We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

In our three week travels of NZ, this was by far my favourite motel. The room was bigger than my first apartment! The little kitchen is fantastic, great bathroom with separate toilet (which is a nice change) and big lounge. Amazing views of the lake too. Hosts are also very friendly and willing to help in any way. Perfect.

Room Tip: Pick the top floor, why not :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    126
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
271
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have recently stayed here for two nights on a South Island trip.

Very spacious unit which was equiped with everything you could have possibly wanted. We had a bottom floor unit and while you could hear people walking overhead, it didn't impact on our stay. Thought this was excellent value for money and much better than our "high end" accommodation we had in Queenstown.

Great views of Lake Te Anau and a short stroll into town.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Places likes this are better to keep in secret, but I just can't be silent. This place is a real gem. We stayed in 2 bedroom apartment and simply were amazed from the minute we walked in... It is a very spacious, modern and nicely decorated apartment with huge well equipped kitchen, terrific bathroom with spa bath and stunning views over the lake from big windows. Bed was super comfy(such a rare thing in NZ's motels) and we had a perfect sleep. We really didn't want to leave and I'm looking forward to come back later this year.
The only issue we had is a real bright exterior light which couldn't be switched off, so we had to keep curtains shut.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

this place is a gem, its super spacious, beautiful lake view and amazing value for money. we stayed in the upper floor apartment, it has a very well equip kitchen so we cooked both nights we were there. the 2 lazy boy chairs were also a bonus, i definantly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livingdolldisaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed as part of a South Island trip from the uk for a friend's wedding and travelled with our 2yo son.

What a surprise this place was!

The location is fantastic - right across from the lake, walking tracks and a short walk (5 minutes) to the centre of the town. The room had a gorgeous view over the lake and was quiet and comfortable. In fact, my husband and I agreed it was the best night sleep we had on our entire trip!

Grant was very helpful and offered lots of advice on places to eat and drink. Internet access was free which was also great. A travel coat and bedding was also supplied for our son and set up for when we arrived.

Te Anau town was quite sweet with great coffee shops and lots of restaurants to choose from.

If we return to this part of the world, we will definitely stay here again! Thanks Grant!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tallp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights early March. King upstairs (was actually a queen + double bed). Very spacious unit. Balcony w/its own bench provided a relaxing place to watch the sunset and floor to ceiling views. Furnishings a bit worn & funky --- could stand updating. Very good lighting (quantity & quality) throughout the apartment. Terrfic amount of seating, kitchenette, dining area. Plenty of room to stretch out & be comfortable and very easy to prepare meals. . Likewise the bathroom had good sink, shelves, drawers, towel racks & good shower/tub combo.

Hosts have a well-maintained motel w/very nicely maintained grounds and an unobstructed view & access to Lake Te Anau.

Bonus: Washers & soap are provided no charge. You only pay a coule of NZD for drying. Ample on-site, off road parking.

Aside from towel changing if needed & trash removal, no cleaning of rooms while there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pfcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here two nights. The apartment was very spacious - a large bedroom with 2 beds, kitchenette, and large living area with a nice view of the lake. Very well appointed. Staff were helpful. Limited free wifi. It was within walking distance of the main street where the restaurants are. The decor though is very dated. Regardless I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Property: Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Address: 42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments have been recently refurbished, has Ample Heating, Flat Screen LCD TVs with Sky television and Telephones in every apartment. The Bathrooms include a Shower and a full Bath with a separate Toilet. Free wireless internet and 24 hour guest laundry. All trips in the Fiordland Area can be arranged at no extra charge. Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Campbells On The Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing