We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed two seperate nights here. Both rooms were lovely. Clean, comfortable and after staying at milford sound , an absolute pleasure.
The hotel was right in the middle of town so we just walked to shops and dinner. Very convenient. Highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanie959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and found your room comfortable and clean. Our central location is very convenient indeed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    233
    145
    29
    15
See reviews for
94
305
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

stayed 2 nights before and after kayak trip. The difference in rooms and service was enormous. First room was Ok, second room was good. Lady at the desk was not unfriendly, but completely uninterested. Every question was bounced back, made me feel that it was my problem and she had no intention to help solve it. Second time around very friendly service with a smile

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MattheusAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Matthijs,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad you found your rooms comfortable and spacious. My apologies once again for your initial experience with one of our staff members. Thank you for replying to my email as it has helped me indentify and rectify the issue. I hope this hasnt imapcted on your stay much and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kevin D'Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My Wife and I ar here for 2 days. The food is excellent, and the venison casserole was the best I have tasted in a long while. Meat was tender and tghe sauce was very smooth and pleasing. The rooms are comfortable, but do not have Air Conditioners. I found it hard to go to sleep but by 2300 the temperatures were in the single digits (c).

The only drawback to the hotel is slow internet access and the only in the lobby is the internet accessible, and it is slow.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EUGENE9224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad you found your room comfortable and enjoyed your meal in Bailiez. Its very rare to have hot days here in Te Anau, with most guests requiring heaters even in summer months. Hence we do not have air conditioning in rooms but do have fans available for use. My apologies about the interent, we are in process of getting this fixed. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is an old 4 star hotel.
Yes it is old style but it is clean, spacious room and still offers that 4 star services.
We had a nice stay here after a long drive from Queenstown - Milford Sound - Te Anau + Visiting the Glow Worm Cave.
It's conveniently located in the middle of the town and food and shops are literally just across the hote

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad you found your room clean and spacious and found the facilities on offer conductive to your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnedah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was a really lovely room but I have to say that I was disappointed when I first layed eyes on the place. It really does look bad and ancient from the outside. With such gorgeous views all around Te Anau, there are no nice views from this Hotel.

The bathroom was luxurious but there were only half the jets working in the hot tub. When they did work they spat out rubbish and pubic hair from prior users which was a little gross!!! This definitely needs to be addressed!

Bed was quiet comfy and centrally located. The door was really hard to open! We did report this!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with a nice view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MummaD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 29 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights too do the fjordland thing. We found this to meet all our needs; good room, lots of parking, laundry, good food and internet. Absolutely ideal for our purposes and thought everything here was as it should be; not sure where some of the lower reviews were staying?

Special mention of an excellent breakfast buffet!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PMQuestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found all facilities on offer conductive to your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a functional package tour hotel with coach loads of delightful Chinese tourists pouring through. I have stayed there twice and everything has worked fine except the internet which is diabolical. They should not offer this as a service as it is slow and unreliable. Good value for money. Clean and pleasant rooms

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad you found your room pleasant and clean. As with most hotels in New Zealand, tour groups with guests from across the world encompasses a major part of our business. My aplologies about the internet, we are in process of getting this issue rectified. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Property: Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing