We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most beautiful place on earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Milford Sound

Milford Sound
Book In Advance
More Info
US$63.94*
and up
Milford Sound Nature Cruise from Queenstown, Te Anau or Milford Sound
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place on earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

It was raining and very windy the day we were there. However, that was what made the beauty of Milford Sound so ethereal. Hundreds upon hundreds of waterfalls. We were extremely lucky too to see penguins along the way too! The captain had sharp eyes to have spotted them! Go Milford but skip the Underwater. And unless you really love the sea or kayaking, do skip the kayaking too! It looked so cold and wet and miserable when we encountered the kayakers!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SY_541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,041
    628
    156
    20
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We saw whales!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is such a beautiful place and we went with Real Journeys on a nature cruise. Amusing commentary. We saw seals and penguins and so thrilled to also spot 2 whales which is apparently quite unusual. Such a fab day which we will always remember.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyandrob1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Majestic and spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was one of the highlights during our recent NZ trip. We drove from Te Anau (2h) and I must say that the road is equally beautiful as the destination. I suggest that you take your pictures when you back so you have more time and you're not rushed.

We did the 9h15 cruise with Jucy and I understood why early cruises were cheaper: in NZ, it tends to be cloudy in the morning and the sky clears up around lunch! Nonetheless, it was still magical to see to seals, the falls (even got a shower underneath!!) and the scenery is just breathtaking. We really took our best pictures in that region. Go for it!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NebuCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eeery and mesmerising!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We took a boat trip (with sales) which we booked in Te Anau (down by the lake), but you can buy tickets at the boat port itself when you get to Milford Sound. It really is a magical place. It feels very eery, like something out of Jurassic Park. 100% worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frannie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Milford Sounds' speaks, silently aloud!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Many years of hearing about it , seeing it on T.V and photographs galore. But nothing compares to beholding it' with your own two eyes. What makes it even more special, is sharing those first moments of spell bounding monstrous granite fortresses; that' s stretches into misty heights' piercing beyond all measures of eyesight. This natural beauty causes the very heavens to weep its bounty of tears from praying virgins, whose holy prayers are answered in cascading water that fall as the cup surely doeth runeth over the brim that is Milford Sounds! That special sharing is you Juicy Cruises. Thank you for allowing me to hear the silent sounds speak aloud. And to my beautiful wife Susannah on our three day honeymoon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milford Sound also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 

Been to Milford Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing