We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff but seriously, what's up with the bathroom?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Reviewed 12 June 2010

I stayed for one night in between the Milford/Queenstown journey. The check in was a breeze and the staff was really friendly. Apparently it went through some renovations recently so the lobby was quite nice. We stayed in a room right near the guest laundry but didn't experience issues w/ noise. The bed and room itself was nice but the bathroom was pretty bad. They have a giant bowl sink w/ high water pressure so every time you turn it on, it just splashed water everywhere. There was also a moldy smell in the bathroom as well. The overall look was quite nice but in terms of actual functionality, bleh. All the other amenities were pretty standard stuff and the location was great.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2010

We spent three nights here and felt the hotel was good value for money. It is well placed for all that Te Anau has to offer, being right on the doorstep of the lake and situated off the main street. Our room (we were upgraded to a superior room because we had booked a three night package) was spacious and comfortable, if a little old fashioned, with everything that we needed including a large flat screen TV. The bathroom was well furnished with both a bath and shower over. The hotel has a guest laundry, which was reasonably priced compared with other places that we stayed, and internet computers in the lobby, again reasonably priced.

We did not use the hotel restaurant, Hilights, mainly because there were several tour groups there at the same time as us, and it seemed overpriced. Instead we used Bailiez Cafe which is linked to the hotel. Breakfasts here were fantastic – excellent value for money and we had the best Fish and Chips of our entire tour here as well.

The hotel has plenty of parking spaces available free of charge and our only real complaint would be what seemed to be an excessive number of large tour groups who monopolised the computers and laundry at certain times. However, as we were staying for 3 nights rather than 1 or 2, we were able to work round this.

All in all this was a very pleasant base from which to explore Te Anau, Milford Sound and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunL0ver57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Used the hotel as a one-night stop-over. Found it convenient for walk around town and to lakeside. Room clean, comfortable and spacious. Continental breakfast was disappointing in that there was no cold meat choice ("We don't do that in New Zealand" was the comment by a 'supervisor' when I asked - most other hotels we used in New Zealand actually do have such a choice!) However, what choices there were were refridgerated.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InishowenJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Te Anau isn't really a destination in and of itself. Most people stay here on their way to see Milford Sound and this was the case for us. We just needed a bed for the night and that's what we got. There is nothing exceptional about this hotel, but it's nice enough. The staff was cordial and the beds were clean. Breakfast was expensive for what they offered. I suggest heading down to The Fat Duck for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LASOTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

What do I say....this place is horrible. From the rooms that look frighteningly out of date, to getting lost trying to find the way to where my car was parked, our night here was not a good experience. Add to it the fire alarm bungle that had the entire staff and patronage standing out in the cold in the morning (however, to the staff's credit, their response to the alarm was absolutely wonderful and immediate). This place was average at best, but I really think it needs a big makeover. When you factor in the price (we paid almost NZ$200), it made it worse. We stayed in the amazing Bluestone on George in Dunedin for less! Don't stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

As other reviewers noted, the main reason you are staying in Te Anau is as a stop over to go to Milford Sound - and if that's what you need it for, it does its job and would recommend it. We got to the hotel in the evening and got up early the next morning to get to Milford Sound by sun rise, spent the whole day in Milford Sound kayaking and sight seeing - so really the only time we spent in the room was to sleep and shower. It's a great location with good restaurants and a supermarket right across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michealangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Te Anau is the gateway to fjordland. Most everybody is passing through either en route to outdoor adventures or to visit Milford or Doubtful Sounds. It's a brief visit and the Distinction Luxmore does a nice job of tiding us over. We are not looking for five star luxury, we want a pleasant, comfortable intermission with a good night's sleep and the Luxmore fills the bill. The walk into town is easy and convenient.
Breakfast continued to be a problem, a problem we encountered throughout Australia and New Zealand. We would just like some coffee and toast or maybe a little scrambled egg on toast. 'Have the continental' they would say, never quite understanding that we neither wanted to eat nor pay for cereal, fruit, yoghurt, muffins, bread, cheese, cold meats or whatever else was included in the continental. We had to keep going out to the local coffee shop or bakery.
Having duly whined, we were more than happy with the Luxmore and would certainly recommend it to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 22 in Te Anau
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 22 in Te Anau
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £91 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing