We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very luxory accomodation with a breathtaking view”
Review of Prospect Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospect Lodge B&B
Ranked #11 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Bad Kissingen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very luxory accomodation with a breathtaking view”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We enjoyed the very warm welcome by our hosts and the service including the breakfast has been excellent!
The house and the accomodation are very nice, very comfortable and the view over the Lake Te Anau and the mountains is something very special, which one should not miss!
The lodge is a little bit outside of Te Anau in pure nature and on a little hill with no neighbours near by.
We enjoyed very much every day of our stay.
J. Sand, Germany

Room Tip: the room at the corner-side is the best, but also the other rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juergen_sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is the most gorgeous B&B I've every stayed in. The setting with views of the mountain and Lake is fabulous; the design and feel of the house is smart and comfortable; and the hosts are fabulous (friendly, knowledgable, not intrusive). We stayed here for our honeymoon in January and it was just heavenly: private, tranquil, spacious, beautiful toiletries in the bathroom, delicious breakfasts, homemade cookies for treats, great deck and grassy area to drink wine and play frisbee. I would not hesitate in recommending.

Room Tip: Consider how you'll get into town for dinner. No taxi service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateMary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This has to be one of the best B&B places we have stayed in.Perfect setting after drive from Queenstown and boat trip on Milford Sound.
Joan & Ross were delightful people and nothing was too much trouble , they were a wealth of information regarding the area and it was like being away with friends. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All rooms have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiecresswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really enjoyed your company.
Kind regards, Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed two nights in this magnificent location. Prospect Lodge is an amazing modern building with only two guest rooms. The room was spacious with huge windows overlooking the lake and the mountains beyond. The owners were away so we were welcomed by their daughter Rebecca and her partner Chris who ensured that our stay was happy and very comfortable. We met her brother's family & friends over a glass or two of wine and enjoyed a convivial evening before going into the nearby town for dinner. Excellent breakfast in the beautiful living area of the Lodge. A very happy stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AScottyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We were disappointed to miss you, but know that Rebecca and Chris really enjoyed hosting you and that you were in good hands. Would love to meet you if you are ever back this way. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Kind regards
Joan & Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Prospect Lodge is exactly what we were looking for when we got to Te Anau this past January. Not only was it a beautiful spot to relax and end our New Zealand vacation, it was also great to have such welcoming hosts. Joan & Ross offered us a glass of wine and great conversation when we arrived and then were even kind enough to pick us up and drop us off for our hike on the Kepler track. They are also very helpful with tips in the area!

Also, prospect lodge is filled with small touches that make it an extra special stay - in particular, the beds are amazing, the breakfast is delicious and the bottle of wine is fantastic.

Many many thanks to Prospect Lodge - it's a great place to stay! (and apologies it has taken me so long to write this review!)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you for such kind words! We really enjoyed your company. We enjoy going the extra mile for our guests, as we know what it feels like to travel, and it makes such a difference if people genuinely care about things.
And sorry it has taken me so long to respond!
Many thanks again
Kind regards
Joan & Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night at Prospect Lodge but it was really lovely and one of best places we have stayed in New Zealand. A true 'Boutique' B & B. Joan & Ross open their unique home to visitors and make you feel very welcome. The rooms (only 2) are straight out of Beautiful Homes magazine with everything you need and more. Fantastic views, beautiful bathrooms, comfy, large beds, tea,coffee & cakes, even wine, what more can you ask for!! Then Joan cooks a lovely breakfast if you want or provides fresh fruit, croissants etc. So many lodgings in New Zealand but very few of this standard even the supposed 5* - well done!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggyhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Wow, thank you for your very generous review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We are very lucky to have such a good spot for our B&B overlooking the lake. We hope you might come back sometime and spend a bit more time so you can really relax and soak up the views!

thank you again
Kind regards
Joan & Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon Hills, IL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Prospect Lodge B&B deserves a #1 rating in every way. As you will see in others' reviews, it is a gorgeous house inside and out, there are incredible views from the rooms/property,and the breakfasts are amazing. But most importantly, the hosts, Joan and Ross, welcome you in a way that makes you feel as if you have known them a long time. The rooms are luxurious and include a small refrigerator (for your complimentary wine!), milk for your coffee/tea making (also provided), heavenly pillows/beds, and first rate bathrooms with amazing showers facilities. We came to this area to visit Doubtful Sound, but it was hard to tear ourselves away from the breathtaking vistas of mountains and lake from our room (also seen in the commons areas) and also, conversations with Joan and Ross. As I look at each of our photos from here, I reflect on the memories of a most incredible experience to have stayed with Joan and Ross at their heavenly Prospect Lodge B&B!!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, both lovely, but if you want views on 2 sides, choose the corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationDuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We do love to ensure our guests feel completely relaxed with a bit of luxury and a few treats to enjoy, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. If you had any great photos to post here or on our Facebook page, we love to see how others view our B&B.
thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards
Joan & Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
2.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
372 reviews
2.6 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
2.3 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Lodge B&B

Property: Prospect Lodge B&B
Address: 452 Manapouri-Te Anau Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Mt Prospect Station)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prospect Lodge is owned by Ross & Joan Cockburn from Mt Prospect Station and the former Mt Prospect High Country Homestay. Following the loss of their well known homestead to fire in 2007, Ross & Joan have rebuilt on their farmland overlooking Lake Te Anau. This new lodge, opened in 2011, continues to offer the same fantastic service and luxurious comfort offered previously, only situated on a ridge overlooking Lake Te Anau, the Te Anau township and the mountains of Fiordland, a view that takes your breath away. With two beautifully appointed guest rooms with lake views and private terraces, en-suite bathrooms and luxury bedding, the Lodge is a fabulous place to base yourself while visiting Milford or Fiordland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing