We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure you dont book the cottage” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Motel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Make sure you dont book the cottage”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

My new wife (of 3 days!) arrived at the Anchorage after researching the local accommodation fully. We chose the Anchorage for its great reviews and also the fabulous looking rooms. On arrival we had been moved into the adjacent 3 bedroomed cottage, which was nothing like what we had hoped for. The cottage was very tired, in fact I wouldn't have stayed there as a backpacker, as there was an odd odour. Eventually the owners wife moved us to a new studio, after much discussion, even though other members of the wedding party were staying there for 2 nights as well. The whole episode left a rather bad taste, and the owners said that they had emailed us 1 month before, to explain they had overbooked. We had received no email before we left, and had only been in New Zealand for 2 weeks. Nice units, very disappointed with the atitude initially of the owners. Would not chose to stay again, as looking at some other reviews, other people have had a similar problem. I have to say that this was the only problem with accommodation in New Zealand in 3 weeks.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2010
Just a short answer - yes we were overbooked and asked these guests about relocating to the cottage via e-mail.- The cottage adjoins the motel and we do not promote as being at the same quality level as the motel. The guests did not answer the e-mail so it was assumed that they were O.K with the transfer. Upon checking in - they were not happy with it and we spent quite a bit of time relocating a couple of other guests so that these guests could stay in two units located within the motel block. They did not have a problem with the standard of accomdation we offered at the motel and this report is not a fair reflection on the motel. The cottage is maintained a a three star plus level however is not at the 4star+ level of the motel and is promotes as such. This is always explained to guests who book it and was explained to them in the e-mail they were sent(address provided with their booking).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    133
    46
    10
    5
See reviews for
58
216
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

clean, bright, well equipped and well maintained
friendly staff
nice quiet location

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hickton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

Nigel upgraded us at no charge from a 1 bedroom to a 2 bedroom. This was nice as our son travels with us (he is 35 so he doesn't fit into any "traveled with" category). This is the first time I've seen an LCD TV in each bedroom and a large one in the lounge. All three of us could watch what we wanted at the same time. The galley was very well equipped and the appliances were top notch. The bathroom was also very nice and modern. Very nicely done renovations and very clean.

When the renovation was carried out they had to work with the existing structure. The only deficiency was lack of closet space in the #1 bedroom.

There was a charge for wifi access and it would be nice to see it included in the room cost.

If we ever return to Te Anau we will certainly stay here. The Anchorage was in a good location for us as we took both the Milford Sound cruise and the Doubtful Sound cruise (second time in each case - great weather for prior visits and lousy weather this time).

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandriver125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

Good clean room. The spa bath was very welcome after a long day at Doubtful! Our only complaint was that the WiFi charges were very high compared to other places we've stayed - we went to the library for free WiFi instead.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

We were lucky to be upgraded from 1 bedroom to 2 bedrooms. The facility was recently renovated all modern design, clean and spacious. The design of the kitchen was a bit funny that you had to bend behind a cupboard for the stove but we did make good use of it. Loved the bathroom so much - large bathroom and heated towel racks and finally a proper showerhead that you could hold onto. There were flat screen TVs in every room and lots of power sockets. Walking distance to beautiful lake and town center. We drove so it was even more convenient.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

We were here between doing Doubtful sound and Milford Sound. It was an impeccably clean motel room that was set up to be used as an apartment, complete with all kitchen utensils and utilities you would ever need. The heating was very much appreciated. It was close to town, on the street that looks residential and is very quiet, but seems to have all the motels on it. Check-in was efficient, check-out even more so, and they were helpful at the front desk when asked. Overall, even if it lacked a bit of character, it was a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanuckabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

we only booked one night , so bearable,the motel rooms may have been updated , but the cottage which sounds quaint is not good value for money old and tired,nothing nice about it1

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HamiltonWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Property: Anchorage Motel Apartments
Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing