We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had wonderful time on Takaro Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Takaro Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Takaro Lodge
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had wonderful time on Takaro Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I spent 5 weeks on Takaro Lodge during the Christmas and New Year. What can I say, this lodge is pure peace. If you are looking for a place where you can let go of stress and pressure of busy city life, this is a place to go. Takaro Lodge is a wonderful mix of classic and modern. In one way you are in the middle of nowhere, surrounded with forest and wild animals (from a safe distance :-), but at the same time you are served with luxury services and living in a modern apartment which can go neck to neck with any 5 star hotel room.

We did a lot of trips and walks in the area, the possibility of exploring are endless and you will never be bored, every day the wonderful crew will figure out something new to do or visit.

And on those days when we didn't feel the need to go somewhere, we just chilled around the lodge and enjoyed glass of wine next to the fire place. It's just perfect.

Room Tip: They have special 5 Elements chalets, ask Takaro staff for an element analysis, so they can fit you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnyqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenomena_12, Front Office Manager at Takaro Lodge, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi,

We are delighted that you got so much from your time here and the decision to extend your Retreat was worthwhile. We feel that whatever our clients and guests invest in their wellbeing it is repaid in the results they achieve in their energy levels and ability to focus on their goals and achieve better than ever business results. You really made the most of taking time to relax and balanced it well with joining in our activities. Please feel free to contact us at anytime to ask about our programs for 2014/15. It was a pleasure to have you both staying and we look forward to welcome you back again next time.

Thank you on behalf of the Takaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
1
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

That was my the best holiday ever! After leaving crowded city and work behind, from the moment I lended on New Zaland that immense peacefulness fulfilled my mind, body and soul. And Takaro Lodge made that experience even more intense. Oh my...that's really Heaven on Earth...special energy, beautiful nature, organic food, warm people, peace, peace, peace...
I returned home recharged and revitalized and looking forward to repeat this experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Beautifull and peacefull scenery, perfectly located schalles nicely equiped, great service, food freshly picked from organic garden. For me amazing experience, after which I felt peacefull and enerigzed, ready for new challenges.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank momejec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osjek, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

I recently stayed on an Individual Retreat near Te Anau in Fiordland where I joined a small group for my 10 days programme. It included special life classes, morning exercises, daily spine massage, organic meals, lots of herbal teas and relaxations plus some sightseeing and excursions. I loved shopping in Queenstown and the Cruise on Lake Te Anau to the Glow Worm caves.

I feel my health has improved and my husband says I look really good now and I know I feel better and younger as a result! I had really looked everywhere for something like this but not found it before, it was worth travelling so far. thank you so much to Takaro

Room Tip: They will choose the room for your according to your birthday and it will be what you need for quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LiliS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zagreb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Coming to New Zealand was a completely new experience for me coming from Europe but nothing can be compared with coming to Takaro Lodge.
The nature I felt at Takaro Lodge was the purest and the cleanest I have ever seen. Mountains which surround Takaro Lodge are magnificent in their grandeur
and the river is crystal clear.
I was overwhelmed with energy of nature during my stay.
All the landscapes around Takaro Lodge is breath-taking and inspiring, so it was
a special experience of peace and harmony of the untouched nature surrounding the Lodge where I stayed.
I liked the fact that there are no roads or traffic that could break the complete silence.
Hotel is consisted of the chalets which are very comfortable, and food that was served is organic and well-balanced. Most of the food prepared is from the garden of the Hotel which has the Organic Certificate and the cook prepares their own tofu and bake their own bread. I tasted some great herbal tea from their garden.
Staff of the hotel are peaceful and relaxing.
We took some exciting trips to see the Caves and the Fjords with the boat.
Every day I have especially enjoyed long walks around the lodge, and looking at dears who would gather in front of my lodge early in the mornings.
I found Takaro Lodge a great place for complete rebalance of my organism and I will definitely next time come with some of my friends.
Branka M

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank brankam655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We came to Takaro to take a rest and spend some time together as a group, that is not possible during our busy schedules in Auckland! We had work to do but the facilities are great with wifi and office space at the main lodge, it was all made easy. Takaro is so beautiful and peaceful and the private chef catering provided delicious Asian Pacific food too. We all really enjoyed our chalet, fresh air,walks after dinner, everything was very relaxing - it's an easy flight to Queenstown, and amazing journey, we will be back again for sure

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Vivian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

I took my group to a Takaro Rejuvenation Retreat for a relaxing, team building, and training experience. As a Director I seek peak performance and maximal efficiency in everything I do - and that includes my time away. It requires a greater investment, but I know from previous attempts that most transformative experiences occur for me far away from home. Takaro delivered by providing an unobtrusive base for developing our programs. Whilst we worked in the main lodge meeting room, the kids were entertained outdoors. The private chef was really excellent - South East Asian cuisine - and was able to cater for the special dietary requirements of the kids, who enjoyed the food too, and even got to collect their own eggs from Takaro's own farm! Our element chalets were simple and comfortable, with super bathrooms and a Feng Shui'd modern, natural style I really liked... They had set the rooms up so the nanny and the youngest child could be together. I slept so very deeply. And I loved the mornings. Exercises, fresh air and the incredible panoramic view. We made the most of the local Golf course, as most of us are avid golfers, getting lots of practice whilst enjoying the lake and its views. We also took the Glowworms trip, which the staff kindly organise along with other trips they set up for us - and otherwise spent long sunny evenings walking and enjoying this exceptionally rejuvenating space. Overall, we made lots of breakthroughs and realisations during our peaceful/ healthy and creative inducing team experiences - and we will be back for sure. Thanks to the Takaro team for making it a memorable - and fruitful time.

Room Tip: The chalets are all peaceful, comfortable and have breathtaking views. Anyway, because they use Feng...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
12.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
12.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
10.4 mi away
Blue Thistle Cottages
Blue Thistle Cottages
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Fiordland Lodge
Fiordland Lodge
#2 of 27 in Te Anau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
9.0 mi away
Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation
11.7 mi away
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takaro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takaro Lodge

Property: Takaro Lodge
Address: 914 Takaro Road | PO Box 225, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand (Formerly Takaro Peace Resort)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Takaro Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Takaro - ultimate rejuvenation retreat. Enjoy your own luxury lodge with complete peace and privacy, this beautiful private organic estate is between Milford and doubtful Sound at the gateway to Fiordland. Use of whole Lodge and 5 double Luxury Chalets includes daily complimentary natural relaxation classes and fresh seasonal organic farm and garden produce, your choice of self catering or professional chefs. The combination of Western luxury and Chinese knowledge about health, the wide range of activities available make Takaro a perfect getaway for rejuvenation, honeymoons, corporate retreats and other venues. Rejuvenation is the natural process of becoming younger, happier, healthier, more peaceful! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Takaro Peace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing