We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, well appointed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Modern, well appointed hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

The Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a smart, modern hotel. Our room was fairly large and comfortable. The hotel is centrally located - although Te Anau is sufficiently small that most of the hotels here could also be regarded as central. The hotel had a coin-operated laundry ($3 wash + $3 dry). We only used the hotel restaurant for our beakfasts, which were good. Internet access was quite expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jotheringman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 20 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that the facilities met your expectations. We do apologise that you found the internet slightly expensive, we will certainly take this feedback into account.

We sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    229
    145
    29
    15
See reviews for
94
302
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

We were headed for Milford Sound so we needed a stop over and this did the job well. Having stayed in some wonderful motels, this large hotel of 300 or so rooms was used to coach parties coming and going, so lacked character. As indeed did Te Anau. Did the job though at a reasonable price through Hotels.com

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarereviewerEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you for staying with us at Distinction Luxmore, and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate this feedback as it helps us to improve our service to guests.

We are sorry to hear that you felt the hotel lacked character, and that it was too busy for your liking. We strive to provide an excellent level of service to our guests, and it is saddening to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. I do apologise for this.

We hope that we can continue working on our customer service, and sincerely hope that you will consider staying with Distinction Hotels again.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of a coach tour and had a spacious room with a decent view.
As we had been travelling, we found he guest laundry to be very useful as we were able to carry on with the tour with clean clothes.
The breakfast buffet was very good with plenty to choose from. As part of a group we had a wonderful buffet meal for dinner with a wide choice of food. The desserts were to die for!
We were extremely happy with the service we received at this hotel and would stay there again without hesitation should the occasion arise.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAW_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionnpbh, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 27 February 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with Distinction Luxmore, and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you found the guest laundry useful, and enjoyed the food.

We strive to provide an excellent level of service to our guests, and we are very pleased that we met your expectations.

We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Distinction management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

This hotel seems to have three types of studio rooms: standard, superior, and deluxe. We chose the deluxe room (which is a bit more expensive than the standard room), and we found them to be very nice. Extremely large, with two queen beds, new bathroom. We looked at the pictures of standard/superior rooms from the website we made a booking and they seem to be more dated, which we believe that it is true looking from the less favourable reviews this hotel receives. But we found the deluxe rooms to be very nice. Thus, I recommend the deluxe room. It is only fractionally more expensive and the difference is worth it.

The hotel has two restaurants. Baileiz and a Japanese restaurant specialising in grilled Sticks (ie. yakitori bar). We had dinner at the Japanese restaurant and found them to be very good value for money ($3.50 for each yakitori serving which consists of 2 sticks of chicken in teriyaki sauce). We had about 6-7 servings each with rice and we enjoyed them. We also had dessert at Bailiez. It was very very nice, but the hotel should check the toilets in Bailiez restaurant regularly. It was very dirty when I wanted to use it. I had to leave the restaurant to use the toilet in the lobby instead because it was too dirty I didn't want to use it.

The hotel should also check its toilets in the reception area regularly. I once wanted to use it around 10 PM, and the toilet was very dirty I decided to go to use the toilet at the hotel next door instead. The room also has no air condition, but Te Anau is a cold city so that is probably not much of a problem.

Overall we recommend the deluxe room, and we recommend the hotel to check its toilets in the public area/restaurant regularly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitra001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionnpbh, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 27 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate this feedback, as it helps us to grow and continue improving the service we provide our guests.

It is a joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. The deluxe rooms are the pride of our recent renovations, and it is great to hear such positive feedback about them. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your meal at the Yakitori restaurant. We do however apologise that the toilets were not up to standard in Bailiez. The best thing we can receive is feedback on matters like these, and it is extremely helpful if guests notify us at the time.

Thank you for your recommendation, we strive to keep all areas clean, and we do apologise that this was not up to standard at the time of your stay.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

We stayed here as it had enough bedding for all of us, was disappointed their was no kitchen or kitchenette in the family suite, had a little bar fridge and a bench, with coffee making facilites, but no toaster or microwave. The main bed was separated from the other room, the bathroom was average but clean. The hotel is quite a big complex so it had a lot of rooms. The location was in a quiet spot and parking was available for free. The gym was a tread mill and rowing machine and that was pretty much it. We had buffet breakfast the price was a bit steep, but the food was ok. It says it is four star, but I would give it a three and half, so based on this I thought it was a bit overpriced for what you got. I cannot compare this to any other accommodation in Te- Anau, so I wouldn't not recommend to stay here as the options for accommodation are not that many. Beware of bus loads of tourist stay here. It can get noisy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwinoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
240 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in total - first 2 on the upper 3rd floor where not so nice but - the hotel is a little dated - and most apparent is this in the plumbing. So when in any of the adjacent rooms someone opens a tab or goes to the toilet - one can hear the noise in the own room - quite loud and all night - did not get any sleep as a matter of fact. The decor could do with a bit of a touch up but overall it is in a great location and clean and staff is certainly very helpful and friendly. On my last night I had a different room on the ground floor and that was much better - so I guess it just needs to be luck... perhaps request a room on the ground floor when you book. They have loads of groups staying there to - on average we counted 3-4 buses each night - that explains the big breakfast room.. Speaking of which - breakfast - on our 4 weeks trip in the South Island so far I would rate the breakfast there as the worst we had - not all bad but by no means good...testimony to all the groups I guess. The good thing about this place is it;s location - not even 2 min walk to the Real Journeys office where most tours to Milford and the Glow Worm Caves leave - so no need for a car...

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

Staff were rather unfriendly and seem more used to dealing with large tour groups - lots of grunts and nods. The hotel itself is very roomy but has zero aesthetic appeal. Hotel is rather ill-equipped, so no wifi and even no ironing board. It's okay and you will certainly survive there for a few days. I have no big complaints but I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Property: Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing