We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Realistically priced accommodation”
Review of Aden Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aden Motel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Realistically priced accommodation”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in two motels in Te Anau, and it is with the benefit of hindsight that I have marked this as a 3 out of 5. As has been mentioned by others the staff are very welcoming, the cakes on arrival and the invite to use fresh produce from their vegetable garden are all very nice, but there is no getting away from the fact that the place is tired. The studio is a little small, the beds are queen size (similar places have kings) and the kitchenette needs modernising. There is no air conditioning and when the sun comes out the room warms up very quickly. Having said that if your primary need is for a bed for the night in a clean room in a quiet location then this fits the bill. The owners have priced the studios very competitively at the cheaper end of motel accommodation in Te Anau, so there really is no room for complaint on price.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AandAKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thanks for your review and your honesty but we never market ourselves to me modern at all Retro is what we call it and yes parts are a bit tired but as Managers a lot of thing are up to the owners of the property to change and if they don't wish to them it will always be retro but at least its clean and comfortable. We are only 3 star plus were I think a lot of people don't understand this when making a booking as most people tend to like to stay in 4 star and 4 star plus now and get used to that type of accommadation. We price ourselves according to our star level in Te Anau. We offer a great friendly service and a homely place to stay while people enjoy the beautiful surrounding of Fiordland and most guest only stay in Te Anau one night which is a shame as we have so much to offer. Will pass your comments to the Motel owners but thank you for a great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    83
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
135
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights based on the reviews on TA. The motel is a 15 minute walk from centre of town, has pleasant staff and a lovely garden. There are washing lines in the yard which was a real plus for us though only an iron & ironing board in the laundry room.
The room itself was of a decent size with table and chairs and a little desk. The decor was fairly old fashioned especially the kitchen. However the room was clean but very dusty. The pillows on our first night smelt bad and brought on my partner's asthma so she didn't sleep very well. It brought on my snoring too. We got the pillows changed and our sleep improved. However my partner was congested and breathless the whole time she was in the room.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hello Neil thankyou for your review and you lovely 3 days stay with us at Aden motel we were sorry to hear about your first night stay on your first day here with us but we did as you requested and changed the pillows which are changed on a regular basis. All our linen is washed on site and dryed outside as we are 100% chemical free, also our rooms are aired daily after cleaning to allowed the wonderful fresh air in so perhaps a small amount of dust due to this but far better than any chemical treatments. We have had windy days so pollens can be a problem for some people also with our wonderful gardens full of flowers but its very hard but we do try to do everything that we can to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. I do know a lot of people seem to carry their own pillows this maybe a great way to help on your next trip. We have never marketed our Motel as being something it is not so old fashioned maybe but Retro is great as a lot of guest love to cook due to the expense of eating out all the time so a Full Kitchen is often asked for when people make bookings. Thanks Neil and keep on travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

A value motel in te anau. Everything was up to date and comfortable. An easy 5-10 minute walk to the center of town and two blocks from the lake front walk, Fjordland national park visitor center and tour boats for the glowworm caves and other waterfront activities

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JLK1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for a great review great that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in Te Anau enjoying our beautiful surroundings. Not sure about modern but Retro/ Cosy is fine for me but we work hard to make sure the guest have a very comfortable stay. We have a lot of offer is a small place and great that you shared in this too. Great to get guest review so many people tell us its from peoples reviews that they come to stay so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a motel room where everything is brand new and top of the range then this one is not for you.

If however you are looking for somewhere that is really homely and comfortable, where the ladies who run it are great fun and very helpful, that has everything you need, where the wifi is free and works really well, with a lovely garden to relax in, then this place is great value and comes highly recommended.

And there are those nice little extras: home made cakes on arrival; dishes washed after we left them to leave early for Doubtful Sound; nice packed lunches; and a card that gets you a free drink at the Moose bar.

It's just a very short walk to the lake and the views are superb.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely choose Aden again.

TIP: When you book, ask for a room that overlooks the garden as the views are super.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review Phil it was great having you and your wife to stay at our Motel and you are right we may not be 4 star plus but our extra's make up for it. Your rooms are served every day unless requested not too as it nice to come back from a trip away to just relax. We know you read about our lunches on a previous Trip Advisor comment made and guess we did make a great lunch and the cakes are a welcome gift from the staff here at Aden nice with tea or coffee on arrival. My whole ideal is to make everyone just feel at home and take wonderful memories away. Its guests like you that help more guest to stay with us so again Thank you !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights so that we could be near Milford Sound. The place was clean and the decor attractive. The women running the hotel couldn't be more helpful. They really bent over backwards to be attentive, even bringing a basket of toys to the room for our. Two small kids. They also offered a later checkout time when we asked, which was much appreciated. The room got a little stuffy during day and we were a little uncomfortable when we returned from our day tour, but they offered us an oscillating fan to help out. The gardens are beautiful and there are two cute little dogs running about. The kids really enjoyed the trampoline! Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank neverstoptravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
A great review and Thank you it was great having you all to stay and we couldn't get over how well the children traveled and yes we have had some hot days which are not that normal for Fiordland as most people know but a fan often helps. I like to give children toys, book even a DVD so that the parents can have some time out plus the playground is an added advantage that a lot of other motel now don't have. Keep travelling and maybe you will return one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The unit had a fully set up kitchen, a pokey bathroom, a combined lounge and bedroom with a comfortable double bed and there were shared, coin operated laundry facilities on the site. There was a "help yourself" vege garden and the owner provided a simple breakfast of yoghurt, cereal, bread and a selection of jams. The owners were helpful and our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for a great review on our motel and yes we try to make our motel as homely and welcoming as possible for our guests so they can just walk in and relax from a long day. The guest vegetable patch has been great for those just wanting a bit of lettuce and is now restocked again.
Sometimes its just the little things that mean a lot to guests. The bathrooms are of reasonable size I think now a days like our homes we expect bigger but we have shower, vanity & toilet with room to dress. Breakfast sometimes we do a special included in the room price so it is just a basic continental breakfast but we do have a breakfast menu. Great to see you enjoyed your stay with us on you holiday in Te Anau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Had made bookings on line with Aden Motels but due to a hic cup or over booking the wonderful lady made us bookings across the road with another Motelier and paid the difference. i went and met her and was disappointed not to be staying at the Aden. This was service and friendliness taken to the extreme by her notifying me several weeks in advance of the overbooking and of her arrangement with the other motel. Her motels looked spotlessly clean, gardens well looked after, and from the little amount I saw of one motel, I would have been very happy indeed to stay there. I will return to Te Anau and I will endeavor to get a room at the Aden!

Room Tip: Loved the gardens. Very Tranquil setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thankyou so much Marie for the wonderful review and its sad when I have to move my wonderful guests to another motel even though I am fussy where they go too but pleased you were happy with my decision. Our booking systems are live and when you have computer problems and things don't work for a few hours while you wait on a techno man to come fix it this is when double bookings can happen. We would love to have you return to our Motel or any of your friend and family in the future keep in touch and thankyou again for a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.0 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aden Motel

Property: Aden Motel
Address: 57-59 Quintin Drive | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aden Motels have 12 ground floor Apartments with 1 & 2 bedroom plus studio Apartments.Free Wifi. Quiet location with ample parking even for a boat. Childrens playground, BBQ area, Guest Vege patch,guest laundry. Chemical Free and eviromentally friendly. "Come and rest and relax". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aden Motel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing