We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Treasure in Te Anau” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prospect Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospect Lodge B&B
Ranked #11 of 28 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Clarendon Hills, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Treasure in Te Anau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Prospect Lodge B&B deserves a #1 rating in every way. As you will see in others' reviews, it is a gorgeous house inside and out, there are incredible views from the rooms/property,and the breakfasts are amazing. But most importantly, the hosts, Joan and Ross, welcome you in a way that makes you feel as if you have known them a long time. The rooms are luxurious and include a small refrigerator (for your complimentary wine!), milk for your coffee/tea making (also provided), heavenly pillows/beds, and first rate bathrooms with amazing showers facilities. We came to this area to visit Doubtful Sound, but it was hard to tear ourselves away from the breathtaking vistas of mountains and lake from our room (also seen in the commons areas) and also, conversations with Joan and Ross. As I look at each of our photos from here, I reflect on the memories of a most incredible experience to have stayed with Joan and Ross at their heavenly Prospect Lodge B&B!!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, both lovely, but if you want views on 2 sides, choose the corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationDuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We do love to ensure our guests feel completely relaxed with a bit of luxury and a few treats to enjoy, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. If you had any great photos to post here or on our Facebook page, we love to see how others view our B&B.
thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards
Joan & Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BC Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

You must stay here if in Te Anau...because Joan and Ross are warm, generous caring hosts, who go out of their way to make sure you are lacking for nothing. Superb design and art vibrate throughout their lodge,
Breakfast is relaxed, and divine.
Rooms are romantic, beds are so comfortable, and the bathrooms quite decadent.
We really didn't want to leave after four days, but will return.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equal...super view over lake Te Anou...and if you are lucky you can watch the cows be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

My jaw dropped when I saw this place and the view of the lake. The place is out of a design magazine. Only two guest rooms makes it peaceful. The owners (Joan and Ross) of this B and B were friendly and were great company. Joan drove us to the downtown restaurants and picked us up after dinner since we didn't have a car. She also made the best breakfast.
The rooms and decor were so comfortable I didn't want to leave. This place was the highpoint of my NZ trip. Never to be forgotten.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We were expecting a B&B and were blown away by this boutique hotel experience. The room and bathroom were exquisitely laid out with stunning views of the lake. Enhancing the wonderful physical setting was our hosts' warmth and obvious enjoyment of bringing guests into their home. Personal touches abounded, with turndown service, fresh truffles, and a complimentary bottle of wine being only some of the details that helped to make this the best place we stayed during our trip to New Zealand. The food was tremendous, with an impressive selection of home-made breakfast dishes and a simply sumptuous dinner platter of lamb and roasted vegetables. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay - we can't recommend Prospect Lodge B&B highly enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theoraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

What a gem. My husband and I can't stop talking about Prospect Lodge. We just finished a three-week tour of New Zealand's South island and Prospect was definitely our favorite place. The home was beautifully designed - the architecture, the small touches with decorating, the gardens and the views were all spectacular. We had the corner room with huge floor to ceiling windows - it was like living in a glass box in one of the most beautiful places on earth.

But the building and decorating was not the best part - the best part was spending time with Ross and Joan (and Ruby, the cat with the best purr ever). One of my favorite evenings in New Zealand was spent chatting with them for a few hours, watching the rain fall (and fall) and discussing world travels, our family histories and New Zealand. Ross tells some great stories - we would have stayed all night to talk if we hadn't been hungry for dinner in town.

When the time came, we did not want to leave. It just means that we'll have to be back some day. Thanks Ross and Joan for sharing your lovely home with all of us. If you are stopping by Te Anau, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent two lovely days and night at this architectural well designed modern and really beautiful house. All the materials, the colours and even the greyish curtains and the white linnen bedcovers are very very tastful. And the I didn't speak yet about the garden, and the views. The garden is a work in progress , so in a few years I am sure it will be like Sissinghurst in New Zealand.
Joan and Ross are bothe lovely hosts. It is nice talking with them about their experience in de Farm Homestead, and about cooking and gardening.
A complimentary good quality Central Otago Pinot Noir, home made cookies and on the second day home made truffles as a surpise in the fridge and fresh flowers (lathyrus, snowpeas?) in the room, it all is really worthwile.
The views over the lake and the surrounding mountains, the silence is very relaxing. We would have stayed preferably another week, were it not for the gourmet breakfast and the wine and cheese before dinner. I would be very much affraid of gaining a lot of weight.
Thank you Joan!

Room Tip: The room at the corner has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you to stay at Prospect Lodge and we are very glad that you enjoyed your time. Hope you have a safe trip!
Kind regards
Joan & Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We hadn’t planned on spending as much on our room as we did in Te Anau, but went ahead with the Prospect Lodge B&B based on the advice of some friends. We certainly weren’t let down. Some lovely NZ touches, a great environment and superb hosting. The work and care that’s gone into this place is obvious in every facet. If we made a habit of touring the S. Island (we should be so lucky!), we’d be back here in a shot.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waikatonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
2.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
3.3 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 28 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Lodge B&B

Property: Prospect Lodge B&B
Address: 452 Manapouri-Te Anau Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Mt Prospect Station)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prospect Lodge is owned by Ross & Joan Cockburn from Mt Prospect Station and the former Mt Prospect High Country Homestay. Following the loss of their well known homestead to fire in 2007, Ross & Joan have rebuilt on their farmland overlooking Lake Te Anau. This new lodge, opened in 2011, continues to offer the same fantastic service and luxurious comfort offered previously, only situated on a ridge overlooking Lake Te Anau, the Te Anau township and the mountains of Fiordland, a view that takes your breath away. With two beautifully appointed guest rooms with lake views and private terraces, en-suite bathrooms and luxury bedding, the Lodge is a fabulous place to base yourself while visiting Milford or Fiordland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing