We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place”

The Boulavard Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 35 Restaurants in Te Anau
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Description: Located in the centre of town our newly refurbished café mainly services tour groups travelling to Milford Sound as well as the local market. We bake our own muffins, scones and pies in house as well as offering a range of sandwiches, salads, cakes, hot food options and coffee all of which can be taken away. Lovely sunny terrace area where you can enjoy a coffee or a meal whilst passing the time of day. Retail shop attached for all your shopping needs along with a bureau de change and first class restrooms
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the centre of town our newly refurbished café mainly services tour groups travelling to Milford Sound as well as the local market. We bake our own muffins, scones and pies in house as well as offering a range of sandwiches, salads, cakes, hot food options and coffee all of which can be taken away. Lovely sunny terrace area where you can enjoy a coffee or a meal whilst passing the time of day. Retail shop attached for all your shopping needs along with a bureau de change and first class restrooms
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“love this place”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

when we stay overnight here for business,this is where we have breakfast,they have all you want at a reasonable price and are keen to please,as no buses around with the milford road closed,it was not busy which was good,but builders in doing new layout between gift shop and restaurant and the nail gun etc very loud,when we had a gap in business calls returned to here to have a coffee and cheese scone they are yummy

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Balclutha, Otago, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

lunch at the boulevard restaurant seemed like a good idea at the time. I ordered an egg and cheese toastie and a bowl of fries. The food was delivered to me quickly which is the only nice thing I have to say about my lunch. The toasted sandwich was burnt and dry. the egg fell out and the cheese was almost non existant. As for the fries they were not salted I had to do that myself also the fries were undercooked then to add injury to insult I was given the tiniest sachet of sauce that by the time about 5 fries were dipped the sauce was finished and I still had 3 quarters of a bowl of fries. The price was exorbitant by the time I had brought my toastie, fries, and a drink I was charged $31.50. Sufficed to say I will not be going back there any time soon and I left the restaurant hungry. Absolutely would not recommend this one.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Average food and service, but large portions, hard to find somewhere which wasnt open to draughts. Pancakes rather small

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Restaurant / Gift Shop”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Te Anau is about half way to Milford Sound from Queenstown.

Stopped off at this popular Restaurant / Gift shop for a mid morning coffee. A number of other coaches arrived at a similar time to ours. On arrival we were given a discount voucher to spend in the gift shop attached to the restaurant.

The restaurant has two lines of service with cabinets full of delicious items to choose from, which was good for the number of people arriving. Unfortunately when ordering drinks you were given a number and had to wait until called for. This actually got a bit silly as the number of people waiting by the till area for their drink was clogging up the area so no one could move. Think an improvement could be done to stop this happening in the future.

Otherwise the coffee was good and plenty of seating even outside was available. Tables kept clean and clear.

The gift shop was well patronised and plenty of items were being bought with the discount voucher offered on first entry.

Would use again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_baron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boulavard Restaurant also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Boulavard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing