We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice, bit dated”
Review of Village Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Inn Hotel
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This room was spacious, comfortable, plenty of parking. The interior seemed a bit dated but this kind of added to charm. No nice views but on the doorstep of paradise it doesn't matter. It was good value and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to review 'The Village'. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your time spent in Fiordland. It really is a special place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Best thing of the hotel is the service: there were always really friendly people at the reception, ready to help you for any needs. Our room was indeed tired and needed renovation, but overall clean and spacious. The hotel itself is quite funny, replicating a old NZ village with even a fake well in the middle. Very close to the centre and considering the prices in Te Anau, also quite good value for money. Recommended for people looking for not expensive accommodations.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elipuccioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here part of APT tour very grubby and dated bathroom was awful. Bath tap got stuck on had to call for help, loathed this motel needs an upgrade food was only average. Avoid at all costs. Not what we expected on a tour.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beware821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have had a considerable number of tours stay with us and the overall feedback received is very positive. We regret that you did not bring your concerns to the management's attention during your stay. We are very committed to quests satisfaction and the opportunity to rectify any issue during your stay would have been appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I did a review for this hotel and it was put on resturant site my fault i think.but if you havent seen it let me just say to you the reader do not miss staying here. It is a wonderful magical place with great front on a lot of the buildings showing various themes and styles,my friend in aa noticed me standing outside the temperance building and had a good laugh.oh yes the food the staff ect ect were all top class .if you have kids they will love this place. also the snow caped peaks are also very close to hand .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimoc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hi

thanks so much for your review. We are so pleased when guests see the fun side of 'The Village'.
And the lovely comments on staff and food mean we must all be on the right track to providing a good service to our guests.
If you are ever back this way, we would look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards
Anita Bull
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

After remarking many times during our stay in New Zealand that some of the little towns we stopped in reminded us of a Western Town (Cowboy) We arrived at the Village Inn and loved the quirky nature of it at first site. We stayed in the "Bank" a beautiful comfortable room and hotel is located in a quiet spot but within easy reach of town.Food was excellent and service great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hi

thanks so much for your very positive comments on your stay with us at 'The Village".
We do love it when guests enjoy the difference between our themed little village and most other ordinary hotels.
Do look us up if you are ever back in Te Anau.

kind regards
Anita Bull
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stopped at for 1 night in March 2013 in a twin room.

Summary
A quaint and quirky hotel, somewhat different from the normal style of hotel you would expect to stop in outside of a theme park. Located in a quiet area of town and within easy walking distance from the main town and facilities.

This review is based on my stay in room 808 which is on the ground floor.

The rooms amenities include: 2x double beds, electric blankets, hairdryers, iron & board, tea and coffee making facilities with kettle, mugs, wine glasses & bottle opener, fridge, TV.

Hotel amenities include:- Restaurant, laundry room (NZ$5 -£2.63- per load), wifi access.

Located with walking distance (5 mins) of Lake Te Anau and the town centre, adjacent to a local park.

The Village Inn Hotel is designed with an old wild west (or gold mining town) facade, which brings a bit of excitement after stopping in several hotels lacking in personality on my road trip around New Zealand.

My room (808) which is the general store, is a large, comfortable and clean room. There is no private outdoors area, but however there is plenty of seating areas in side the room. There is also a car parking space directly in front of your room.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and is cooked to order, with a selection of eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, tomatoes, beans, toast, tea and coffee. There is a continental selection in buffet style.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TortMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hi

Your response was so detailed and positive, we were very happy to received it.
Also we can see this would be very helpful to any travellers heading towards Te Anau.
Thank you so much, we are always pleased when guests have a good stay with us, that's what being in this industry is all about.

kind regards
Anita Bull
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We booked in here for one night while in Te Anau. While the Village Inn describes itself as a hotel, I would describe it more as a classic New Zealand motel (this is meant as a good thing!)which has been converted/upgraded in a number of ways. Positive points about our room were that it had a modern decor/interior and the importantly the room was clean.

Notable additional features of the Village Inn (over and above a basic motel) were a restaurant and bar area and a slightly quirky series of individual colonial style frontages on many of the rooms. For example, we "stayed in" the Te Anau Outfitting Emporium as that was the frontage of our room. Presumably the owners are trying to bring to mind the old gold rush era days of the region. Depending on your perspective, this makes the rooms either an interesting novelty or slightly tacky (possibly harsh - but everyone's tastes differ).

The staff were professional and helpful, other positives were that we had a carpark right outside our room (not an uncommon set-up with NZ motels) and it was an easy 5 minute walk to the centre of town, restaurants etc. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant, which was adequate.

There is a Fresh Choice supermarket about 5-10 mins walk away if you were staying a few days and wanted to use the kitchenette facilities in the room for your own cooking.

Overall, we have no complaints about the Village Inn - it was a decent place to stay. Don't expect an international style chain hotel (as some reviewers appeared to be expecting), because you'll be disappointed. If you're expecting a clean, relatively modern motel with a bit of quirky charm and a few extra hotel-style facilities then you should have a happy stay!

Room Tip: Our superior room had a king size bed and was quite spacious, worth getting the dearer room if the j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 22 in Te Anau
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
#22 of 22 in Te Anau
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Parklands Motel
Parklands Motel
#17 of 22 in Te Anau
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Hotel

Address: 9 Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £54 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern and unique hotel creates a feeling of 'stepping back in time' with its carefully recreated Pioneer Village facades and is within walking distance of the lake shore and town centre. Options include studio rooms, deluxe rooms, family units with kitchens and inter-connecting rooms, a disabled access unit and luxury penthouse honeymoon suite complete with spa bath and stereo system. There is also a laundry room for guest use, restaurant and bar and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Village Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing