We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Village Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Inn Hotel
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

another lovely night here,the rooms are very well contained,and decorated lovely,the bed is very comfy,only downside the both times we have stayed here the restaurant hasn't been open,so have had to go out for meal,put that aside and the place is lovely and clean

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I am glad that, after your first thoughts on seeing The Village Inn, you found that it was such a great place to stay for a couple of nights. You are correct in saying that it is very quiet in winter, but completely opposite in the summer period.
thank you very much for your excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    45
    42
    10
    9
See reviews for
12
73
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Village Inn in Te Anau is one of the few places in town not to boast a mountain or lake view in it's name but at least they are being honest. All the units have a different facade and togeather the make up a 'Village' from the late early 20th century. Fortunately the units are much more up to date and the one we stayed in was very clean, spacious and modern with great beds, TV, a good shower and a bath. Our deal, which we bought off the Mainstay Hotels website, included breakfast. I note that some of the reviews of this place from 4 or 5 years ago don't say nice things about the breakfast with one couple only getting one and a half pieces of toast between them! Trust me, things have changed. We were given 10 pieces of toast between the two of us and then offered more after we finished those. The breakfast we had was continental which can vary immensely but ours was good and consisted of a buffet choice of fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts, three different types canned fruit, with toast and coffee served at the table. Cooked breakfast is also available but not with our deal although we could have upgraded.
Even though it isn't the poshest hotel I have ever stayed at, it was probably the service from the friendly staff which has made me score it five stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blangley16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerw Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Very easy weekend away. I was welcomed by name even before I got to the reception desk and the unit we had was modern, clean,spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was good - i had the basic breakfast and got a free 4 cup plunger of fresh coffee just by being there. We will definitely return. The TV was good but sort of expected SKY sports - no SKY.

Room Tip: The exteriors are themed = we stayed in The Lockup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham sussex
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Large room with kitchenette.Hotel was very clean didn't like the energy saving light bulbs made everything very gloomy. Thought the outside was very dated.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We just stayed a single night. I really couldn't say anything negative about this place. The service at check-in was warm & friendly, the room was VERY clean and the beds really comfortable. We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on that. We stayed in a room with two queen beds, there was a decent sized TV and a reasonable amount of room.

All in all - this was great value for money and I would happily come back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife and I spent two nights here as part of a three week tour of NZ. We bought the tour as a package - so although we saw lots of hotels we can't comment on individual hotel's value.

The Village Inn is a motel style establishment in a quiet area about 150yds from the shops and also from the lake front. The motel is styled to look like a village with a series of 'shopfronts' over each unit and a fake well in the middle of the car park. My wife thought it nice, but I felt that it needed a coat of paint - things looked faded by the sun.

Inside the units are spacious and comfortably furmished - not luxury but they had everything we needed. Our unit had a kitchenette which proved useful. Everything was clean and tidy but nothing out of the ordinary. I felt it could do with updating but my wife wondered if they were consciously mimicing the '50s.

But we had a couple of comfortable nights, the shower worked well, water was hot and the bed was comfy. There were lots of energy saving lights - perhaps the overall effect was a little dim though.

We weren't disturbed by noise from the other units. The second night, the Village inn seemed relatively empty but the first night there seemed to be a couple of coach parties in - but they had no impact on us.

We didn't use the restaurant. The first night it was closed and breakfast was too late for us to comfortably catch our early trip start. Instead we had a pleasant walk across the park to the shopping area where there are plenty of restaurants.

Check in/out was very quick. The single member of staff we spoke to was pleasant and friendly. Service was fine therefore although they forgot our wake up call.

So a decision on whether this is the right place for you depends on the price you're quoted: there are plenty of alternatives if it's not good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dai_the_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Arrived on a very wet and windy day. Rooms very spacious and with full bathroom and lots of kitchen facilities. Short walk into Te Anau, a quiet street away from any crowds. We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was quite pricey, pity they didn't do bar type meals or some lighter options as we would then have used them rather than walk into town. Because of how it is set up you don't really see any of the staff or other guests unless you go over to the main building.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gouldsDerby_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
#23 of 23 in Te Anau
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 23 in Te Anau
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.4 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Hotel

Property: Village Inn Hotel
Address: 9 Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern and unique hotel creates a feeling of 'stepping back in time' with its carefully recreated Pioneer Village facades and is within walking distance of the lake shore and town centre. Options include studio rooms, deluxe rooms, family units with kitchens and inter-connecting rooms, a disabled access unit and luxury penthouse honeymoon suite complete with spa bath and stereo system. There is also a laundry room for guest use, restaurant and bar and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Village Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing