We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate incident clouded my view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unfortunate incident clouded my view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Centrally located, great welcome comfortable large reception and dining room. Catering was excellent and plentiful and the sweets wonderful. Our room was a little noisy at night with local bars and car movement. We had one incident at breakfast with a staff member savaging us for sitting on the wrong table I did report it to the Manager who was apologetic and I hope that he dealt with the incident as it did sour our stay at the hotel and we were not the only guests treated this way by that particular person. All, the other staff were really friendly. I have rated this hotel without the incident as it would be unfair to downgrade the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran39_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review about your stay with us. Im glad you enjoyed our central location and your meal in Hilights restaurant. The dessert selection is plentiful indeed! Thank you for approaching me about your incident during breakfast. I can assure you, we have taken the necessary measures and dealt with the person responsible. Once again my sincere apologies and i hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.

Kind Regards,

Kevin D'Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    227
    144
    29
    15
See reviews for
92
299
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martin City, Montana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Hotel was very clean and had comfortable accommodation, functional rather than stylish rooms, a bit expensive but very central to everything. Free Wifi in the lobby so you can keep in touch with folks back home.

Room Tip: Front parking lot is very small, but there is plenty of parking on both sides of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimZerbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us. Im glad you found your room clean and comfortable. We offer a wide selection of packages catering for different needs and are very competitively priced with our offerings. We do have special promotions which are advertised on our Facebook page, so please "Like" us to be kept informed of these deals. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsiemion
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

This was a very good place to stay at Te Anau. It was a good price with clean and comfortable rooms. We had mini-fridges in the rooms and were able to buy breakfast and lunch stuff at the nearby grocery store.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsiemion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your reveiw about your stay with us. Im glad you had a good stay in Te Anau and we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden
Level Contributor
115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

I have seen this hotel reviewed as having bed bugs. Absolute nonsense. The people were unknowingly bitten by sand flies at Milford Sound and the bites became visible much later. It happened to me!. Take insect repellant and use it even if you THINK that there are no flies about. The hotel itself has flying insect problems judging by the swats on the ceiling. No a/c but windows open. V. quiet location. Supermarkets and restaurants very close. Chinese restaurants excellent. Large portions. Ask for a box if you can't eat it all. It is O.K. cold if you can't get access to a microwave.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is where we discovered that most hotels on the South Island don't have aircon in the rooms. We opened the window and sweated it out all night, then as we were leaving we spotted housekeeping with a stack of upright fans lining the corridor walls, apparently they are supplied upon request.
The room was fine, fresh and clean. Its a big hotel, catering to tour groups. The bus parked outside our open window gave me cause for concern for early morning noise, but it was fine in the end.
BTW, this is the OTHER Distinction hotel, keep driving past the first one on the waterfront and turn down the main street.

Room Tip: If it's hot ask for a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
183 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is central, even if Te Anau is a small village..
The room was clean, very large and comfortable and the price not expensive at all.
A good deal for 1 night without breakfast.
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KawasakiBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Im glad you had a comfortable stay and trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip around the South Island. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here one night on our coach tour. The room was excellent, the location very convenient. And oh the desserts, wow, fantastic! Friendly helpful staff. Like every other hotel we stayed in on the South Island free high speed wi-fi was lacking which is surprising for 2013.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandDeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and feasted on our huge selection of desserts in Hilights Restaurant. We currently offer free WIFI in the lobby and Bailiez Cafe and are looking at expanding it to guests rooms as well in the near future. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 24 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Property: Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing