We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“skip it”

Naturally Fiordland Pizzeria
Ranked #26 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“skip it”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We walked around town looking at the different menus at restaurants, and this looked menu looked interesting ~ wholesome, more organic-based items. What we should have paid more attention to was although the seating outside was full ~ nobody had food in front of them, only drinks…
We went to the counter and ordered a greek salad to split, a vegetarian lasagna and a pasta bolognese. Everything is ordered at the counter and you pick up your drinks (wine choices were bad - went with beer) and your cutlery. We took a booth inside and settled in… and in.. and in…I ended up going back to the counter (after at least 15 minutes) and asked if we could at least get our salad. It came out in a split second, but still nobody outside had been served.
The salad was fine ~ fresh, with the classics (olives, tomatoes, cucumbers) but nothing special.
Finally food started coming out to the people outside ~ it seems like it was all coming at once for about 10 tables… and we received ours as well. It looked pretty good, but as soon as I got into my lasagna, it was cold on the inside. I immediately took it back. My husband's bolognese, while hot, was NOT bolognese ~ there was scarcely any meat to be found, and not enough sauce.
My lasagna came back ~ steaming hot, but again, NOT lasagna - not lasagna noodles, very few vegetables and more cheese than any tomato sauce- seriously, just a plate of pasta noodles and cheese. It was sticky and heavy. There's a real italian restaurant down the street - give it a go- we should have.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank winegirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    41
    45
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Okay place”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We found two places in Te Anau for pizza and chose this one because it appeared well appointed. However, you basically wait on yourself. You order pizza from the counter and get your own plates and silverware. Not really a problem, but I can't say the pizza was the best. It was small and pricey, about half the size of the pizza we got at Cafe Neve for about the same price. I would recommend trying the pizza place by the grocery store instead of this place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 101PrincessP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good simple food which tasted delicious”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great Italian food, pizza and pasta. Good flavours and definitely freshly made. Simple setting but helpful staff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank clare g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice environment but .....”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had our dinner and ordered a Margarita pizza (L), Pasta alla Tuno (L) & a Apple crumble with ice-cream. With a beer & Peach Tea to go with. Pizza is quite dry and not that much of favour :( Pasta is very average. For $21, I expect for alittle bit more nice. I'm so looking forward for the dessert. But twice again, very disappointed. Apple crumble looks like just got it from supermarket :( However, environment is nice but not match with the music though.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“potential to be so much better”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The salads had fresh ingredients but the use of them lacked inspiration. I t would not take much to make a tasty green salad with a decent dressing and some good seasoning; but no effort here.
The pasta dishes were very average with budget grade dried pasta with a head cause that again lacked decent seasoning and herbs. The pizza was good with a nice crispy thin base.
The service was non existent - maybe something was lost in translation from German. Asking for parmesan resulted in instructions to find the barrel top with cheep commercial condiments.
Wine selection poor.
As an option - lucy time pizza may make the grade. Forget anything else.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Naturally Fiordland Pizzeria also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Naturally Fiordland Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing