We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Te Anau holiday houses value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Te Anau Holiday Houses
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Accommodation can be very limited due to the popularity and proximity to the fiordlands. We paid $145 a night for a 3 bedroom cottage( sunshine cottage) that could sleep 6 adults if required. It was like staying at nanna's place, without nanna. Lovely little place one street back from the lake. We hope to return in winter as Te Anau is a beautiful place to spend some as a base.
Great access to the great walks.
Manapouri 20kms away. Good shopping center and cafés with all day breakfast. For us it was heaven.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Hi Jackie, great to hear your stay at Sunshine Cottage was enjoyable - it is a cute place tucked away in private surroundings and so close to the lake - great holiday house!
Thanks for taking the time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Beech Hut. The eco-house is very cosy and fully equipped. Just few minutes to the lake Te Anau and 1.30 h to Milford Sound. Stef organized everything very well, even though we lost the key, we did not have stress with her afterwards.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nazar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Hi, thanks for your review - ha no worries about the key - these things happen! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Come and stay anytime. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in NZ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Grand View is Grandmas house is just as she left it. It's a lovely piece of history, kept firmly floating between the 50-70's, with absolutely everything to make your stay a pleasure. Walking distance to town, you only need the car to drive to the sounds. Spotlessly clean, tv, fridge, freezer. I was travelling with three teenagers, so we used all four beds (double, three singles). The double would be a tight squeeze for a couple, all the mattresses are a little old and soft. It's a trade off worth having for convenience of all other kinds. The teenagers loved the old bikes and the town so close. Very easy to book and find. Thanks Stef!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Hi, great thanks for taking the time to review Grand View - yes very retro and a house that has been in the family for many years which is pretty neat. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels with your family. Thanks again for staying with Te Anau Holiday Houses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A group of 7 of us had a great stay at this house in Te Anau over the new years period. The house was clean and very roomy and comfortable. Te Anau Holiday houses was great to deal with too.
Very impressed and we would all come back :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Fantastic to hear - yes welcome back anytime.
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us.
Kind regards
Stef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Henry House was spacious, plenty of room and seating in lounge and conservatory with dining room also. Nice flat fenced backyard and off street parking. Queen bed in main bedroom was comfy as were bunks for my son and we all slept well. There was an alarm clock and lamps in the main bedroom. Heat pump kept the house warm which was great since it hailed and sleeted during our stay, we were able to dry wet clothes on the fold out clothes airer under heat pump. Very close to town center and lake, 15 min drive to Manapouri. Shower pressure was good and there is a heater in bathroom, TV reception was good with free view box, stereo enabled us to listen to local radio stations and get weather updates. There were games and books to read, kitchen is reasonably well stocked and we were able to comfortably cook at the house. There is a Fresh Choice for groceries within 5 min drive, 2 fishing shops, many cafes and restaurants and a Mitre 10 store. The local information center was interesting and the staff were helpful. It was lovely to arrive and find some free range eggs and home baked goodies, this was unexpected and appreciated. Recommend to others and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

So pleased you enjoyed your stay - and thanks so much for taking the time to review us.
Glad you enjoyed the eggs / biscuits!
Welcome to stay anytime!
Kind Regards Stef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We really enjoyed this quaint cosy little house. The sun room really warmed the house up and with all glass windows, the outlook was lovely into the gardens. Convenient location to town and the lake. Had everything we needed and more. Well kitted out for cooking and lots of extra crockery if you wanted to entertain. Plenty of lounges and seating for 6 people or more. We really enjoyed the jigsaw puzzles, dvd's and books that were in the house on the days that it rained too much to go anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to review us. Pleased you enjoyed your stay at Sunshine House - it is a very quaint cottage!
Welcome to stay again sometime.
Thanks again.
Stef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.1 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
0.9 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 22 in Te Anau
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.6 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Holiday Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Holiday Houses

Address: 128 Sinclair Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: £66 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a variety of clean and comfortable holiday houses in Te Anau. We have luxurious holiday houses for those wanting to have all the comforts like a motel but larger and for those wanting to experience a real 'kiwi bach' we have a wide variety! All houses offer stunning mountain views and some with lake views. Houses have an array of extras like bicycles, petanque sets, spa pool, pool tables and barbeques. Portacots and highchairs are available on request at no extra charge. Perfect for couples / groups / families - small and large. All houses are clean with fresh linen and provide the ideal base to relax and enjoy the many activities Fiordland has to offer in a 'home away from home' environment. 2 Or 3 night stay minimum / discounts available for longer stays / special deals for school holidays - please enquire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing