We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
65
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest rooms lovely daughter new zealand nice hosts memorable stay milford sound view of the lake joan luxury canapes town hostess
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed two nights in this magnificent location. Prospect Lodge is an amazing modern building with only two guest rooms. The room was spacious with huge windows overlooking the lake and the mountains beyond. The owners were away so we were welcomed by their daughter Rebecca and her partner Chris who ensured that our stay was happy and very comfortable. We met her brother's family & friends over a glass or two of wine and enjoyed a convivial evening before going into the nearby town for dinner. Excellent breakfast in the beautiful living area of the Lodge. A very happy stay.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AScottyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We were disappointed to miss you, but know that Rebecca and Chris really enjoyed hosting you and that you were in good hands. Would love to meet you if you are ever back this way. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Kind regards
Joan & Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Prospect Lodge is exactly what we were looking for when we got to Te Anau this past January. Not only was it a beautiful spot to relax and end our New Zealand vacation, it was also great to have such welcoming hosts. Joan & Ross offered us a glass of wine and great conversation when we arrived and then were even kind enough to pick us up and drop us off for our hike on the Kepler track. They are also very helpful with tips in the area!

Also, prospect lodge is filled with small touches that make it an extra special stay - in particular, the beds are amazing, the breakfast is delicious and the bottle of wine is fantastic.

Many many thanks to Prospect Lodge - it's a great place to stay! (and apologies it has taken me so long to write this review!)

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you for such kind words! We really enjoyed your company. We enjoy going the extra mile for our guests, as we know what it feels like to travel, and it makes such a difference if people genuinely care about things.
And sorry it has taken me so long to respond!
Many thanks again
Kind regards
Joan & Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night at Prospect Lodge but it was really lovely and one of best places we have stayed in New Zealand. A true 'Boutique' B & B. Joan & Ross open their unique home to visitors and make you feel very welcome. The rooms (only 2) are straight out of Beautiful Homes magazine with everything you need and more. Fantastic views, beautiful bathrooms, comfy, large beds, tea,coffee & cakes, even wine, what more can you ask for!! Then Joan cooks a lovely breakfast if you want or provides fresh fruit, croissants etc. So many lodgings in New Zealand but very few of this standard even the supposed 5* - well done!!

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggyhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Wow, thank you for your very generous review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We are very lucky to have such a good spot for our B&B overlooking the lake. We hope you might come back sometime and spend a bit more time so you can really relax and soak up the views!

thank you again
Kind regards
Joan & Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Prospect Lodge B&B deserves a #1 rating in every way. As you will see in others' reviews, it is a gorgeous house inside and out, there are incredible views from the rooms/property,and the breakfasts are amazing. But most importantly, the hosts, Joan and Ross, welcome you in a way that makes you feel as if you have known them a long time. The rooms are luxurious and include a small refrigerator (for your complimentary wine!), milk for your coffee/tea making (also provided), heavenly pillows/beds, and first rate bathrooms with amazing showers facilities. We came to this area to visit Doubtful Sound, but it was hard to tear ourselves away from the breathtaking vistas of mountains and lake from our room (also seen in the commons areas) and also, conversations with Joan and Ross. As I look at each of our photos from here, I reflect on the memories of a most incredible experience to have stayed with Joan and Ross at their heavenly Prospect Lodge B&B!!

Room tip: There are only 2 rooms, both lovely, but if you want views on 2 sides, choose the corner room.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationDuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! We do love to ensure our guests feel completely relaxed with a bit of luxury and a few treats to enjoy, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. If you had any great photos to post here or on our Facebook page, we love to see how others view our B&B.
thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards
Joan & Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

You must stay here if in Te Anau...because Joan and Ross are warm, generous caring hosts, who go out of their way to make sure you are lacking for nothing. Superb design and art vibrate throughout their lodge,
Breakfast is relaxed, and divine.
Rooms are romantic, beds are so comfortable, and the bathrooms quite decadent.
We really didn't want to leave after four days, but will return.

Room tip: Both rooms are equal...super view over lake Te Anou...and if you are lucky you can watch the cows being worked by the sheepdogs
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews