We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2010

clean, bright, well equipped and well maintained
friendly staff
nice quiet location

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hickton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2009

Nigel upgraded us at no charge from a 1 bedroom to a 2 bedroom. This was nice as our son travels with us (he is 35 so he doesn't fit into any "traveled with" category). This is the first time I've seen an LCD TV in each bedroom and a large one in the lounge. All three of us could watch what we wanted at the same time. The galley was very well equipped and the appliances were top notch. The bathroom was also very nice and modern. Very nicely done renovations and very clean.

When the renovation was carried out they had to work with the existing structure. The only deficiency was lack of closet space in the #1 bedroom.

There was a charge for wifi access and it would be nice to see it included in the room cost.

If we ever return to Te Anau we will certainly stay here. The Anchorage was in a good location for us as we took both the Milford Sound cruise and the Doubtful Sound cruise (second time in each case - great weather for prior visits and lousy weather this time).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandriver125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2009

Good clean room. The spa bath was very welcome after a long day at Doubtful! Our only complaint was that the WiFi charges were very high compared to other places we've stayed - we went to the library for free WiFi instead.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We were lucky to be upgraded from 1 bedroom to 2 bedrooms. The facility was recently renovated all modern design, clean and spacious. The design of the kitchen was a bit funny that you had to bend behind a cupboard for the stove but we did make good use of it. Loved the bathroom so much - large bathroom and heated towel racks and finally a proper showerhead that you could hold onto. There were flat screen TVs in every room and lots of power sockets. Walking distance to beautiful lake and town center. We drove so it was even more convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

We were here between doing Doubtful sound and Milford Sound. It was an impeccably clean motel room that was set up to be used as an apartment, complete with all kitchen utensils and utilities you would ever need. The heating was very much appreciated. It was close to town, on the street that looks residential and is very quiet, but seems to have all the motels on it. Check-in was efficient, check-out even more so, and they were helpful at the front desk when asked. Overall, even if it lacked a bit of character, it was a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanuckabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

we only booked one night , so bearable,the motel rooms may have been updated , but the cottage which sounds quaint is not good value for money old and tired,nothing nice about it1

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank HamiltonWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

After an overpriced and small room in Wanaka this place was happily the exact opposite. A clean, spacious room with all that we needed for $95 (or thereabouts) a night. 10 mins walk into town and very helpful owners. I would happily stay there again. I think all the recent reviews of the Anchorage are very accurate.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pooley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 22 in Te Anau
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £67 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing