We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bed & Breakfast”
Review of Prospect Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prospect Lodge B&B
Ranked #10 of 30 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The lodge and the rooms were beautiful and the views will take your breath away. Joan is a fantastic cook, so I recommend opting for at least one dinner prepared by her. The hosts are wonderful people and can provide a lot information about touring the area. The location also allowed for a 2 hour drive 1-way to Milford Sound. The lodge is also child friendly and the rooms were spacious and can easily accommodate an extra bed for a family of 3.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

We enjoyed the very warm welcome by our hosts and the service including the breakfast has been excellent!
The house and the accomodation are very nice, very comfortable and the view over the Lake Te Anau and the mountains is something very special, which one should not miss!
The lodge is a little bit outside of Te Anau in pure nature and on a little hill with no neighbours near by.
We enjoyed very much every day of our stay.
J. Sand, Germany

Room Tip: the room at the corner-side is the best, but also the other rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juergen_sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is the most gorgeous B&B I've every stayed in. The setting with views of the mountain and Lake is fabulous; the design and feel of the house is smart and comfortable; and the hosts are fabulous (friendly, knowledgable, not intrusive). We stayed here for our honeymoon in January and it was just heavenly: private, tranquil, spacious, beautiful toiletries in the bathroom, delicious breakfasts, homemade cookies for treats, great deck and grassy area to drink wine and play frisbee. I would not hesitate in recommending.

Room Tip: Consider how you'll get into town for dinner. No taxi service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateMary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This has to be one of the best B&B places we have stayed in.Perfect setting after drive from Queenstown and boat trip on Milford Sound.
Joan & Ross were delightful people and nothing was too much trouble , they were a wealth of information regarding the area and it was like being away with friends. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All rooms have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiecresswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really enjoyed your company.
Kind regards, Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed two nights in this magnificent location. Prospect Lodge is an amazing modern building with only two guest rooms. The room was spacious with huge windows overlooking the lake and the mountains beyond. The owners were away so we were welcomed by their daughter Rebecca and her partner Chris who ensured that our stay was happy and very comfortable. We met her brother's family & friends over a glass or two of wine and enjoyed a convivial evening before going into the nearby town for dinner. Excellent breakfast in the beautiful living area of the Lodge. A very happy stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AScottyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We were disappointed to miss you, but know that Rebecca and Chris really enjoyed hosting you and that you were in good hands. Would love to meet you if you are ever back this way. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Kind regards
Joan & Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Prospect Lodge is exactly what we were looking for when we got to Te Anau this past January. Not only was it a beautiful spot to relax and end our New Zealand vacation, it was also great to have such welcoming hosts. Joan & Ross offered us a glass of wine and great conversation when we arrived and then were even kind enough to pick us up and drop us off for our hike on the Kepler track. They are also very helpful with tips in the area!

Also, prospect lodge is filled with small touches that make it an extra special stay - in particular, the beds are amazing, the breakfast is delicious and the bottle of wine is fantastic.

Many many thanks to Prospect Lodge - it's a great place to stay! (and apologies it has taken me so long to write this review!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you for such kind words! We really enjoyed your company. We enjoy going the extra mile for our guests, as we know what it feels like to travel, and it makes such a difference if people genuinely care about things.
And sorry it has taken me so long to respond!
Many thanks again
Kind regards
Joan & Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night at Prospect Lodge but it was really lovely and one of best places we have stayed in New Zealand. A true 'Boutique' B & B. Joan & Ross open their unique home to visitors and make you feel very welcome. The rooms (only 2) are straight out of Beautiful Homes magazine with everything you need and more. Fantastic views, beautiful bathrooms, comfy, large beds, tea,coffee & cakes, even wine, what more can you ask for!! Then Joan cooks a lovely breakfast if you want or provides fresh fruit, croissants etc. So many lodgings in New Zealand but very few of this standard even the supposed 5* - well done!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggyhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Wow, thank you for your very generous review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We are very lucky to have such a good spot for our B&B overlooking the lake. We hope you might come back sometime and spend a bit more time so you can really relax and soak up the views!

thank you again
Kind regards
Joan & Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
2.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
3.2 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dock Bay Lodge
Dock Bay Lodge
#6 of 30 in Te Anau
162 reviews
3 mi away
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Lodge B&B

Address: 452 Manapouri-Te Anau Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Mt Prospect Station)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: £217 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prospect Lodge is owned by Ross & Joan Cockburn from Mt Prospect Station and the former Mt Prospect High Country Homestay. Following the loss of their well known homestead to fire in 2007, Ross & Joan have rebuilt on their farmland overlooking Lake Te Anau. This new lodge, opened in 2011, continues to offer the same fantastic service and luxurious comfort offered previously, only situated on a ridge overlooking Lake Te Anau, the Te Anau township and the mountains of Fiordland, a view that takes your breath away. With two beautifully appointed guest rooms with lake views and private terraces, en-suite bathrooms and luxury bedding, the Lodge is a fabulous place to base yourself while visiting Milford or Fiordland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Prospect Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing