We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Village Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Inn Hotel
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Christchurch
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We read varying reviews on the Village Inn Hotel so wasn't sure what to expect be happy to say we found it excellent. Clean, comfortable, close to lake and shops. Comfortable bed and quiet location. Very good value with basic early birds breakfast included in cost of $120 per night room rate. Lovely welcome at reception and dining area. Would definitely recommend and stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymaker094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    45
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
12
73
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stay a night at the The Village Inn. It probably rates as a 3 star. It was good value for money with the room tidy, the bed comfortable and the staff very friendly. The Village Inn is laid out as a frontier town with each room having a different store front.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

A very clean motel, located in a quiet are of the town. The rooms are large, adequately fitted out, ours had a kitchenette. However, they are a bit dated. It does feel a bit like stepping back in time to 1965.

The location is good, just 3 minutes walk from the lake or the centre of town where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
420 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We were fortunate to stay at the Village Inn with our teenage children and also extended family. The units were awesome. Really comfortable beds, baths, great shower. The staff were really helpful and friendly. They were happy to store our gear while we were on tour. The units were also really quiet so we got a great sleep. They are only a few minutes walk across the park to the main shopping area - petrol station is nearby and lake at the end of the street. I highly recommend. And it was fun with the village like setting. But don't be fooled from the outside. The units are very nice inside.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The facade of being a town village on the front of the rooms is exceedingly cute. Loved this about the place.

Other than that, its just your average motel (not hotel standard). Everything is quite dated and needs some love. It was really annoying to hear the hot water cyclinder heating, and plumbing through the walls. had to put in ear plugs in the end it was so annoying. The bed is comfortable and the rooms clean, so what else can you ask for.

The breakfast isn't too bad (we got a combo deal thru grabone.co.nz), and the staff in the morning were quite friendly.

If you get it cheap, its a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbieTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

My husband and I spend the New Year in the Fiordlands and made The Village Inn our based as we managed a summer deal, which also included breakfast. We stayed in a spacious hotel room near the back section so it was quiet. Albeit everything is dated (as if everything was kept and maintained from the 1970s), Linen, towels and carpets were clean. We slept well here, probably also from a busy day of exploring! TV was small and have one movie channel with local cable, but who needs a TV when you're in the Fiords? Continental breakfast was brilliant - a buffet of cereal, muesli, canned fruit, toasts, tea and coffee. There is the option of cooked breakfast menu for additional fee. Town centre and the waterfront is only 10min walk away. The only negative for me was the lighting in the room as it was very dim (power saver light bulbs with insufficient watts for room size).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonol030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
373 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here before and after doing the Milford Track, so we were not looking for a fancy hotel. The beds were comfortable and clean, the bathrooms adequate and the staff accommodated our requests to store our "non-trek" luggage. A laundry room was available, which was very handy to wash our gear after the trek. Slightly off the main drag, the hotel was quiet and within walking distance to the cafes and shops of the main street. We had 2 rooms next to each other to accommodate our family group of adults and teenagers. This hotel was booked online for the 1st night but we were happy to rebook for the night after our return from the walk. Slightly quirky themed hotel-only on the outside, in a town otherwise full of average hotels, this one at least offered some imagination and probably would be fun for a family with small kids.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beetrootears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
#23 of 23 in Te Anau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 23 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Hotel

Property: Village Inn Hotel
Address: 9 Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern and unique hotel creates a feeling of 'stepping back in time' with its carefully recreated Pioneer Village facades and is within walking distance of the lake shore and town centre. Options include studio rooms, deluxe rooms, family units with kitchens and inter-connecting rooms, a disabled access unit and luxury penthouse honeymoon suite complete with spa bath and stereo system. There is also a laundry room for guest use, restaurant and bar and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing