We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Arran Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parklands Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
290
141
32
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
141
32
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate toiletmilford soundfree washinghuge bedroomleather reclinersthe kitchenliving areaspacious apartmentnew zealandview of the lakefirst floortwo nightsenjoy the viewwashing machine and dryerfree internetlaundry roomthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 468 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was our first taste of studio apartments in New Zealand and we really enjoyed staying here. From the extremely friendly reception to the apartments themselves we loved every aspect.
A great base for Milford Sound and many lovely walks. Being in NZ for some weeks it was very nice to be able to cook something rather than going out to eat. All the apartments look out over the lake and the mountains beyond.

Room Tip: For us we liked being on the first floor rather than ground.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Overlooking Lake Te Aneau these apartments are ideally located. They face the lake and the bedrooms are situated at the back so you can wake up with the morning sun. You can admire both the lake and the sunset from the balcony at the front. The apartments are spacious and have fridge, microwave, 2 pan electric hob so you could prepare meals if you wished. Te Aneau does have a good supply of restaurants to keep you going. There are clothes washing facilities here that even dispense the liquid soap - no extra charge. No charge to dry your clothes either as there are clothes lines outside which guests can use. Free car parking and WiFi together with tea/coffee making facilities. We were given a bottle of fresh milk when we arrived. The town is a short stroll away.
I chose the location so that we could drive to Milford Sound. If you intend to go obtain a weather forecast first and allow 2 hours for the journey.

Overall a very pleasant place to spend a few nights - excellent staff and good value for money. Not much to not like here

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

An extremely nice place to stay in Te Anau; friendly service, great location and views. The bed was comfortable (we really enjoyed the individual heating blankets), the kitchen was modern and well equipped, and the recliners and two TVs were nice touches. Free washer and dryer is also available. The price may be a little high; but fair, considering the location and quality.
Our one bedroom unit, like all the other units, faced the lake; and all have excellent views. The lakefront road is between the motel and lake; but the motel has a big, slightly sloping front lawn, so no problem with noise or obstructed views. But for the best views, get a second floor unit. The entrance to the motel is from the lakefront road; parking is in the back. You enter the unit into the bedroom; and the living room and kitchen are in front, facing the lake. There's also a nice balcony with bench. Walking to downtown (a small road couple hundred yards long lined with restaurants and shops) is about 5 minutes; a little longer if you take the lakefront "scenic" route. If only for the location and view, I think Fiordland Lakeview deserves a higher Tripadvisor ranking.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room for a little better view of the lake and mountains.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HI_TRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights as a base to Milford Sound and Manapouri. We were in a ground floor room with a very large separate bedroom. From the outside, it is lovely. Nicely maintained. The rooms themselves are dated, however, this is a motel. Everything was clean, but a refurb inside would help this property a lot. The cooking facilities are very minimal, but it is a short walk in to town to access cafes, restaurants and the supermarket. The bed was very, very comfortable. We were in the unit furthest from reception which meant the wifi signal was terrible. This did not worry us however.

What really blew us away was the helpfulness of the reception staff member. Unfortunately I have forgotten her name, but she was wonderful (check in on 7 January). We arrived very early as we had tours booked for the day. The weather had turned bad on our trip from Queenstown to Te Anau, so we needed to change into much warmer clothes. She gladly suggested that we could go straight to our room if we wanted to deposit our bags and get changed. She did advise that the room had not been cleaned yet, but it had been stripped (and it really was very clean anyway). Whilst this was only a small gesture, it made things very easy for us with our 7 year old son. She asked what tours we were doing, and advised that due to the heavy rain the evening tour may be cancelled. She said to pop by on our way back to the property after our first tour and she would follow up for us. This did not need to happen as when we arrived back at our room, she had kindly left a note advising us that the tour had been cancelled, what our options were, and hoped that we had had a good day anyway.

When we checked out, she remember all of the tours we had done, offered suggestions on our next route across to the east coast and gladly engaged in talk about our trip and family. A lot of reception staff could learn from her.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovestotravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment for two nights as a base to visit Milford Sound. We were surprised by the spaciousness, there certainly was room to move. The front bedroom is not partitioned from the living space. We cooked both nights and were happy with the kitchen facilities. The spa bath was perfect and the beds were comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews