We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village Inn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arran Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Motel Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakefront Lodge(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Motel & Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
23
51
44
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
51
44
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge desk areanew zealandbit dateddoor stepkitchenette facilitiestea coffee making facilitiesown bathroomcomfortable bedshort walkthe main streetshops and restaurantsvisiting milford soundshort staygood sizea great place to stayclose to townkepler track
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The Village Inn of Te Anau is quaint and quirky – the outside of the buildings designed to look like an old-time village square (complete with wishing well). As one of the few actual motels of our journey (we're mostly staying in Backpackers/hostels) the interior seemed almost luxurious. Our own bathroom and shower! Even a kitchen (pity we had nothing to cook)! We even managed to enjoy a little television. The lighting, however, was very poor with the ceiling lights casting only small pools of pale radiance. They do aim for eco-friendly bulbs, but there was not even a desk lamp on the corner desk. The bed was very comfortable, and I enjoyed a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed in 7 different hotels during our trip to New Zealand, and this place was 1 of the 2 places we weren't happy with. We were one of the first guests to arrive for that evening, with the parking lot empty, but were given what has to be the worst room they had--we wish we would have asked for a different room. It was the room in the dark cobweb filled corner next to the laundry, which made us unhappy before we even went in. The room appeared clean, was large, and the bathroom had an actual bath tub instead of just a shower. The bathroom was an odd mix of old and new--the white sink and tub appeared new and modern, but the yellowed flooring and gold colored toilet (in a poorly lit closet) looked old. Each time this toilet was flushed, it sprayed a lot of water all over the seat--so it had to be wiped off each time it was used and probably wasn't sanitary. The shower had a weak spray in a wide circle pattern which was worthless for washing my thick head of hair. The room had an unpleasant smell, and there was a spider in the corner of the ceiling. The bedspread was shabby, being threadbare in spots, and the decor was dated (circa 1980's). All the lighting was in the ceiling (can lights) with cobwebs in a couple fixtures and a burned out bulb. We also had some noise due to people using the laundry. The hotel on the outside had "storefronts" on each room, which some might think is cute but I thought it was kinda cheesy--and was located within walking distance to the city center. It is not a pretty town, the only reason we stayed here was because we were driving to Milford Sound ourselves and wanted the shorter drive from Te Anau versus a long drive from Queenstown.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you that room in the corner next to the laundry.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Big room, clean toilet/bathroom. 5 minutes walk to lake and city center. We got a day's wifi for $5. Breakfast was simple but nice, freshly cooked upon order.
There is fish and chips place called MAINLY SEAFOOD, a caravan by the lake which sells very fresh and wide variety of seafood.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yim1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Rooms are individually named as village stores etc together making up The Village. Different and interesting! Rooms are spacious and comfortable.

Breakfast and dinner were good.

An interesting place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TowerTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

As others have comment this was quirky and we really liked it. the units were spacious and it was really helpful to be able to park directly outside our store! The bathroom was modern and the shower was good and powerful. I was surprised to see some of the reviews describing it as dated as I found it modern. The staff were friendly and helpful.

We had continental breakfast included in our rate and it was pretty good. On both days we were offered the opportunity to upgrade to a full breakfast and decided to take that option on the second day, and found it to be pretty good too.

Everything is only a short walk away in Te Anau so it really was only a short walk down to the lake or through to the main street with the shops and restaurants. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonClaireW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews