We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was one of the roomiest places we stayed in during our three weeks in New Zealand. The bedroom was generous, and the living room looked out onto Lake te Anau beach. The weather was cool but we enjoyed walking there. There are barbeques in the front lawn and kitchen facilities in the living room. The parking in back was extremely convenient to our room. The town is within easy walking distance. Altogether pleasant, comfortable and convenient.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here one night in December 2013. The welcome at reception was excellent. We had a king bedroom apartment on the first floor over looking the lake. It was a good size with excellent facilities, well furnished, spotlessly clean and there was free Wi Fi. It represented excellent value at about £90 for the night. We would not hesitate in staying here again. The apartments are only a short walk, along the lakeside, to the town centre where there are some excellent restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilC00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Fiordland Lakeview has a great location overlooking the lake, but so do several other motels along the same street.
A luggage lift was a convenient way to get our bags up to our first floor room. Inside, the room was spacious, with a large bedroom and separate toilet (a rarity in modern hotels). We found the main bed (queen size) very hard and resulted in fairly uncomfortable, restless sleeps. The bathroom was a reasonable size, but with a step-into bath with shower over, rather than a standard shower recess. The kitchen would be best descried as a kitchenette - small hotplate, no oven, no dishwasher and very limited bench space. The living area quite roomy and the recliner chairs very comfortable. However, the overall impression is of an old style motel room - the wallpaper and tiled ceiling were looking decidedly tired.

In any other location, you would pay $80 - $120 for a motel of this quality. At $240 per night, it was very expensive - even for Te Anau. If there were other locations that allowed reasonable access to the Milford and Doubtful Sounds, then I would certainly recommend that you take them. Te Anau is an OK town, but has nothing great to justify going there other than access to the Sounds. If you have to stay in Te Anau (as we felt we did), then I would look for a more reasonably priced / better value motel.

PS The staff we very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The accommodation was very spacious and the 1st floor rooms have a balcony and attractive view over the lake.
I enjoyed staying in the motel and, while in Te Anau, did not see anywhere else that I would have preferred. However, I was not impressed by the town itself which I found offered poor value for money all round, very few activities and wholly uninspiring restaurants. Obviously this is little more than a staging post for Milford and Doubtful sounds, but if I was returning I would certainly stay in Queenstown, despite the considerably longer journey times.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were lucky enough to stay in the two bedroomed apartment above the reception. Wow! The views of the lake, the furnishings, the modern and newly refurbished bathroom & the kitchen facilities were all fantastic. As good as all these facilities are it was the welcome from Casey that really impressed us, she is such an asset to the motel and we wish her well with her studies. Thank you also to Virginia, another very impressive member of staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GapYearTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We recently stayed three nights here in a top floor one bedroom apartment. It had a wonderful view of the lake. It was very spacious and clean and the staff were so friendly and obliging. It had a luggage lift which we thought was just wonderful since we are both in our 70's with knee replacements! Our only problem was the bathroom with a shower over the bath. It was somewhat difficult to get into and out of and as the bath mat was also slipping on the floor. we do prefer a walk in shower. The kitchen was adequate for preparing and cooking some meals. The lounge chairs were very comfortable as was our bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghostsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights and loved the Apt. and area. Very helpful staff and perfect for cooking in. Perfect base for Kepler and Milford. A can't miss stop over. Lake and sunset views a added bonus. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Address: 42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £111 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments have been recently refurbished, has Ample Heating, Flat Screen LCD TVs with Sky television and Telephones in every apartment. The Bathrooms include a Shower and a full Bath with a separate Toilet. Free wireless internet and 24 hour guest laundry. All trips in the Fiordland Area can be arranged at no extra charge. Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Campbells On The Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing