We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad wifi.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad wifi.”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

If you need to stay in touch, stay away. This is a hotel for the "bus people". It is full of groups of elderly on their last tour. The wifi is "free" in the lobby, but it doesn't work. I explained to the front desk that I was extremely frustrated and all she could say is that their connection wasn't very fast. In eight weeks of traveling, it was the most disappointing stay of my trip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for your bad experience with our WIFI facilities. We are in the process of updating our routers which should resolve the issue. Although we do have groups staying with us, a large part of our market are individual travellers like yourself as well. My apologies once again for not meeting your expectations on this instace. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    233
    145
    29
    15
See reviews for
94
305
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is right on the main shopping/dining street with ample parking. We stayed here for two nights and found it very comfortable. The room was clean and very quiet and the shower was excellent. Plenty of hot water. The staff were friendly and helpful. There's no wifi in the room, but you can go into the lobby and use the hotel supplied password to use the wifi there. Breakfasts are extra, and you can get a continental breakfast for NZ$11, and cold buffet (including hot oatmeal) for NZ$16 and a full hot breakfast buffet for, I think, NZ$22. The hotel is within easy walking distance to a supermarket across the street, Miles Pies, Cafe La Dolce Vita (wonderful dinner) and the Olive Tree Cafe (a very good breakfast alternative).

Room Tip: Since there's only wifi in the lobby, try and get a room on the ground floor. We were in room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimfromjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel comfortable. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the location. Thanks again for your compliments and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Spent two nights and found the hotel clean, friendly and conveniently situated in T e Anu. This was our second visit to the hotel, so that says it all! The rooms were clean and very comfortable with two large double beds. No view, but no noise either, and very easy and convenient to park. The staff were friendly and efficient, in fact a good hotel, in a good position and convenient for a trip to the Milford and Doubtful Sound.

Room Tip: We booked with wot if and got an automatic upgrade room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mod11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
On behalf of the hotel and staff I just wanted to thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor and am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us in Te Anau. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

After the desaster hotel in Queenstown, it was good to have been able to get an additional night before our original reservation.
Reception is a bit old fashioned, but gives you free internet. The pre ordered $ 15.00 breakfast buffet is a steal (25 if you did not pre order).

Nice, a bit outdated rooms, but they are large and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast upgrade special "is a steal" and guests seem to enjoy the extensive buffet selection. We hope to wecome you back again on your next visit to Te Anau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mossvale
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

just a stop over on our way to queenstown easy to find in the main street check in very speedy as was check out easy access for parking and taking bags from car stayed in room 239 which was a spa room very big in size bathroom big and had a refurb the spa was good checked out resturant which had a choice from buffet upstairs but opted for the bar/resturant bailies downstairs staff were very friendly&nice at both resturant good value for money big serves the only thing which was a hassel was no internet in room only downstairs was for free and no air con room did get hot at night coin operated washing machine&dryer

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are always striving to improve the stay experiences for our guests which includes internet. The hotel currently offers complimentary wireless internet in the lobby . It is hoped in the near future to also extend wireless to all guest rooms. Bailiez Cafe prides itself on having the largest meals in town with friendly service. Glad to know you experienced our southern hospitality. Look forward to wecoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Only stayed one night. arrived late , had an wonderful value dinner and staff were excellent as we were short of time to go to the Glow Worm Caves and it was only a short walk to board the boat from the hotel.Breakfast was fine and again staff helpful. Room and bathroom OK for a one night stay

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. Its great to know that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Our guest service is certainly a priority and a stand out feature of Distinction Luxmore. Look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithgow, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

stayed for one night, all the staff and the reception area was very nice. Room was smelly and dirty, pillows had been slept on, chairs smelt like wet dog, fridge was very noisy and drinking glasses had chips on the top.
Breakfast was great and the lady running the dining room was very friendly

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mocath_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I appreciate the positive comments about our friendly staff and reception area. I am however, very disappointed to read about the details of your room. We have raised this matter with the person incharge and preventive measures have been put in place to ensure this doesnt happen again.
My sincere apologies and we would love to have you stay with us again so we can make amends. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Property: Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing