our frends and family if they were visiting TeAnau. We also loved Lucy the cat, she made our stay even more special.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed here for one night and I wouldn't stay here again. The hosts were not very welcoming. Actually, we walked in, the daugther(?) looked at us, asked us a question and said, "Whatever my mom will deal with you." Welcome to your vacation!

The hosts were pretty stuffy and not very welcoming and had LOTS of rules. The room was fine, but it definitely was not relaxing when you don't feel welcomed there. The location is OK, but it was pretty noisy being right on the main street which we did not like. The B&B is not very homey and you are not welcome anywhere except for your room (and this is made clear because they lock all the doors to the dining room, kitchen, family room area).

Like I said it wasn't some awful experience, but I wouldn't give them my money for another night. There are better places to stay. We were ready to get out of there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveOutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngeru, Owner at The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2010

Lindsay and I were surprised by this review. We are sorry that LoveOutside felt that way. We have never had feedback before, regarding noise, given that our neighbour, across the road is a reserve on the shores of Lake Te Anau. We do try our very best for our guests and can only apologize that they felt this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We enjoyed our night in Te Anau before a Milford Sound cruise. Anne Marie and Lindsay were very helpful with suggestions of what cruise to book, movie to watch, what to see in Te Anau, where to eat and get groceries, etc. The location, across from the lake, is very convenient to town. Our room was plenty spacious for our family of four, and the house cat was welcome, as we missed our own. Our only complaint, and it's minor, is that the coffee was weak, but the conversation around the breakfast table was delightful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsquaredNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed at The Cat's Whiskers for three nights while we explored this part of NZ and found it to be a very pleasant base from which to travel. Excursions to both Doubtful and Milford Sounds as well as a hike to Key Summit on the Milford Road were convenient from this location.

This B&B has the feel of a home that has been adapted to accommodate guests. We stayed in the front bedroom with a view of the lake through a large window. Even though we fronted the road, street noise was not a problem. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with plenty of counter and closet space. Both room and bedroom were clean and refreshed daily. My husband said that when he was in the shower, he could hear people in the next room, so he thought the walls were a bit thin (or the people were a bit loud).

Our hostess, Anne Marie, was a pleasure. She was a great help in planning our excursions, partly because of her skills as a weather forecaster -- better than most professionals in the US. Consulting a weather website, she helped us plan our hiking day to Key Summit down to the hour so that when we arrived at the top, the weather had greatly cleared and the view was worth the hike. Also, we had received an e-mail from a friend back in the US that our alarm had gone off back at our home and she very graciously let us use her phone to call to check it out.

Breakfasts were plain but good and filling, with the usual NZ cold cereals, yogurt, fruit and a cooked option. Internet access is available for a small donation and parking is on site at the back of the property. There is a laundry facility out back which can be used for a small fee as well.

The business district with restaurants, shopping and Real Journey offices is a short, flat (about 15 minutes) walk , Overall, we found the Cat's Whiskers to be a great value and comfortable location for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbiehpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Stayed at the Cats Whiskers in the ‘Te Anau Room’ with lake view for 3-nights January 09. It’s a first class B&B with great hosts Anne-Marie and Lyndsay. They could have not been more helpful from the day we booked 9-months earlier. They gave us the best directions to get there from Invercargill, via the most interesting and scenic route, advised about the best way to see Milford Sound, and make the best of our stay in Te Anau, and in fact made bookings for us for a Milford Sound Cruise and Lake Cruise to the glow worm caves, and we didn’t have to lift a finger. Both cruises were worth every penny.

The room (complete with lake view) and excellent bathroom was very well appointed and spotlessly clean, and there were little things that we didn’t expect in a B&B, such as plenty of mugs, wine glasses, glass beakers, washing up liquid, dish cloth and tea towel, all very useful if you want to make that extra cup of coffee or nice little snack. Anne-Marie seemed to think of everything to make your stay easy and comfortable. The guest laundry facility was fantastic. Having a guest computer facility complete with Skype was a great benefit. Computer use was free, but you were invited to make a small donation; a nice notion.

Breakfasts were fantastic too, and Anne-Marie and Lyndsay were great to chat with after breakfast, you felt as though you had known them for years and they always offered helpful information.

Just like with a previous Trip Advisor entry, Anne-Marie suggested we go to the local Cinema to see the Milford Sound film – ATA Whenua. Not the usual thing the wife and I would dream of doing on holiday, but we took her advice. The film was great, but the cinema experience was a strange surprise. You buy your glass of wine, G&T or whatever, plus nibbles, along with your ticket at the kiosk/bar and take them in with you. Each individual seat is very large, plush, and spacious, almost like a settee, complete with ‘cup holder’ for your wine, and somewhere to put your nibbles. Great advice from the hosts.

This B & B really was the Cats Whiskers

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wiltravel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 23 in Te Anau
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: £86 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing