We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle, Australia
2 reviews
“Relax”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Sitting after my ski trip to queenstown , great value , very comfy , soooo .. Happy


A gem as attention to detail with value for money
Free wi fi
Spa
Clean as a whistle -- I have a boat detail business

Room Tip: Studio with spa good for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    138
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
63
218
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

At this stage on our holiday, we had been on the go for a bit, and needed some relaxation time. This motel certainly provided that as we had booked the King Spa studio.

Initially I had thought that it was the bed which was a King Size Bed, and the spa would just be a bath with jets.

Well, it was a bath with jets, but it was one of those huge corner baths. Truly was a blessing for sore muscles.

The motel was located slightly away from the centre of the town, on the edge of the lake. There was a walking track from opposite the motel, down to the lake, but unfortunately we never got around to walking it.

The managers onsite were very friendly, and assisted us with our plans for driving the Milford Road, explaining where the best places were to stop. There was also an onsite laundry for fairly cheap which was nice since we didn’t have to then travel to the Laundromat.

The room was quite large, with a sizable kitchen, television and closet. The bed was slightly harder than I would have liked, but that may have had to something to do with the fact that I was quite sore already from all the hiking I’d done.

All up, very happy, great little motel, and would recommend it to anyone. Particularly if you like baths, spend the extra moola and get the King Spa Studio!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine_8_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Great value for money motel, perfectly positioned for a trip to Milford sound if you don't want to stay at extortionately priced accommodation in Milford. We had a spa room and the bath was brilliant, heated towel racks and electric blankets were a treat after a cold wet day at milford sound. the kitchen facilities were good and internet was a bit intermittent but free so cant complain

Room Tip: Spa room was really good if you want to spend a few dollars more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed two nights and were well pleased. Comfy, warm, well thought out and FREE wifi was fast and appreciated. Whilst the shower head was a bit slippy on the pole, the bathroom was well appointed. The heater and towel rack were nice touches. Thank you!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed in a standard studio room for four nights, and found that it completely exceeded our expectations. The room was really well kitted out, and the kitchenette (stove, microwave, kettle, coffee plunger, toaster) allowed us to be more or less self-contained. There were also surprising extras like a heated towel rack, which we did not expect but was very handy in the cold. The room was serviced daily (although you have the option to opt out of this), meaning we returned home to a delightfully warm and clean room each day. Wifi was free, which was a fantastic service. There were many facilities which we didn't use, such as outdoor barbecues, Sky TV, a book exchange, and DVDs you can borrow, but there is so much to do in Te Anau (it's not just a stopping point for trips to Milford Sound!!!) that we didn't really need them. The motel is about a ten minute walk from the centre of town (you can either walk along the lake or through the gardens, both are really nice walks), and is therefore close to two supermarkets and a range of cafes, restaurants, and shops. The motel is one street back from the lake, but you can see spectacular mountain views from just outside your front door. If you turn left from the motel down Quintin Drive, you come across a walking track which leads around the south side of the lake, past a statue of Milford Track-discoverer Quintin Mackinnon (after whom the street is named), the Fiordland National Park visitor centre, and the local sailing club. This is an easy and beautiful walk (which can be extended as far as the start of the Kepler Track if you feel up to a longer walk), which is very close to the Anchorage Motel. One of the things which attracted us to the motel in the first place was its commitment to environmental sustainability, and we were very pleased to see that the motel lives up to its promises. Things like providing reusable shopping bags, providing separate rubbish and recycling bins, providing a compost bucket for organic matter (all of these are emptied daily when they service the room), and recycling used soaps for biofuel are all fantastic innovations which help make your stay more sustainable. The motel is family run, and the owners, Nigel and Fiona, were happy to provide advice on things like the current state of Milford Road. I imagine rooms would be significantly more expensive in the peak tourist season, but during winter it is unbelievably good value. We had a fantastic time in Te Anau and had a great stay at the Anchorage Motel. We can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohanNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We booked a room here the night before heading to Doubtful Sound. Originally selected the one bedroom cottage but the propriotor put us in a two bedroom unit at no extra charge. The unit was outfitted to standards beyond major chain hotels. It included a well equipped, cleverly arranged small kitchen area. Highly recommended if willing to sacrifice lakefront views. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwsfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed in a refurbished room and it was perfect! Shame we only stayed one night. Rooms are modern, clean, warm, big and have everything you would need. It's in a nice location and is a family run business.

Room Tip: I only saw the refurbished rooms so ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniMac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Property: Anchorage Motel Apartments
Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing