We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, helpful, comfortable, lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ely
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful, comfortable, lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked this through Dunedin i-Site - three nights spread over four days so that we could take a night cruise on Doubtful Sound. Lindsay met our coach and settled us into a lovely large room at the back of the house with TV, fridge, armchairs, a balcony (with chairs and table) and good facilities. Breakfasts were generous and good and he and Janice made us very welcome in their home. When we went off for our cruise, they looked after our luggage and reassured us that we'd have the same room when we returned. Finally, they gave us an early last breakfast and Lindsay took us to our outbound coach, even though it was an early one. A great place to stay and where we'd choose to stay next time. The only drawback I can think of is that it's a 5-10 minute walk from the centre of Te Anau but it is a lovely walk along the lakeside.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are nearer the road but the house is well set back and I can't believe that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XCD-Ely-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
68
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Really liked this place mostly because of the home - like atmosphere and helpful owners. Rooms nice and clean, and location across the street from the Visitors Centre is also convenient. Also helped us book the Mitford Cruise at no extra charge.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
188 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We found this place thanks to Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Staying in the Te Anau room was a treat and the view of the lake is superb. Our breakfast was substantial. Lindsay and Janice loaned us items that helped us out and recommended good places to eat. We liked it so much, we decided to stay another night instead of moving on. That doesn't happen very often!

Room Tip: The Te Anau room faces the lake which is a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Wondefully equipped studios with washrooms and heaters in good condition, just nice to keep us warm in this cold weathe. On top of that, breakfast was awesome with alot of varieties !
Would want to come back here again someday !!
And yessss,they have a cute little puppy !!

Room Tip: Choose a room with washrooms and toilets attached to your bedrooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavanjeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and I stayed with Lindsay for one night just a few weeks ago. Lindsay is a friendly person who will make sure your stay is comfortable. We stayed in the Lake Te Anau room, which faces the lake. Great views (and it's right across the road from the visitor center). It's a great location, as you can walk to downtown Te Anau in 15 minutes. It's a small downtown area, but it has two grocery stores, several restaurants, and even a laundromat. If you decide to see the Glowworm cave. you're only a 15 minute walk (or 5 minute drive) to Real Journeys office.

I thought I might have a problem sleeping with our room being close to the road, but it wasn't an issue. You won't go wrong staying at Cats Whiskers.

As others noted, Lindsay provides you a piece of paper where you mark what you'd like for breakfast. Breakfast was good the one morning we had it.

Room Tip: The Lake Te Anau room has a great few of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikingnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Nice comfortable place. Lindsay is friendly and makes hot breakfast upon request. There are many options for custom freshly prepared hot breakfast. Walking distance to town center. House is right across from the lake.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kishores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

If you are not a cat person, do not let the name drive you away. My husband, who is definitely not a cat person, imagined furniture covered with cat hair and cat paraphernalia everywhere! Not true! This is a perfectly normal B&B in a great location right across from the lake. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable. Lindsay is super nice. In the grand scheme of B&B breakfast ratings, the breakfast is just okay. But it is made with love and everything else about this place makes up for it. We remember this place very fondly and would love to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerCumulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing