We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality rooms and fittings, great heating, quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Excellent value, great service and we had a relaxing stay. Best motel we have stayed at in NZ. Recommend booking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMO123Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2009

Walked in and had a great rate. Room was recently refurbished, very clean. Loved the heated bathroom floor!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the Anchorage and would definitely stay there again if we returned to Te Anau. The rooms are large and full kitchen facilities are available. The bathrooms are roomy and have a heated floor and towel rail which is next to the loo which is great in winter. Management was very helpful and the motel is situated only one or two streets from the main street. The complex was very quiet and we fully enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manda98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in Feb - units are small and fairly basic - but pretty new and very clean and really have everything you want - not lake view but just a short walk from lakefront and restaurants - would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We stayed in a studio unit and booked via Wotif at the last minute. Unit looked brand new with a very modern kitchen and bathroom. Not a very large unit but comfortable for two people. Good value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank moorefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2007

Very comfortable and roomy in 1 bedroom apt. Modern decor, comfortable bed & nice bathroom. Kitchen was adequate for our requirements.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank kscott4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2007

Booked by our agent (who only uses Golden Chain) we wished we'd looked for ourselves. Our 2 bedroom unit was very tired, and needs serious refurbishment, though I don't know how they overcome the separate unit at the back which is only feet away and completely overlooked our windows. Not cheap ($165 a night), and not the claimed 4 star (you'd have to be generous to even give 3 stars).

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wartling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smalltownlad, Owner & mamager at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2009

Just a quick response that all these units have been extensively refurbished and I invite the guest to stay next time they are in NZ of to at least come and have a look. I am sure they will not be dissapointed. Photos of two beroom units give a indication as to what they are like now. Thanks and all feedback is welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 22 in Te Anau
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £62 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing