We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay in the 2 bedroom luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Amazing apartment, bigger than my house, haha. Beautiful views thanks to massive windows looking out to the lake. We had a gorgeous sunny day so was able to sit out on the balcony in the sun. The apartment had everything you could wish for and the bathroom was amazing. There was even a luggage lift to get the heavy cases upstairs.

Room Tip: Must choose the 2 bedroom deluxe. The single rooms have not been renovated.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyoflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here for a night and found it all very satisfactory. Got the feeling that the guy at reception would have rather been fishing than serving me however. Other than that, everything was fine with the room. Plenty of space, warm and terrific views. Be careful to order your breakfast the night before, the guy at reception didn't tell me I had to and I didn't read the whole guest book so I rang as soon as reception opened to try and sort it out, but the answer was a firm no. Weird. So, apart from a slightly surly host and no breakfast, a thoroughly pleasant stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank THEWORLDISNOTENUFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights last week. The hotel rooms are exactly like the photos so you know precisely what your getting. Except, for the noise from upstairs. You hear everything, running water, toilet flushing during the night waking you up, and footsteps. If possible get an upstairs room if your sensitive to noise. The road noise was not an issue at all, but probably because the place was like a ghost town due to the road to Milford being closed because of a landslide. We unfortunately missed our cruise which was a major disappointment since it was the only reason we were here to begin with. But, that is not the hotels fault.
The rooms have great heaters and we made good use of them. The only issue was with such small counter space. if you wanted to use the kettle and toaster you had to put them on the very narrow counter space/room divider, which left very little room for any food preparation. We did manage though.. The kitchens are very well equipped with everything you need, and a large fridge as well.
it is in an excellent location and an easy stroll into the centre of town with a wide choice of restaurants and a large grocery store. There is also a nice paved walkway along the edge of the lake.
Our first night was very uncomfortable as they had just painted and should not have let the room out until the smell was gone. We both had headaches from the smell. In the morning when we left for the day I told the cleaner about it and she aired out the room during the day and lit some scented candles. When we returned it was much improved.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if you prefer quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoCalexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely motel right on the lake, great views. The room was huge, separate bedroom at the back and the lounge/kitchen in front. Sky sports too which was handy. Really impressed and Grant was really helpful with booking tours and recommendations.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great location with stunning views over lake Te Anau. The rooms are massive and comfortable. We had a upper level apartment with a king bed, separate living, dining area and bathroom. The apartments run the full depth of the building with easily enough room to split them into 2 rooms. One with a view of the carpark at the rear and the other of the lake. Its great that the owners haven't. The bathroom could be slightly more modern but we had no complaints and our room made up daily. Just an all round fantastic base for a beautiful location in the South Island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XR6PSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This motel was clean and comfortable, although the furnishings in our room were very dated (looked like somebody's grandmother may have decorated it in the '70s!). Don't let this put you off though as I understand the rooms are being progressively updated. The room was still very clean and comfortable and the motel is well located being only a 10 minute walk into the main town centre. There is ample on site parking and a surprisingly large guest laundry which came in very handy! We were there mid winter so a lot of the restaurants were closed however on the recommendation of our host we ate at the Fat Duck on both nights in town as well as breakfast on our last day and the food was lovely, with friendly warm service.

Room Tip: If you can, book a refurbished room but honestly for the amount of time you spend in it even the old...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoNQCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just located across the Lake, this motel offers more than what one can bargain. Room is spacious, well decorated and stock with generous supplies of amenities for the whole family!

Room comes complete with kitchen and en suite bath tube.

Lodging offer stunning view of the lake and also a few minutes walk into the town centre.

Stayed during winter July 2013 for 3 nights.

Room Tip: try to select for rooms on 2nd storey for a little more privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orionhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Address: 42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £112 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments have been recently refurbished, has Ample Heating, Flat Screen LCD TVs with Sky television and Telephones in every apartment. The Bathrooms include a Shower and a full Bath with a separate Toilet. Free wireless internet and 24 hour guest laundry. All trips in the Fiordland Area can be arranged at no extra charge. Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Campbells On The Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing