We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50/50”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“50/50”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent one night. The room was lovely and a quiet location . The owner, a gentleman, seems quite disinterested and he may have been having a bad day but he wasn't the sort of person I would have thought should be in hospitality. Upon getting to our room we couldn't find the sign with Internet password on it. I called him only to be told it was there earlier on the table. Well it wasn't and I certainly didn't move it, we searched high and low and he couldn't believe it wasn't there. He sent his daughter to the room and she couldn't find it. I then located it under the couch behind the curtain. He made me feel like we must have done it. We then had difficulty getting a receipt the next morning which we needed for our book keeping purposes..
Unfortunately what was a lovely place turned out to be a poor experience.
Sorry we won't be back and if you were having a bad day I am also sorry.
Phil,
Qld

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pkhollard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Hi - we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay and felt that we had spoiled your experience. My daughter was sent to your room to also look for the log on sign which had fallen down as you said - you had found it by the time my daughter came across so apologies for this. They normally are on the table and for some reason yours had fallen down out of view.
If your view was that I shouldn't be in hospitality, then I apologize that you had this impression. Having been hospitality for most of my life, it is a sad that you think that I shouldn't do what i have successfully done for many years. We all have bad days and are only human no matter how hard we try and most of our customers are happy with the service that we offer.
Nigel & Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    138
    49
    11
    5
See reviews for
63
218
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanmer Springs
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great place to stay with friendly owners and staff.
We had travelled a long distance and needed a quiet place to stay so that we could fully enjoy our trip into Milford the next day.
I will definitely stay at this motel on our next visit to te Anau.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanmer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed two nights in May, a one bedroom unit with full cooking facilities. Very spacious unit and very modern. The best thing was the heated floor in the bathroom, great if you need to use the bathroom during the night. Staff were helpful and very reasonably priced. Great location within walking distance to town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a one bedroom suite with a fully equipped kitchen. The unit was spacious and very clean, a comfortable place to stay in the rain. Excellent wifi. The owner was very helpful and patient with our questions and concerns over the weather as we had booked a trip to Doubtful Sound - also excellent! - , and he was right: the rain did stop!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We went for one night with our family, loved the place and ended up staying for three nights instead. Very well done up, all little things you need, were taken care of. Free wifi, kitchen fully equipped. As the town was very dead, we could not have survived if we did not have this place where we made our fresh breakfast and dinner.
Loved it. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisasimpson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The room was basic but very clean, everything needed for a comfortable stay. The reception staff were knowledgeable and helpful in suggesting what we should do to get to Milford given that we had only one day and the road was closed due to snow. Fortunately, he was right, and the road re-opened. Good value, helpful. The location is a short walk to the main restaurants and the main street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel was very neat and clean. And the rooms had a small kitchen also, which is very useful. The lake is walking distance from the hotel. Also, most tour operated buses stop at the hotel for pickup.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Property: Anchorage Motel Apartments
Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing