We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So many different ways to see Fjordland”

Fiordland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.64*
and up
Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch
Ranked #4 of 44 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“So many different ways to see Fjordland”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The national park is enormous and has numerous walking tracks. Some of these are multi-day walks but have easily-accessible entry points at different locations, making them suitable for shorter walks that still give you a great view of the rugged scenery available.

The trip to Doubtful Sound includes a coach trip over the Wilmot Pass that offers a great view to those who don't fancy hiking for several days to see the more remote sections.

Some of the prettiest sections of the Kepler Track are easy to get to via car and can be seen with a short walk along the river.

Regardless of how you get to it, take a camera - so many opportunities for great photos.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikey0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    53
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a place of harmony.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

You could spend weeks exploring. Many attractions, hundreds of hiking tracks and hundreds of equipped mountain huts. Paradise for hideaway and nature exploring. Defintely topic for separate trip - fiordland only. Loving it and defintely will come back

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wy_Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I arrived at this centre on my way to starting the Milford track. I had booked busses, ferry and huts but had no booking confirmation with me and this was required for my trip. The staff were so helpful, calling each service to check I was booked and let me know everything was ok. I overheard them doing something similar for another group of travelers. The staff were genuinely caring and helpful and this level of service was provided by all the staff I encountered on my trip in this area. I could leave my bags here and explore town while waiting for the bus and they gave me a map and directions - the whole area is beautiful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gayle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 827 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We passed the rugged mountain terrain past Te Anau on the shores of the largest lake in the South Island. This is a Journey through the Southern Alps and along the picturesque Eglinton Valley, a place of ancient alpine forest with thousands of gushing waterfalls and one of only a few road-accessible glacier valleys in New Zealand.
To start with we got the rain, mist and smog but then out came the sun then it was stunning, the mixture of sunny and rainy weather made it spectacular. Our tour bus stopped for brief walks at Mirror Lake, The Chasm a short walk over footbridges spanning a series of swirling waterfalls and at the Monkey Creek which was good place for pictures and we stopped to fill the water bottles at the fresh water stream which tasted really good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Millford Sounds”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The absolute best way of seeing Fiordland National Park is by Cruise Ship through the Sounds. Huge advantage is being able to move around the ship from different positions and have an elevated view of everything. Millford Sound is just one of the very best.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Woolies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fiordland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Fiordland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing