We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a view”
Review of Prospect Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospect Lodge B&B
Ranked #9 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This new architect designed house is perched on a hill and looks out over Lake Te Anau to provide a breathtaking view - it was wonderful to wake up to. The accomodation was spendid - comfortable and to the highest standards, and Joan was an excellent hostess providing tips on where to eat and what to do as well a storing our luggage while we went off on an overnight stay on Doubtful sound. Good to be out of town as short distance too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notsofat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Prospect Lodge B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were blown away when we drove up the driveway to Prospect Lodge, the views from up on the hill are amazing not to mention the house is architecturally stunning. The owners Joan and Ross are very welcoming and their cat Ruby is very friendly too. They have done all the great walks and activities in the area and were very knowledgeable on the best places to explore. The room was unbelievably warm in the afternoon sun and it was the most gorgeous view from the bed to wake up to. Joan and Ross made sure we were well fed (very well fed and watered....) and had some good stories to tell. We had dinner in their sheltered outdoor fireplace area and it was simply divine, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ltreseder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

After the flight and drive from Queenstown, this B&B was absolutely a delight to drive into. The lodge is tucked away from the highway by a few rolling hills and the view is absolutely breathtaking coming around the final bend! Unfortunately the weather didn't co-operate with our visit to the area but even on a cloudy/rainy day the view was amazing! The lodge also is contemporary but blends well with the surroundings. We loved that the guest rooms were set off in a little wing separate from the rest of the house. Joan and Ross are wonderful hosts and will go out of their way to help you have the best stay and Joan is good cook. They had some great recommendations for us of things to do and see in the area. We would recommend having at least one dinner as Joan puts on quite the delicious spread!

Also, for those seeing the sites around Fiordland, the lodge is within a two hour drive one way from many of the areas best attractions. And after those drives (and with wet weather like we had), it was quite relaxing to come back to this comfortable lodge and curl up and enjoy the fire or a movie! We did not envy those at all that we saw going around in tour coaches or driving to/from Queenstown. Also staying closer to the areas attractions, we were able to get on earlier excursions without as many people!!!

This lodge is well thought out and a fantastic gem to have found to stay in! We would definitely stay here again if we are down in the South Island again and would highly recommend staying here to anyone! We stayed here for our delayed honeymoon/first anniversary. (Slight hint - if you have allergies, make sure to bring medication, I am allergic to cats and had a slight problem but thankfully the other guests were kind enough to give me a few allergy pills! Also during parts of the year the blooming plants of the area can be quite strong!)

Room Tip: Both rooms have great views of the lake. The corner room does have an extra window on the side, but...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suz519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The lodge and the rooms were beautiful and the views will take your breath away. Joan is a fantastic cook, so I recommend opting for at least one dinner prepared by her. The hosts are wonderful people and can provide a lot information about touring the area. The location also allowed for a 2 hour drive 1-way to Milford Sound. The lodge is also child friendly and the rooms were spacious and can easily accommodate an extra bed for a family of 3.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We enjoyed the very warm welcome by our hosts and the service including the breakfast has been excellent!
The house and the accomodation are very nice, very comfortable and the view over the Lake Te Anau and the mountains is something very special, which one should not miss!
The lodge is a little bit outside of Te Anau in pure nature and on a little hill with no neighbours near by.
We enjoyed very much every day of our stay.
J. Sand, Germany

Room Tip: the room at the corner-side is the best, but also the other rooms are very nice
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juergen_sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is the most gorgeous B&B I've every stayed in. The setting with views of the mountain and Lake is fabulous; the design and feel of the house is smart and comfortable; and the hosts are fabulous (friendly, knowledgable, not intrusive). We stayed here for our honeymoon in January and it was just heavenly: private, tranquil, spacious, beautiful toiletries in the bathroom, delicious breakfasts, homemade cookies for treats, great deck and grassy area to drink wine and play frisbee. I would not hesitate in recommending.

Room Tip: Consider how you'll get into town for dinner. No taxi service.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateMary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This has to be one of the best B&B places we have stayed in.Perfect setting after drive from Queenstown and boat trip on Milford Sound.
Joan & Ross were delightful people and nothing was too much trouble , they were a wealth of information regarding the area and it was like being away with friends. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All rooms have spectacular views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiecresswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiontour34, Owner at Prospect Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really enjoyed your company.
Kind regards, Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
2.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
617 reviews
3.3 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 29 in Te Anau
350 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dock Bay Lodge
Dock Bay Lodge
#5 of 29 in Te Anau
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Lodge B&B

Address: 452 Manapouri-Te Anau Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Mt Prospect Station)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: £221 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prospect Lodge is owned by Ross & Joan Cockburn from Mt Prospect Station and the former Mt Prospect High Country Homestay. Following the loss of their well known homestead to fire in 2007, Ross & Joan have rebuilt on their farmland overlooking Lake Te Anau. This new lodge, opened in 2011, continues to offer the same fantastic service and luxurious comfort offered previously, only situated on a ridge overlooking Lake Te Anau, the Te Anau township and the mountains of Fiordland, a view that takes your breath away. With two beautifully appointed guest rooms with lake views and private terraces, en-suite bathrooms and luxury bedding, the Lodge is a fabulous place to base yourself while visiting Milford or Fiordland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing