We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, modern walking distance to town centre.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Mandurah
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Small room, modern walking distance to town centre.”
Reviewed 9 March 2010

The room was clean and modern with a great bathroom, but as we were stuck in a corner there was nowhere to sit outside in the shade and that would have been good as it was very warm in the afternoon. Fine for a short stay. Te Anau is very touristy and busy with plenty of eating places and a great supermarket, not the IG,A with plenty of fresh food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zigzagMandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    139
    49
    11
    5
See reviews for
64
218
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urunga, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We were booked into this motel by an agent. The level of cleanliness left a lot to be desired. The fittings were tired and nearly worn out, and the whole ambience felt as though the place was generally neglected.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank zdatny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smalltownlad, Owner/manager at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review, 10 March 2010
We are sorry that the guests were not happy and do apolgise to them that we were not up to their expectations. The unit they stayed in offers comfortable accomdation with a spa bath. It did have a few minor maintance issues that they duley pointed out and they were fixed accordingly. We can only hope that you also read all the other positive reviews and make your own judgement. Come and have a look and if you see something that is not up to scratch, please give us some feedback as we welcome all feedback - be it positive or negative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We had three very comfortable nights at the Anchorage Motel. Everything was brand new and spotlessly clean. Service was friendly and they looked after our baggage while we did a 3 day walk. 10 minute walk to everything in town and very close to the lake. Kitchen had everything we needed.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oatley_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Stayed 3 nights.A lovely apartment but found hairs around the bottom of the shower.Never a smile or a pleasent word from staff who did not seem suited to the leisure industry.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathmalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smalltownlad, Owner/manager at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review, 10 March 2010
I do apolgise that these guests did not think that our service was up to scratch. We do try to please everyone however that is not always possible and apolgise to these guests that they thought we were not happy. I can assure you that we are very happy and take pride in what we offer our guests. We try to look after all our guests however we cant arrange fine weather all the time. As for the hair in the bathroom??????? Please look at all the other reviews by guests who have reviewed many other motels and judge for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Our party of four stayed three nights in this well located and friendly motel. The two bedroom chalet offered acceptable quality fittings and comfortable accommodation whilst equipment, parking and furniture were all very good . The management and cleaning staff were excellent, helpful , friendly and efficient. The motel has a good choice of free DVDs, extensive literature about local attactions and good laundry facilities. It is a Golden Chain motel so guests should get a loyalty card for 10% off rates. The location of this motel is very good, being just a few minutes walk from the lake itself. The lake features a very extensive Information Centre, with lots to take the interest on a wet day. Continuing past there is an enjoyable lakeside walk leading to the famous Kepler Trail. Te Anau is a great base from which to explore Fjordland and Milford Sound in particular. From here you have the advantage of being much nearer to the fjords than Queenstown so the opportunity to be flexible with trips there (and beat the weather) is much better.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Friendly owners and quiet comfortable clean rooms. One block back form the Lake front 3 - min walk, Stay in Te Anau for the Glow Worm Caves and so you can pick your day for the trip to Milford Sound- be warned it rains 2 out of 3 days at Milford!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MABris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

My new wife (of 3 days!) arrived at the Anchorage after researching the local accommodation fully. We chose the Anchorage for its great reviews and also the fabulous looking rooms. On arrival we had been moved into the adjacent 3 bedroomed cottage, which was nothing like what we had hoped for. The cottage was very tired, in fact I wouldn't have stayed there as a backpacker, as there was an odd odour. Eventually the owners wife moved us to a new studio, after much discussion, even though other members of the wedding party were staying there for 2 nights as well. The whole episode left a rather bad taste, and the owners said that they had emailed us 1 month before, to explain they had overbooked. We had received no email before we left, and had only been in New Zealand for 2 weeks. Nice units, very disappointed with the atitude initially of the owners. Would not chose to stay again, as looking at some other reviews, other people have had a similar problem. I have to say that this was the only problem with accommodation in New Zealand in 3 weeks.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2010
Just a short answer - yes we were overbooked and asked these guests about relocating to the cottage via e-mail.- The cottage adjoins the motel and we do not promote as being at the same quality level as the motel. The guests did not answer the e-mail so it was assumed that they were O.K with the transfer. Upon checking in - they were not happy with it and we spent quite a bit of time relocating a couple of other guests so that these guests could stay in two units located within the motel block. They did not have a problem with the standard of accomdation we offered at the motel and this report is not a fair reflection on the motel. The cottage is maintained a a three star plus level however is not at the 4star+ level of the motel and is promotes as such. This is always explained to guests who book it and was explained to them in the e-mail they were sent(address provided with their booking).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Property: Anchorage Motel Apartments
Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing