We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

During a one week whistle-stop tour of South Island we had the good fortune to spend three nights at this excellent accommodation on the shore of the lake. We had a ground floor appartment overlooking the well-kept lawn and the lake and we thought the accommodation was superb. The sitting room and spacious bedroom were spotlessly clean and well fuurnished. The en-suite kitchen was well equipped with high quality utensils, cutlery and crockery. Breakfast was a pleasure, provided by ourselves and eaten on our sunny terrace overlooking the lake and mountains. It was but a short walk into town (about five minutes) and once there we could shop for food, visit local restaurants and enjoy a tourist film at the local cinema. We would definitly stay here again on our next visit to Te Anau.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subortna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    133
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
69
288
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Spacious accommodation in a lovely location facing the lake not far from the centre. Helpful staff, easy parking and convenient for laundry. Much appreciated being on the ground floor but so sad not to be able to have one with a bath - especially as other tourists would have loved the walk in shower that we had! We felt the price was 12-15% overpriced against comparable accommodation in NZ, without breakfast, as it wasn't peak season. But we think others staying at the same time but for fewer nights paid less than us. If we'd had a bath and paid a little less we would rate as excellent!

Room Tip: downstairs in front of the lawn is great and may be phone to try and secure your preference of walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLPRtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Of all the arrangements we made prior to travelling to New Zealand, this was the first of only three to acknowledge our booking. We received a confirmation email from the front desk within an hour – very reassuring. As this was our first visit we were unsure of which companies to use for tours to the fjords so asked advice. Again, in less than an hour we had information back and were able to make reservations without making payment in advance. The fact that one tour left at 07:30 on the day of our arrival was no trouble either; Casey, the front of house manager, simply turned in for work early and stored our baggage until we returned a five that afternoon (even unpacking our cool bag into the fridge).
As for the room – we had a ground floor suite with lounge/diner at the front overlooking the lake. The bedrooms are to the rear and are, therefore, away from road noise. Bath/shower room with separate toilet is an excellent touch.
There are kitchen facilities sufficient for meal preparation and also use of the barbeque in the front gardens.
Parking is behind the motel right beside your accommodation.
The place is clean and comfortable and, in our opinion, has the best customer service of any hotel/motel in which we’ve ever stayed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EbenezerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great hosts, rooms, views, location. No complaints. The rooms are not the newest around but they are so clean with all amenities that it makes up for it. Free laundry, ground floor goes straight ontto grass lawn and lakefront.

Room Tip: All face the lake. Ground floor probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Lakeview during a 3 week tour of New Zealand in February, and we were fortunate enough to stay in a first floor room with fabulous views across the lake. The room was big, clean and very comfortable, and the motel is very well situated, has good parking and excellent laundry facilities. The staff were super, and very helpful about the area and the trips and activities available locally.
Overall a super place to stay. We would certainly stay at the Lakeview if we return to Te Anau in the future, and would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank britfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This was one of the roomiest places we stayed in during our three weeks in New Zealand. The bedroom was generous, and the living room looked out onto Lake te Anau beach. The weather was cool but we enjoyed walking there. There are barbeques in the front lawn and kitchen facilities in the living room. The parking in back was extremely convenient to our room. The town is within easy walking distance. Altogether pleasant, comfortable and convenient.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here one night in December 2013. The welcome at reception was excellent. We had a king bedroom apartment on the first floor over looking the lake. It was a good size with excellent facilities, well furnished, spotlessly clean and there was free Wi Fi. It represented excellent value at about £90 for the night. We would not hesitate in staying here again. The apartments are only a short walk, along the lakeside, to the town centre where there are some excellent restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilC00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Property: Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Address: 42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments have been recently refurbished, has Ample Heating, Flat Screen LCD TVs with Sky television and Telephones in every apartment. The Bathrooms include a Shower and a full Bath with a separate Toilet. Free wireless internet and 24 hour guest laundry. All trips in the Fiordland Area can be arranged at no extra charge. Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Campbells On The Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing