We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a beautiful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We spent two nights here on our way around NZ. The perfect place to stay, only 2 hours to Milford Sound. Good sized rooms with kitchen, under floor heating in the bathroom (luxury) free internet ( the only free one we had in NZ). Parking at your door. Enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Anchorage is a great motel. We had a one bedroom apartment which was very spacious and clean. There was a little patio out back with a barbecue so we took advantage of the opportunity and picked up steaks and veges at the local Fresh Choice supermarket. The motel is located in a very nice area and within a 5 minute drive to the town centre. Free internet was a plus. Good location for touring the Milford Sound as our tour bus picked us up right outside the motel. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The motel is in a mixed residential and tourist motels area. About 5 minutes drive from town center with restaurants and a Fresh Choice supermarket (Australians note: Just like a Safeway Woolworths, with plenty of Australian goods and Woolworth's Home Brand inside).

Not only the rooms are large, they are also very bright, all with large ceiling to ground windows and sliding doors.

Beds and furnitures are clean. They also have kitchens, with stove, microwave oven, and also pots and cutlery. For families with kids, you can make your own meals to save money if you like.

All rooms are on ground level, easy access to your car.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azzsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Free wifi is a significant advantage after staying in a Queenstown hotel. Anchorage Motel is very clean and not far from the lake and shops. Also it has a little garden space to sun yourself and eat.It is ideal for a preparing a leisurely trip to Milford Sound 242 km round trip from Te Anau without intermediate petrol stations.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cymro39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Spent 2 nights here as the place is convenient for trips to Milford sound. Good kitchen area, comfortable bed, spacious room, Sky TV, free internet and more - also, great value compared to most similar accommodation in the area. Helpful host at check-in, suggested we should allow longer for the drive out than we had planned, and he was right as there are plenty of things to stop for en-route that we would have had to miss out if we had left later in the day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We chose this motel for 2 reasons - it's 3-bedroom cottage and free wifi, as we were travelling with our two older teens. It can potentially sleep up to 7 people as it contains 2 doubles and 3 singles. The cottage is very private, quiet, clean and warm, but feels a little like a crib (holiday home), it was adequate and the bathroom was lovely, but could do with more modernising. The free wifi is not unlimited- it did run out and we had to wait until the next morning each day to reaccess it. The motel is one block back from the lake but this did not bother us, it was a short walk along a path across the road to the lake, and a 5 minute walk into town with its shops and plenty of restaurants to choose from. The Glow Worm caves trip leaves from the wharf right there in town, and is highly recommended, as is a trip to Milford or Doubtful Sounds. We ate at the Moose, the local pub, which is friendly and warm with an open fire and has daily meal specials (we choose the $20 specials).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryansmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was spacious and clean. It had an adequately equipped kitchen, Sky TV and had a nice private bbq / sitting area outside.
Our room was situated in a corner and therefor offered a lot of privacy, was very quiet which was very nice for a good sleep after a long journey.
I would absolutely recommend this motel, it's definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Corner suite is spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £82 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing