We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hosts are So Kind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Thistle Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Thistle Cottages
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hosts are So Kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Blue Thistle Cottages. The cottages are cozy and warm and the hosts are outstanding. Our son loves animals so Annette and Peter brought us into their home to see the cats and dog. My son loved it and they went out of their way to do this for us. They are very kind and wonderful people. The cottages were quiet and peaceful. We would gladly return.
Thank you..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    28
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
159
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Shouldn't put it in that order! We ( two couples) stayed here in December for three nights. Peter and Annette were so hospitable and have created a gorgeous little spot to stay. So quiet and peaceful, and a perfect spot to stay if you want to have leisurely trips to Milford sound. Could easily have stayed an extra night to see more of the area.

I've read some of the other reviews. While it may not be "luxury" in an over the top sense, the linens are all quality. It's not pretentious, but is very comfortable. Yes, there wasn't any milk. But that gave me an excuse to go and talk with Peter and Annette who poured me a jug. Felt like I was staying next door to friendly neighbours.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaKayJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much Annette and Peter for your hospitality. We were part of a large group and were using 3 out of the 4 cottages and we had a large age range 8 - 81! Peter and Annette showed a lot of attention to all of our interests and needs and ensured we were all comfortable. The children were even able to feed the cows. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the young ones (and some of the older ones) loved the availability of the wifi! Thank you both so much we would definitely come back to the Blue Thistle Cottages if we are ever coming back through Te Anau!

Kim C - Sydney Australia

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardlovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a nice clean place to stay with friendly hosts ( though some reviews are a bit OTT ) .
Pricey for what it is but good to be able to self cater. Described as "luxury" on the sign is pushing it though.
Upside: Out of town location and on the road to the Sound. Good space, tv and wifi
Down side: Spongy beds and very basic supplies ---i.e. one small coffee sachet for a large coffee plunger and no milk...(at these prices would be nice to be more generous). No oven just microwave and two electric rings.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konichiwalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexterteanau, Owner at Blue Thistle Cottages, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We as a rule don't respond to reviews, but felt this one needed addressing. Firstly, we have no record of this person ever having stayed here, and having sent them a letter via this site and never having a response we definitely question it. To say that other comments are OTT is insulting to our other guests. And to say that we are expensive is obvious that they have never travelled far. Considering that a very large portion of our business are either repeat guests or guests wishing to extend their stay speaks for itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is such a great place, you want to stay forever. Peter and Annette have created this peaceful and beautiful environment to relax and chill at, after your days outing. Cottages are fantastic, with all the comforts of home. nice size with comfortable finishes and a kitchen that has all the basic essentials. Positioned just outside the town centre of Te Anau ( less than 3 min drive), allows the peacefulness, yet easy accses to town should you need it . Will definitely stay again .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

What a find. We were only going to stay one night, but ended up staying three. The hosts Peter and Annette made us so welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The cottage was just what we were looking for, with good size living area the kitchen was great, we were on holiday after all and had no intention of cooking main meals, there were plenty of places to eat in Te Anau.The bedroom was lovely with a very comfy bed and everything was spotless.
The views from our cottage were stunning and we were only about 5 to 10 minutes from the town.
We would highly recommend Blue Thistle Cottages to anyone looking for home comforts and have already told loads of our friends about this wonderful find. If we ever go back to New Zealand we will be staying again at these cottages

Room Tip: I All cottages are well situated and are of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3147sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexterteanau, Owner at Blue Thistle Cottages, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Its people like you who make it all worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Loved our stay was ready for a more personal type of accomodation would highly recommend the Blue Thistle to anyone who dislikes corporate accomodation . Cottages are beautifully turned out felt instantly at home in ours .Hosts were extremely accomodating left feeling as if we had been staying with friends. The animals are great and would be a bonus if you were travelling with children. Scenery is idyllic not that far out of town you do need a car though , cooking facilities are adequate you are on holiday who wants to cook a big meal! Bathrooms and bedlinen are lovely and quality products supplied.Will definetly recommend to friends and faily and if over that way again would certainly look to stay with them again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne-Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.7 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Thistle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Thistle Cottages

Property: Blue Thistle Cottages
Address: 168 Te Anau- Milford Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9640, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious well appointed cottages with superb views set on 10 acres, 1.5 Km from Te Anau on the road to Milford Sound. Cottages are self-contained self-catering. All cottages have free WiFi, all sky (cable) channels. Quality linen and fluffy robes. A very friendly german shorthaired pointer will greet you..And we have 2 cats and several friendly Dexter cows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Thistle Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Thistle Cottages Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing