We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We selected this property for our 3 week New Zealand vacation based upon Trip Advisor reviews and price—trying to find the “sweet spot”. We held all our reviews until the end of the trip in hopes of reasonable comparisons across the country, factoring in the standards we found typical in New Zealand (for example, free, unlimited internet is not the norm as it generally is in the US).

This is one of the few chain hotels we stayed in during our 3 week trip to NZ. We stayed at Luxmore based upon Trip Advisor reviews and price. In our opinion, it is not worth the premium to stay “on the lake” since Luxmore is one block away. If you can walk, you can enjoy the views for free. There’s also a very humble pub (The Moose) where you can take in the view for a modestly priced pint.

The hotel is fine, yet nothing special. Clean and comfortable, albeit a tad dated, it’s probably about as good as Te Anua has to offer. They cater to many tour buses, although that did not impact our stay at all. In fact, we checked in just as bus arrived and the manager was very conscientious about checking us in promptly.

The internet is free, but only available in the lobby. It met our casual needs, but was
unstable—meaning the signal was lost somewhat often. It would not be great for business users.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJVLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for your detailed review, we appreciate the time you have take to share your experience. W are pleased you had a comfortable stay. As mentioned, we currently have free WIFI in the lobby, but are looking at extending this service to guest rooms in the near future.

Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Situated right in the town center - perfect location. Rooms spacious and clean. Beds comfortable. Staff all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMB27958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Luxmore and leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad you had a FANTASTIC stay and enjoyed our friendly service, spacious rooms and central location.

Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed one night on a coach tour. This was one of the better hotels. Staff and food very good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbay449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad we could make your stay a memorable one. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

If you need to stay in touch, stay away. This is a hotel for the "bus people". It is full of groups of elderly on their last tour. The wifi is "free" in the lobby, but it doesn't work. I explained to the front desk that I was extremely frustrated and all she could say is that their connection wasn't very fast. In eight weeks of traveling, it was the most disappointing stay of my trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for your bad experience with our WIFI facilities. We are in the process of updating our routers which should resolve the issue. Although we do have groups staying with us, a large part of our market are individual travellers like yourself as well. My apologies once again for not meeting your expectations on this instace. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is right on the main shopping/dining street with ample parking. We stayed here for two nights and found it very comfortable. The room was clean and very quiet and the shower was excellent. Plenty of hot water. The staff were friendly and helpful. There's no wifi in the room, but you can go into the lobby and use the hotel supplied password to use the wifi there. Breakfasts are extra, and you can get a continental breakfast for NZ$11, and cold buffet (including hot oatmeal) for NZ$16 and a full hot breakfast buffet for, I think, NZ$22. The hotel is within easy walking distance to a supermarket across the street, Miles Pies, Cafe La Dolce Vita (wonderful dinner) and the Olive Tree Cafe (a very good breakfast alternative).

Room Tip: Since there's only wifi in the lobby, try and get a room on the ground floor. We were in room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimfromjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel comfortable. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the location. Thanks again for your compliments and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Spent two nights and found the hotel clean, friendly and conveniently situated in T e Anu. This was our second visit to the hotel, so that says it all! The rooms were clean and very comfortable with two large double beds. No view, but no noise either, and very easy and convenient to park. The staff were friendly and efficient, in fact a good hotel, in a good position and convenient for a trip to the Milford and Doubtful Sound.

Room Tip: We booked with wot if and got an automatic upgrade room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mod11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

On behalf of the hotel and staff I just wanted to thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor and am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us in Te Anau. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

After the desaster hotel in Queenstown, it was good to have been able to get an additional night before our original reservation.
Reception is a bit old fashioned, but gives you free internet. The pre ordered $ 15.00 breakfast buffet is a steal (25 if you did not pre order).

Nice, a bit outdated rooms, but they are large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myriamc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast upgrade special "is a steal" and guests seem to enjoy the extensive buffet selection. We hope to wecome you back again on your next visit to Te Anau.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 22 in Te Anau
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £90 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing