We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Great Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Location Great Apartments”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was our first taste of studio apartments in New Zealand and we really enjoyed staying here. From the extremely friendly reception to the apartments themselves we loved every aspect.
A great base for Milford Sound and many lovely walks. Being in NZ for some weeks it was very nice to be able to cook something rather than going out to eat. All the apartments look out over the lake and the mountains beyond.

Room Tip: For us we liked being on the first floor rather than ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    131
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
68
281
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Overlooking Lake Te Aneau these apartments are ideally located. They face the lake and the bedrooms are situated at the back so you can wake up with the morning sun. You can admire both the lake and the sunset from the balcony at the front. The apartments are spacious and have fridge, microwave, 2 pan electric hob so you could prepare meals if you wished. Te Aneau does have a good supply of restaurants to keep you going. There are clothes washing facilities here that even dispense the liquid soap - no extra charge. No charge to dry your clothes either as there are clothes lines outside which guests can use. Free car parking and WiFi together with tea/coffee making facilities. We were given a bottle of fresh milk when we arrived. The town is a short stroll away.
I chose the location so that we could drive to Milford Sound. If you intend to go obtain a weather forecast first and allow 2 hours for the journey.

Overall a very pleasant place to spend a few nights - excellent staff and good value for money. Not much to not like here

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

An extremely nice place to stay in Te Anau; friendly service, great location and views. The bed was comfortable (we really enjoyed the individual heating blankets), the kitchen was modern and well equipped, and the recliners and two TVs were nice touches. Free washer and dryer is also available. The price may be a little high; but fair, considering the location and quality.
Our one bedroom unit, like all the other units, faced the lake; and all have excellent views. The lakefront road is between the motel and lake; but the motel has a big, slightly sloping front lawn, so no problem with noise or obstructed views. But for the best views, get a second floor unit. The entrance to the motel is from the lakefront road; parking is in the back. You enter the unit into the bedroom; and the living room and kitchen are in front, facing the lake. There's also a nice balcony with bench. Walking to downtown (a small road couple hundred yards long lined with restaurants and shops) is about 5 minutes; a little longer if you take the lakefront "scenic" route. If only for the location and view, I think Fiordland Lakeview deserves a higher Tripadvisor ranking.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room for a little better view of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HI_TRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights as a base to Milford Sound and Manapouri. We were in a ground floor room with a very large separate bedroom. From the outside, it is lovely. Nicely maintained. The rooms themselves are dated, however, this is a motel. Everything was clean, but a refurb inside would help this property a lot. The cooking facilities are very minimal, but it is a short walk in to town to access cafes, restaurants and the supermarket. The bed was very, very comfortable. We were in the unit furthest from reception which meant the wifi signal was terrible. This did not worry us however.

What really blew us away was the helpfulness of the reception staff member. Unfortunately I have forgotten her name, but she was wonderful (check in on 7 January). We arrived very early as we had tours booked for the day. The weather had turned bad on our trip from Queenstown to Te Anau, so we needed to change into much warmer clothes. She gladly suggested that we could go straight to our room if we wanted to deposit our bags and get changed. She did advise that the room had not been cleaned yet, but it had been stripped (and it really was very clean anyway). Whilst this was only a small gesture, it made things very easy for us with our 7 year old son. She asked what tours we were doing, and advised that due to the heavy rain the evening tour may be cancelled. She said to pop by on our way back to the property after our first tour and she would follow up for us. This did not need to happen as when we arrived back at our room, she had kindly left a note advising us that the tour had been cancelled, what our options were, and hoped that we had had a good day anyway.

When we checked out, she remember all of the tours we had done, offered suggestions on our next route across to the east coast and gladly engaged in talk about our trip and family. A lot of reception staff could learn from her.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovestotravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment for two nights as a base to visit Milford Sound. We were surprised by the spaciousness, there certainly was room to move. The front bedroom is not partitioned from the living space. We cooked both nights and were happy with the kitchen facilities. The spa bath was perfect and the beds were comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Came here for first time! We stayed 3 nights which we found was too long, considering the bad weather and not alot more for us to do, motel was very clean and spacious bedroom! Found that the cost was quite steep and were surprised our tidy dishes weren't done! Never struck that before especially for the price! Probably get adequate accommodation that isnt lake view!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
te anau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Nice room, with a very good and clean bathroom. No noise of neighbours and even in our room good wifi access (322). Kitchen facilities are ok, cooking plate could be better. Nice views on the mountains.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonievz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Property: Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Address: 42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments have been recently refurbished, has Ample Heating, Flat Screen LCD TVs with Sky television and Telephones in every apartment. The Bathrooms include a Shower and a full Bath with a separate Toilet. Free wireless internet and 24 hour guest laundry. All trips in the Fiordland Area can be arranged at no extra charge. Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Campbells On The Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing