We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel serves its purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Reviewed 9 March 2010

As other reviewers noted, the main reason you are staying in Te Anau is as a stop over to go to Milford Sound - and if that's what you need it for, it does its job and would recommend it. We got to the hotel in the evening and got up early the next morning to get to Milford Sound by sun rise, spent the whole day in Milford Sound kayaking and sight seeing - so really the only time we spent in the room was to sleep and shower. It's a great location with good restaurants and a supermarket right across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michealangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2010

Te Anau is the gateway to fjordland. Most everybody is passing through either en route to outdoor adventures or to visit Milford or Doubtful Sounds. It's a brief visit and the Distinction Luxmore does a nice job of tiding us over. We are not looking for five star luxury, we want a pleasant, comfortable intermission with a good night's sleep and the Luxmore fills the bill. The walk into town is easy and convenient.
Breakfast continued to be a problem, a problem we encountered throughout Australia and New Zealand. We would just like some coffee and toast or maybe a little scrambled egg on toast. 'Have the continental' they would say, never quite understanding that we neither wanted to eat nor pay for cereal, fruit, yoghurt, muffins, bread, cheese, cold meats or whatever else was included in the continental. We had to keep going out to the local coffee shop or bakery.
Having duly whined, we were more than happy with the Luxmore and would certainly recommend it to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We booked a "relax away' package for NZD200 which included a deluxe room and breakfast. The room was clean and newly furnished however it was located over the drop off point for the numerous tourist buses discharging and collection tour gropus from the rear of the hotel. The meant that the noise of motors starting up continued well into the evening and started at an early 6:30 am. Hardly the scenario for a relaxing time. As the hotel did not have air conditioning, opening the windows was the only way to cool off the room and hence the noise couldn't be avoided.
The breakfast buffet content was incredibly ordinary although the view from the breakfast room was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank travelon4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Was in a handy a very handy location in the middle of town and very close to the jetty for the glow worm cave tour.
Room was quite dated but clean.
3 star quality.
Give the hot buffet breakfast a miss, very average.
Continental was standard / OK though.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aus_traveller_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Good:
Centre of town
Free Parking....very important at Te Anau as the parking cops are very busy !!!
Reasonable internet prices

Bad
Hotel is outdated
Rooms in need of an update
The room used to have 2 TVs one was removed and the remaining one you would not be able to give it away as it is very old.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norbham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

This is an old hotel and we stayed at one of the deluxe rooms which offered a lot of space and big and comfortable beds (not sure whether the other rooms are so well refurbished). You are in the middle of the town so you can go for lake walks, shopping, tours, supermarket etc. without touching the car. Only problem is that check out is 10 which is rather early for a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgiumFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed at the Luxmore for one night in Nov 2009 as part of an organised tour.
The hotel is in the middle of Te Anau, within a 10 minute walk to the lakefront. The location is good, because the hotel is easy to find and all the town's services are within a short distance, but the town centre location means that there are no views to speak of from the rooms. For example, our room faced the carpark and another wing of the hotel.The hotel is big, and ther rooms are spread around in different wings and buildings, and hence the place has a feeling of a really big motel.

The room was big and tidy, but the decor was a bit dull. The lighting was bad: instead of bedside lamps there was an embedded light in the ceiling above the bed, and the light from the fluorescent lamp was cold and way too bright, but without these lamps on the room was a bit too dim on a rainy day. The bathroom was OK and fairly big and had a shower over the bath. Overall the room was OK but quite uninteresting. When we arrived, he room was very cold because of the cold and damp weather, and the heater in the room wasn't a good one: it did heat the room well but made the air very dry and stuffy.

The wireless internet connection at the hotel was OK but only worked in the lobby, not in the room, which was a minor nuisance. Both of the public computers in the lobby were out of order, so using them was not an option. The laundry seemed OK and there was a small gym for the guests to use. The physical size of the hotel meant that the services were spread around in different wings and finding the breakfast restaurant was a bit hard as it wasn't signposted too well. The breakfast was buffet-style: plentiful but nothing special.

Although the hotel is basically OK, the size of the place meant that it was a bit dull and the service was a bit lacking in efficiency. The hotel was OK for our short stay before continuing to Milford Sound, but if I had to spend more time in Te Anau, I'd probably choose another, smaller hotel. The Luxmore is OK for a short stopover, but don't expect anything special. I would recommend this hotel to people who need an OK place to stay for one or two nights but don't inted to spend their time at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £87 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing