We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and well equipped apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Large and well equipped apartment”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent one night stay at this lakeside motel in Te Anau.
Highly recommended.
The one bedroom apartment is really big, spacious, well equipped and very conveniently located.
Great welcome at Reception and service with a big smile.
No hesitation in recommending this great motel, very good value too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank moshsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    132
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
68
284
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Absolutely amazing facilities, extremely well set-up.
Short easy walking distance to shops and restaurants.
Large well appointed rooms, all modern conveniences, would have liked to stay longer.
We stayed two nights and used as a base for our visit to Milford Sound.
Highly recommended, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed here for a total of three nights around a spell of walking on the Kepler Track.

The hotel looks out across Lakefront Drive to Lake Te Anau and the mountains beyond. All of the rooms look directly out to the lake (not true of rooms in all of the other hotels and motels along this strip). The upstairs rooms would have a slightly better view but I found the downstairs rooms still had a good view across an immaculately tended area of lawn and garden. Providing a wooden bench seat just outside each room so you can sit and enjoy the view is a nice touch.

The rooms are a very good size. Large bedroom and a large lounge incorporating a small kitchen area. It would be quite easy to prepare a meal here if you wanted to defray costs.

Furnishings are a little dated but in good condition and the units I used were spotlessly clean.

The bathroom has a shower over the bath arrangement - to note for people with more restricted movement.

The Hotel is a pleasant and easy 10 minute walk from the town centre.

The owner and staff were very kind, efficient and friendly - thank you.

I paid $165 per night and thought this was fair value.

(Tips re town and meals: I found the Olive Tree Cafe good for breakfast but not as much so for dinner. There are many pizza places in town and I heard bad reports about a couple but found Toscana at the far end of the main street good. The Fiordland Film at the Cinema is worth seeing, runs half an hour for $9 - great cinematography of Fiordland and you can take a glass of wine in with you.)

Room Tip: If you are happy to climb the stairs the upper rooms would give slightly better lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
524 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The lake view is slightly obscured with landscaping... but that's the only slight negative. The rooms are very large and modern. The bed was quite comfortable and large. Location is great the price was reasonable given all considerations. We were well pleased with our stay. 1 minute drive to restaurants.... or you can easily walk approx. 1Km.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This place was excellent. We were given a lovely welcome by the owner.
Rooms were lovely and spacious and excellent value for money. The rooms seem to have been recently updated and have absolutely everything to make it a home away from home.
We loved our stay here and would recommend to others.
My only gripe would be that being downstairs meant we heard rather a lot of noise from upstairs both nights, and this went on until midnight-ish one night.
Great to have a full kitchen and laundry though which was well needed by this point in our tour.

Room Tip: I'd recommend going upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aklr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
271 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed three nights as a three generation family of five in the three-bedroom unit. This is actually an older house that has been completely remodelled on the original foundations - private, spacious and comfortable.
It has a huge kitchen with all mod cons, and a large modern dining table and chairs. Equally large, the lounge shows some of its original charm as a type of split-level house, with wood panelling on the walls, stairways and hall.
If you are serious about self-catering, remember that places like this have only the minimum of dishes, tools, storage boxes and equipment.
The communal guest laundry at the rear of the complex was modern and efficient.
The main drawback is that it has only one bathroom, with bath and shower cabinet, and one separate toilet closet. We coped, but it was a bit of a let down after the other places we stayed.
During our stay a few items went "wonky' (one was the shower head came loose) and the pleasant and unflappable duty manager Virginia, had everything up and running during our day trip away.
Puzzle: see if you can see how they access the second-floor rooms, locked off from the lower levels!
I could lie in bed and see the beautiful lake and surrounds, filling the whole window (see pix).

Room Tip: The 3-bed unit is quite different from the others in the main building which are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_rua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We arrived around a bit early in the day and were surprised to know our room is ready for check in. We were more pleasantly surprised to see the room comes with a balcony with breath taking views of Lake Te Anau and backdrop mountains. I would rather say the lake front view here is even better than around town centre, as there were some road construction going on there. What intrigued me more is the small luggage elevator for rooms at the upper floor, saving us the hassle for carrying heavy suitcases upstairs. There’s a laundry room at the backyard and we can use it anytime of day. Money well paid for such a view!

Room Tip: All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiuZhanzhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Property: Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Address: 42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments have been recently refurbished, has Ample Heating, Flat Screen LCD TVs with Sky television and Telephones in every apartment. The Bathrooms include a Shower and a full Bath with a separate Toilet. Free wireless internet and 24 hour guest laundry. All trips in the Fiordland Area can be arranged at no extra charge. Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Campbells On The Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing