We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and host...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 30 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and I stayed with Lindsay for one night just a few weeks ago. Lindsay is a friendly person who will make sure your stay is comfortable. We stayed in the Lake Te Anau room, which faces the lake. Great views (and it's right across the road from the visitor center). It's a great location, as you can walk to downtown Te Anau in 15 minutes. It's a small downtown area, but it has two grocery stores, several restaurants, and even a laundromat. If you decide to see the Glowworm cave. you're only a 15 minute walk (or 5 minute drive) to Real Journeys office.

I thought I might have a problem sleeping with our room being close to the road, but it wasn't an issue. You won't go wrong staying at Cats Whiskers.

As others noted, Lindsay provides you a piece of paper where you mark what you'd like for breakfast. Breakfast was good the one morning we had it.

Room Tip: The Lake Te Anau room has a great few of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikingnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Nice comfortable place. Lindsay is friendly and makes hot breakfast upon request. There are many options for custom freshly prepared hot breakfast. Walking distance to town center. House is right across from the lake.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kishores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

If you are not a cat person, do not let the name drive you away. My husband, who is definitely not a cat person, imagined furniture covered with cat hair and cat paraphernalia everywhere! Not true! This is a perfectly normal B&B in a great location right across from the lake. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable. Lindsay is super nice. In the grand scheme of B&B breakfast ratings, the breakfast is just okay. But it is made with love and everything else about this place makes up for it. We remember this place very fondly and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummerCumulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

In all honesty, I booked this place because I love cats. My husband made fun of me up until the very moment when we arrived. We were so pleasantly surprised! We were greeted by Lucy the cat, a cute white dog and the owner Lindsay. Lindsay is very friendly and he makes an excellent breakfast in the morning. Our room overlooked the back patio, which was a great place to read a book on a sunny afternoon. Our room was very comfortable and the bed was huge. We slept so well in our room that we nearly missed breakfast the next morning. Lindsay allows visitors to use the washing machine and dryer which was a treasure after traveling for weeks. Lindsay recommended eating at "The Moose" down the street, which we did and enjoyed. We loved the Cats Whiskers and hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is a great, homely B&B and excellent value.

We stayed in one of the rooms at the back. All perfectly good. Very comfortable bed.

All the usual B&B options for breakfast come with a friendly style and helpful offers of info about Milford and Doubtful Sounds. (By the way, whether you do Milford Sound or not, do not miss Doubtful Sound - totally worth the effort and if you have to choose between the two, choose the full Doubtful Sound tour).

We thought this was the best value place we have stayed at in a couple of weeks of NZ B&Bs. The room price is good (includes free internet) and Lindsay is a natural B&B host - staying here is like staying at your friend's place!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We really enjoyed coming home to a "home" with a very comfortable bed, a room with all the comforts of home and a wonderful cooked breakfast the following day. We would throughly reccommend Cats Whiskers B&B to our frends and family if they were visiting TeAnau. We also loved Lucy the cat, she made our stay even more special.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed here for one night and I wouldn't stay here again. The hosts were not very welcoming. Actually, we walked in, the daugther(?) looked at us, asked us a question and said, "Whatever my mom will deal with you." Welcome to your vacation!

The hosts were pretty stuffy and not very welcoming and had LOTS of rules. The room was fine, but it definitely was not relaxing when you don't feel welcomed there. The location is OK, but it was pretty noisy being right on the main street which we did not like. The B&B is not very homey and you are not welcome anywhere except for your room (and this is made clear because they lock all the doors to the dining room, kitchen, family room area).

Like I said it wasn't some awful experience, but I wouldn't give them my money for another night. There are better places to stay. We were ready to get out of there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveOutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngeru, Owner at The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2010

Lindsay and I were surprised by this review. We are sorry that LoveOutside felt that way. We have never had feedback before, regarding noise, given that our neighbour, across the road is a reserve on the shores of Lake Te Anau. We do try our very best for our guests and can only apologize that they felt this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.4 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
181 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpine Rock B&B
Alpine Rock B&B
#11 of 30 in Te Anau
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: £76 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing