We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Motel & Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arran Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Motel Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
156
146
51
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
146
51
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenmilford soundheated towel rackunderfloor heatingsky tvheat pumpminute walk to the lakequiet streetspa bathtown centrebathroom floorcomfortable bedsouth islandlittle thingswell equipped kitchenettestayed one nightnew zealand
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Friendly owners and quiet comfortable clean rooms. One block back form the Lake front 3 - min walk, Stay in Te Anau for the Glow Worm Caves and so you can pick your day for the trip to Milford Sound- be warned it rains 2 out of 3 days at Milford!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MABris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

My new wife (of 3 days!) arrived at the Anchorage after researching the local accommodation fully. We chose the Anchorage for its great reviews and also the fabulous looking rooms. On arrival we had been moved into the adjacent 3 bedroomed cottage, which was nothing like what we had hoped for. The cottage was very tired, in fact I wouldn't have stayed there as a backpacker, as there was an odd odour. Eventually the owners wife moved us to a new studio, after much discussion, even though other members of the wedding party were staying there for 2 nights as well. The whole episode left a rather bad taste, and the owners said that they had emailed us 1 month before, to explain they had overbooked. We had received no email before we left, and had only been in New Zealand for 2 weeks. Nice units, very disappointed with the atitude initially of the owners. Would not chose to stay again, as looking at some other reviews, other people have had a similar problem. I have to say that this was the only problem with accommodation in New Zealand in 3 weeks.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2010

Just a short answer - yes we were overbooked and asked these guests about relocating to the cottage via e-mail.- The cottage adjoins the motel and we do not promote as being at the same quality level as the motel. The guests did not answer the e-mail so it was assumed that they were O.K with the transfer. Upon checking in - they were not happy with it and we spent quite a bit of time relocating a couple of other guests so that these guests could stay in two units located within the motel block. They did not have a problem with the standard of accomdation we offered at the motel and this report is not a fair reflection on the motel. The cottage is maintained a a three star plus level however is not at the 4star+ level of the motel and is promotes as such. This is always explained to guests who book it and was explained to them in the e-mail they were sent(address provided with their booking).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

clean, bright, well equipped and well maintained
friendly staff
nice quiet location

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hickton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Nigel upgraded us at no charge from a 1 bedroom to a 2 bedroom. This was nice as our son travels with us (he is 35 so he doesn't fit into any "traveled with" category). This is the first time I've seen an LCD TV in each bedroom and a large one in the lounge. All three of us could watch what we wanted at the same time. The galley was very well equipped and the appliances were top notch. The bathroom was also very nice and modern. Very nicely done renovations and very clean.

When the renovation was carried out they had to work with the existing structure. The only deficiency was lack of closet space in the #1 bedroom.

There was a charge for wifi access and it would be nice to see it included in the room cost.

If we ever return to Te Anau we will certainly stay here. The Anchorage was in a good location for us as we took both the Milford Sound cruise and the Doubtful Sound cruise (second time in each case - great weather for prior visits and lousy weather this time).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandriver125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2009

Good clean room. The spa bath was very welcome after a long day at Doubtful! Our only complaint was that the WiFi charges were very high compared to other places we've stayed - we went to the library for free WiFi instead.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews